We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$178
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$280
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$143
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Hostel Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$47
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$563
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
513
89
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
89
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porchfront porchchocolate tourcosta ricafamily that ownsthese cabinsclose to townmini fridgeamerican breakfastair conditioningmaintained groundseach morningthe la fortuna areaa great place to staybreakfast was deliciousmin drivethree nights
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 627 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Alfonso greeted us at the reception. He was very nice and welcomed us with guava? drinks. There's a 10% discount off the tourist activities he gave us and if you pay cash for your room you get a 6% discount I believe. They were all booked for a double rooms and he was vey accommodating in bringing in an extra twin bed. The cabin was beyond our expectations. We thought it was very cute and quaint. You get your own front porch and back porch. Front has a bench and the back porch has a hammock, table, and chairs. Cabins were made of wood and there wasn't much sound proof against the winds at night. The wifi also stopped working after around 8pm that night? I'm not sure if that had to do with the minor earthquake that struck that night. We only stayed one night and I didn't bother asking. I would definitely come back for the perfect retreat home away from home.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoCerroAzul, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Dear Bonnie,

Greetings from Rancho Cerro Azul Hotel

Thank you for this nice review.

We are glad our hotel has reached your expectation. It is very satisfying to read details about your stay. We try to give the best service for our guests including a welcome drink, discount and our help for any needs they have.

Thanks for the nice description of our cabins, very detailed and realistic. About the wifi we want to express our apologies. It is very difficult to have the best performance in the internet, when we are located in a rain place with nature surrounding. But, for sure if you had made ​​it known , we would have gladly helped checking the problem.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you many more times, for more than one night

Best Regards,
Rancho Cerro Azul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

We loved this place. Beautiful cabin and gardens, river hiking path, yummy breakfast, and huge bathroom with lovely shower. We adored watching the birds from the balcony and hammock. Friendly, helpful staff. Walking distance to town and waterfall.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Penny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoCerroAzul, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Rancho Cerro Azul Hotel

Thank you so much for this review.

It is lovely to read how much our guests enjoy our property. We are glad you have enjoyed the services at the hotel as the beautiful grounds, the room with the nice bathroom, the trail, the river, the breakfast, the location and the friendly staff. Also, the best part is to rest on the hammock of the balcony. It is a nice experience to watch to the different kinds of birds close by.

You are welcome back anytime you wish

Kind Regards,
Rancho Cerro Azul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for our honeymoon. Very close to nature and quite private having our own cabin. I was worried that bugs would get in but it absolutely wasn't a problem. They were very helpful in helping us book different trips. Also, their a/c is fantastic.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoCerroAzul, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Jessica,

Greetings from Rancho Cerro Azul Hotel

We appreciate the time you have taken to express your opinion about the hotel.

Thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon.

Your comments are very valued, we are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed the privacy of the cabin, the air conditioning and the good service of the staff helping you booking activities.

We can't wait to serve you again in the future!. Maybe, in your first Anniversary :)

Warm Regards,
Rancho Cerro Azul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2016

This place was perfect! Located 5 minutes from the town of La Fortuna and close to all the activities that take place at Arenal lake/volcano. The breakfast was the best we had in all of Costa Rica. It's fresh and home cooked at a little house across the street. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Also it was not crowded or touristy at all. I wished we had stayed an extra night here before heading to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoCerroAzul, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Laura,

Greetings from Rancho Cerro Azul Hotel

Our sincere grateful for taking the time to share your opinion with us and with the future travelers.

We really appreciate to know that our location was perfect for you and that our staff was friendly and helpful. It is very satisfying to read that the breakfast was the best you had in your trip in Costa Rica. Wow!! Definitely the girls who make the breakfast will be very proud and thrilled to know your good comment.

We would have loved to spend more time with you. But, we hope you can visit is again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Rancho Cerro Azul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

First time to Costa Rica on a mother- daughter trip. Rented our own car and drove right from the airport to La Fortuna. By the time we made it is was dark and we were not sure of or actual location. Check in process was easy and informative. The hotel has a lot of charm and great to have your own little casita, super clean and airconditioning. To our surprise as I opened the door the next morning our view was an incredible view of the Arenal Volcano. Don't miss breakfast across the street, part of the hotel and the ladies are so sweet and made us feel at home. We are looking forward to visiting again. Great location and amazing value.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Barbararodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoCerroAzul, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Barbara,

Greetings from Rancho Cerro Azul Hotel

Thank you very much for your positive comments in regards to your stay.

What a beautiful way to travel: mother and daughter. It will be remember as a wonderful experience for the life.

The hotel has a beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano We are really happy to know that you could see it. We try that our customers feel as home, and we are excited to know that the ladies who are in charge of the breakfast helped you to feel as in home. We will let them know about your kind review.

The team and I are happy to have hosted. You are most welcome back in the future

Kind regards,
Rancho Cerro Azul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews