We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We arrived to Rancho Cerro Azul after driving for close to three hours from Coco. Our rented GPS didn't have Rancho Cerro Azul, but we stopped to ask people where it was and they were so nice and friendly. When we got there, Alonso greeted us and offered the coldest, freshest pineapple juice we have ever had. So refreshing!
We stayed in the Deluxe room and it was a very pleasant stay. We slept well. The only thing that prevented the 5 rating was that they were doing construction while we were there and they started work at 6 am.
The rain drop shower head and water pressure was awesome!
I had breakfast for $7 in the mornings. Everything was tasted so fresh!
My wife had a 2 hour massage for $90 from Carla and it was one of the best massages she's ever had..and she's had a lot. If you go, have Alonso arrange one for you with Carla--well worth it!
The location was perfect! It was down the road from the La Fortuna waterfall, a chocolate and coffee tour, close to Meiterraneo, which was excellent, and from La Fortuna town. We had a car, and we could easily travel to the hot springs and Sky Trek Arenal.
Wi-fi was great!
Great time there!

Room Tip: The Deluxe room was great! The shower was fantastic and new. The room was spacious and the air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank moda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

Our stay here was very enjoyable. The cottages were very spacious, the bed and bathroom were large and comfortable. There was a nice back porch with hammock that was nice to relax on as well. The walls and roof are not insulated so keeping the interior cool was a little stressing but we were out during most of the days so no biggie. The view of the volcano was nice and travel into La Fortuna proper and to all of our adventures was very easy. The place is family owned and operated and we couldn't have felt more relaxed. All the food comes from their little farm and is as fresh as it gets. The $7 dollar breakfast made fresh and to order each morning were delicious and filling to get us prepared for adventures! Rancho Cerro Azul is definitely a place we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank klbinclermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

This place was just what we were looking for. It's peaceful and quiet, you can walk to the river, the a/c worked well, the shower was great, the $7 breakfast was a great deal, we really enjoyed our stay. It was very charming. The service was excellent. We accidentally left our computer behind and Tatiana went above and beyond by figuring out how to ship it to us in Dominical. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jen95401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We stayed at several locations in Costa Rica, and this was our favourite hotel. The large, private, bungalows have patios off the back - this is equipped with patio furniture and a hammock, overlooking the jungle. Each night we sat out back listening to the jungle noises !
Two things worth noting: 1) You will need to have a car rental to stay here - it is a few minutes out of the main town (but not to worry, roads are fine and it felt safe) and 2) breakfast is not included
Overall - you won't regret staying here!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lauradgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The location was pretty good (reasonably easy to get a taxi into town), the service was very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed our balcony, which had a hammock and was surrounded by tropical plants. However, I was less of a fan of the iguana living in the roof, which scurried and scratched around at night. Apparently they like the heat from the roof at night and are in most of the rooms. Also the price you pay for being out in the country, across from a farm, is being woken up by roosters at 5 am. Definitely lots of wonderful things as mentioned in the reviews here, but not luxurious and not the most restful sleeps of our vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mrodg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

This place was great, it gives you the Costa Rican feel but with great luxury. Great bed, nice bathroom, good AC all in a beautiful bungalow right at the edge of the jungle. From our back patio, we saw lots of birds including Toucans and Howler monkeys at the river’s edge. They are building two new rooms by the river and a restaurant on site. Its family run and you can feel the pride they have in their hotel. I’m sure there are other good places in La Fortuna but I’ll always stay here.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank need4sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed for five nights in one of their cabins. It was not luxurious - not a requirement for us - but very comfortable​ and, though small, had everything we needed. They serve a lovely breakfast, provide coffee and soft drinks at the reception and offer a relaxed environment. The hotel is run by a family who all seem to be equally helpful and accommodating. The property has a path to the river where we saw interesting wildlife. Toucans came in the evenings to roost. I'd gladly return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnneMuecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,615 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,920 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,088 reviews
6 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,905 reviews
13.7 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $107 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing