We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

From the moment we walked into the lobby and saw the therrmal heated pool and all its surrounding hot tubs and tropical gardens, we were impressed. As frequent travelers, we would highly recommend this hotel as extraordinary. The service was fantastic and unobtrusive, the environment is tranquil and serene. The food for breakfast, at the pool bar, and in the restaurant for dinner was impressive at every instance. The location is perfect for all activities in and around La Fortuna and Arenal, including white water rafting, rappeling, zip lining, hiking, and all the other local adventures.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorobinson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We just checked out of the Hotel Royal Corin this morning. We were sorry to leave. This is a beautiful boutique hotel - 54 rooms. The hotel was lovely and the rooms were very, very nice. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating, service was wonderful, food in the restaurant was very good and presented beautifully - we had dinner in the restaurant our first night and then room service our second and final night. The hot spring pools were excellent and the swim up bar was awesome!

We checked into a Master Suite and were given a room on a lower floor. We asked the front desk staff if we could move to a higher floor. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the suite on the lower floor, I just really like to stay on higher floors. They were very, very accommodating about the request. They didn't have a room available on a higher floor that night, but had one opening up the next day. It was cleaned for us as soon as the other guests checked out in the morning and as we were walking through the lobby, past the front desk, they let us know that the room was available for us and then had the bellman come up to get our luggage and move it to our new room.

If you can, splurge on the Master Suite, it was worth the extra money. We would highly recommend this hotel and, if we ever get back to Costa Rica, will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a Master Suite, it's worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichDenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our family of five had two adjacent rooms at this high end hotel. The rooms were well-appointed and spacious, and the showers were the ultimate in coolness! We found the restaurant staff to be particularly attentive, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant one evening, and though I found it a bit rich, the food was really tasty and reasonably priced. How often do you get the bill after a fine dining meal and say, "That's it?". Our three girls and I all wanted to try the spa, but we initially said no as it would be too expensive for four massages. About an hour after we arrived the spa called with a special discount (40%), so we said yes! The spa is gorgeous and the massages were excellent. We also enjoyed the thermal pools after our active days on the volcano and in waterfalls. We did have one interruption in water service during our stay and a few minor maintenance issues, but otherwise had no problems. A lovely, full-service hotel which was worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This spectacular hotel is only bettered by the spectacular view of the volcano smouldering in the background.It was one of our highlights during our visit to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Royla Corin from Feb 11-Feb 13 and really enjoyed our time there. Our junior suite was suite was large and beautiful, the double balcony was amazing, the jacuzzi with the TV was impressive, breakfasts were very good and the staff at the front desk helpful. The spa was beautiful. My wife and I had a couples massage, our first ever, and it was a great and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Royal Corin was recommended by a Costa Rican friend and we found it to be a lovely hotel. The rooms were fabulous, all of them overlooking Arenal volcano. The restaurant was superb. We were fortunate enough to be seated outside on a veranda, which was lovely. Our dinner was one of the best meals we had in Costa RIca. A bit pricy, but definitely worth it! Breakfast was also wonderful. We enjoyed the pools as well. My only comment is "I wish the bar had been placed in the cool water pool instead of the hot pool". Only the whole, I can highly recommend The Royal Corin!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My sister and I were headed for a week's vacation in La Fortuna/Arenal area, and she picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed!

ROOM: very spacious, with tile floors, dark wood armoire, large rainshower shower with room for 2, comfortable fluffy beds, and a balcony overlooking the thermal pools. Each day the maids made up the room they turned our bathtowels into animals - an elephant, a dog, a swan - and each evening there were small 'sweets' on a plate in the room, just one or two bites per person, but a nice touch. The room was extremely clean and looked very well maintained. The bed linens were comfortable - soft, thought not the softest I've felt. There's an alarm clock-radio, and a TV, as well as a small writing desk and two chairs.

SPA: a highlight of our trip! the prices weren't much less than we find in the US, but the experience was as good or better than what I've experienced in high-end hotels in the US. The changing rooms are large and lockers with keys are provided. The relaxation area has fishponds and chaise lounges in a spacious room with garden views. The treatment rooms are first-class, and the therapists are friendly, attentive, and expert. We had wraps and massages, and they were first-rate wonderful. They give you a nice little energy-drink cocktail at the end, and you can relax as long as you like in the spa, and there are indoor and outdoor hot tubs to enjoy before or after your treatment. Ask about the deals - usually there's some package offered.

ON-SITE FOOD: There is a swim-up bar in the main thermal pool which has simple food - local-style pizzas, salads, etc. - and frankly, we found that to be the best option. Everyone says you don't go to Costa Rica for the food, and that's absolutely true... the hotel has a white-tablecloth restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The breakfast is perfectly fine - it was included in our room, and consisted of a range of local foods (rice and beans, eggs, fruits, cereals, breads, sausages, and some local specialities). The main menu, though, was uneven. A Peruvian-style tilapia ceviche was fantastic - fresh, clean tasting... wonderful. Snails in garlic butter were excellent. But most of the other dishes we had were merely ok, and given you are paying $30-50 for one person for dinner, I expected more than a mediocre steak that was over-cooked, or a strange runny almond 'cake' for dessert. Our advice? Go into town, and check Trip Advisor for recommended cafes - Volcano Cafe looks like a sports bar, but the food was some of the best we had.

VOLCANO: They have a lounge on the top level that looks out over the volcano, but as of 2011 the lava stopped flowing... it still smokes every day, and it's still stunning, but not dramatic. Just don't be disappointed - Arenal volcano pics with lava flowing are everywhere, but they can't control when it will happen!

THERMAL POOLS: one huge full-sized pool heated to 102 F, plus smaller pools and waterfalls running from 80 F to 103 F, as well as natural hot tubs that were too hot for us to get into... we probably should have worked our way from the cooler to warmer pools first, to acclimate our skin, but we could never do it. If you're a fan of the super-hot Japanese style baths, you'll LOVE this. They also have outdoor saunas by the hot tubs. The large pool has swim-up bar. Perfectly maintained, and beautiful in a natural setting. Very romantic, but also lots of kids were there with families.

CONCIERGE/TOURS: The hotel has 2 free computers at the front desk area. They also have a tour sheet with recommended tours. We found some of our own ideas, and we also got the help of the staff to plan some things. There is no dedicated concierge, but everyone at the front desk - day and night - can tell you about the tours in the area and help make calls for you. They're wonderful. We chose a full-day riverboat tour to Cano Negro, where we saw a two-toed sloth, howler monkeys, bats, and amazing birds. (There are more extensive hiking tours of Cano Negro where you see more, but we didn't have the time.) My sister arrived before me and love the Cloud Forest - she saw the mythic ketzal bird. On our own, we hired a taxi to take us 40 minutes to the Arenal Observatory Lodge - it's a hotel 1 km from the base of the Arenal Volcano, and they have hiking trails, waterfalls, and a restaurant too. The road is atrocious, and it's a $40/each way trip by taxi, but it was so worth it! The views from the observatory of the lake Arenal and volcano are the best, and the gardens and paths around the hotel are a great way to spend a day. The food was actually good - we enjoyed arroz con pollo. (But skip the flan.) We also found on Trip Advisor the "Proyecto Asis" wildlife rescue center. MUST VISIT. It's 30 minutes/$30 each way by taxi from the hotel, but it's wonderful... run by a father-son team, they shelter and rehab animals saved from the black market and poachers, or who people abandon. For $45, you can spend 4 hours helping to feed the animals, hose out cages, etc. The tour is amazing, and they are really passionate about educating people about the perils of exotic animal ownership. You can also volunteer for a week, and they also have combo vounteer/spanish language immersion programs. Please support this wonderful organization!

LOCATION/TRANSPORT: The hotel is located outside of the town of La Fortuna, a fixed-rate $7 taxi ride from the hotel to anywhere around the center, 5 minutes drive. (While the distance is do-able to walk, I would not suggest planning on it as the road is mostly along pastures, and at night there are no street lights, so not the safest walk.) La Fortuna is ~3 hours by taxi or shuttle from the Airport at San Jose. A shared shuttle is around $45 per person each way, and a private taxi is around $140-180 each way. Unable to get a shuttle, I took a private taxi. There are no highways to speak of, so you will be on windy roads nearly the whole way. If you're suseptible even slightly to motion or car sickness, suggest taking medicine when you arrive at the airport, at least 20 minutes before you get into the shuttle or taxi.

WARNING: you need to book WELL in advance to get a seat on a shuttle. There are only a few companies offering shuttles, and they seat only a dozen people, and they run only 2x per day - so even in the low season when we were there, they were booked up 3-5 days in advance.

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcano - it's built 'slim', so there are no rooms facing over the va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.2 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,335 reviews
2.0 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,484 reviews
3.9 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,964 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $247 - $738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing