We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
524
92
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
92
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch front porch costa rica chocolate tour family that owns close to town mini fridge each morning the la fortuna area breakfast was delicious nice bathroom beautiful flowers a wonderful stay min drive three nights individual cabins arenal volcano
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 641 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Our stay here was very enjoyable. The cottages were very spacious, the bed and bathroom were large and comfortable. There was a nice back porch with hammock that was nice to relax on as well. The walls and roof are not insulated so keeping the interior cool was a little stressing but we were out during most of the days so no biggie. The view of the volcano was nice and travel into La Fortuna proper and to all of our adventures was very easy. The place is family owned and operated and we couldn't have felt more relaxed. All the food comes from their little farm and is as fresh as it gets. The $7 dollar breakfast made fresh and to order each morning were delicious and filling to get us prepared for adventures! Rancho Cerro Azul is definitely a place we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank klbinclermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2017

This place was just what we were looking for. It's peaceful and quiet, you can walk to the river, the a/c worked well, the shower was great, the $7 breakfast was a great deal, we really enjoyed our stay. It was very charming. The service was excellent. We accidentally left our computer behind and Tatiana went above and beyond by figuring out how to ship it to us in Dominical. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jen95401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017

We stayed at several locations in Costa Rica, and this was our favourite hotel. The large, private, bungalows have patios off the back - this is equipped with patio furniture and a hammock, overlooking the jungle. Each night we sat out back listening to the jungle noises !
Two things worth noting: 1) You will need to have a car rental to stay here - it is a few minutes out of the main town (but not to worry, roads are fine and it felt safe) and 2) breakfast is not included
Overall - you won't regret staying here!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lauradgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017

The location was pretty good (reasonably easy to get a taxi into town), the service was very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed our balcony, which had a hammock and was surrounded by tropical plants. However, I was less of a fan of the iguana living in the roof, which scurried and scratched around at night. Apparently they like the heat from the roof at night and are in most of the rooms. Also the price you pay for being out in the country, across from a farm, is being woken up by roosters at 5 am. Definitely lots of wonderful things as mentioned in the reviews here, but not luxurious and not the most restful sleeps of our vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mrodg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2017

This place was great, it gives you the Costa Rican feel but with great luxury. Great bed, nice bathroom, good AC all in a beautiful bungalow right at the edge of the jungle. From our back patio, we saw lots of birds including Toucans and Howler monkeys at the river’s edge. They are building two new rooms by the river and a restaurant on site. Its family run and you can feel the pride they have in their hotel. I’m sure there are other good places in La Fortuna but I’ll always stay here.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank need4sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews