We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
350
131
53
36
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
131
53
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavashgroupon packagegoogle translateadrenaline tourmini fridge and microwavefoosball tablesliquid soapcosta ricahot watersmall creekevery morningrice and beanstaxi ridepura vidathe hotel managersmall poolbaldi hot springs
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 587 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I just put down the facts and you can decide :)

+ nice owner
+ cheaper tickets to Baldi than from the door
+ they can arrange trips to you
+ swimming pool, breakfast, wifi in the lobby
+ there is a river near by where you can swim
+ really clean room, hot water, fridgerator, microwave oven, coffee maker

- owner doesn't speak English
- location is far from city, but that's not a problem with a car
- wifi doesn't work in the room, only lobby

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Turnippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at hotel Lavas del Arenal. It's a nice small hotel with only a few rooms, but they all have a fridge and microwave (no tv) and the w-ifi was working fine. We really liked the beautiful quiet location of the hotel. We also loved the gardens with swimming pool and the little creek that's running through the back of the property. The open breakfast area was beautiful and the breakfast was pretty good, especially the coffee! It was kind of challenging placing your order, as we don't speak Spanish and the staff doesn't speak English, but that's the fun part of going on vacation.
The hotel is on a dirt road, just off the main road. Before you decide to book this hotel, make sure you know how you will get around, as you will need a taxi or rental car to get to La Fortuna, it's a bit of a drive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stay 3days at this hotel. it make me so comfortable and placeful because every-moning i could hear song of bird, and good view, very silent. and swimpool is nice with nature view.
also internet is so fast so i could use any wep-site so fasttly.
The owner is very kindly help for me so i could taxi very cheap more then normal price and
they give to me good information for trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taedol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2012

It's definitely not fancy, but it was clean, quiet, and a great value. It's a little off the beaten track, but the owners are welcoming and helpful, and you'll get a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place was a nice setting, very clean and has very hospitable hosts. The rooms are nothing fancy but are well kept. The grounds are beautiful with lots of hummingbirds buzzing around early - mid morning. It is a bit out of town so it probably best for travellers with a car. Breakfast was included and was good tico fare.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews