We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
353
131
53
36
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
131
53
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavash groupon package google translate foosball tables liquid soap costa rica hot water every morning rice and beans taxi ride pura vida small fridge an adventure nice pool white water rafting book tours air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 590 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed at Hotel Lavas del Arenal for our trip in La fortuna. We booked an adventure package to explore La Fortuna through Adrenaline in Costa Rica. The trip was well planned with super exciting activities every day. The hotel is beautiful if you like nature and colors. Everyone there is friendly and they provide breakfast with fruits, coffee, rice/beans eggs , pancake ,sandwiches. You can get a good view of the Arenal vulcano too. We didnt have a car but the bus station is really close and a cheap way of transport. They also clean the rooms every day and put fresh flowers and make cute little animals with the towels. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliada2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2015

We booked this via a groupon deal and were VERY glad we did. It is a short ride outside of La Fortuna but since we had our own rental car, that was not an issue. Just outside of our room was a beautiful view of Arenal volcano. They had a Costa Rican breakfast available each morning that holds you through most of the day. When you want to stay onside to eat lunch or dinner, you just let them know and they arrange for it to be available for a reasonable fee. The room was clean and cute little towel animals on the bed each night. Step outside of your room and you may run into toucans, other birds and butterflies. Very nice! The only downsides may be that the registration clerk doesn't speak English, so there were problems trying to book tours, there is no fridge in the room and the hand towels were very old and even frayed sometimes. Regardless, we liked it there and would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the volcano, we liked sitting out and looking at it over a beer.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2015

Believe it or not, I had this vacation with my newlywed wife during our month long honeymoon in Costa Rica in November 2012 (over 2 years ago). It was such a great experience that I told Mario, the owner who used to live in the States, that I will write a review but busy life in California kept me from fulfilling my promise until now.

We had a rental car so it wasn't bad at all driving there, provide the beautiful scenic road that I did not mind drive by every day. The units are not to the American Standard but were nice enough to give us a good experience. I guess I am a world backpacker so little things don't bother me. My wife and I loved the garden surrounding the units. The flowers and plants were so lush and green. They were tended by the staff and still have their natural rain forest feel with birds singing in the morning. The pool was clean but since it's a "tropical" place, I saw frogs jumping in and out a couple times so we skipped the dip. Mario and the staff made us complementary breakfasts every morning even though we always woke up after breakfast hour. They were courteous and try not to be in your way so we can have your own privacy. We had a great experience there and would come again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2015

I was in La Fortuna with my wife and 2 kids during our Costa Rica vacation. We had a reservation for 2 day at Lavas del Arenal. For us it was all great. As soon as we checked-in we were given a tour around the property where we were told about the property and shown the local vegetation. We were given fruits that were native to Costa Rica, such as the Manzana de Agua (Water Apple), it was very refreshing and delicious.

The service we received was excellent, on-par with the positive reviews on this site, which is why we chose this hotel.

The room was fine, not a 5 star hotel by American standards, but it was functional and had everything we needed - cofeemaker, microwave, refrigerator, TV for the kids, AC and hot water. The hot water does not work the same way it does in the US, but once they tell you how it works it is a no brainer.

The breakfast was included and it was great, cooked fresh every day. They will even cook it to order if you have a particular way you like your eggs or you want a different side item (my wife is very picky). They offer also lunch and dinner, but you need to tell them ahead of time. We had dinner there one night, and those casados are just delicious.

The little river at the back was very serene and the gardens are immaculate and beautiful. My kids enjoyed the pool.

We also setup several tours through Mario, the owner of the property, and the packages he offered were great. Having his input allowed us to avoid some of the tourist traps in the area as well as getting the most for our money.

The WiFi was great, and the Internet connection was surprisingly fast which was important to me in case I had to connect to my office PC back in the US – luckily I did not need to.

Lavas is a great place to stay, and if we visit Costa Rica again, we will go back without question. More than anything I value great service and the staff at Lavas certainly delivered.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank radvisor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2015

I want to start off by saying I thought the staff was lovely and helpful, cheerful about cooking us breakfast on Christmas Day instead of being home with their families, and the attentive Katia did her best to make up for the deficiencies of this place. The worst was the god-awful stench of chemicals and moth balls in our rooms. It was almost impossible to sleep from the stench of chemicals in the bedding and bed. Reading previous reviews, I wonder if this was an attempt to mask the odor of sewage, or perhaps to drive away bugs. I did not see or feel any bugs and the rooms were as clean as the staff could make them but really, thats a pretty low bar to pass. The furnishings were cheap and run down. The shower head was stained with mold.The air conditioner rattled all night, but that may have been a blessing. My brother was up all night with the blaring music from the pool area. BTW, the pool was clean for us, as opposed to an earlier review.
I was so happy to move to our next hotel, until I realized that my pajamas still stunk of mothballs and I had to find a laundry.
Its not like we were are comparing this place to luxury hotels, we were staying at basic hotels throughout this trip. It was not the lack of amenities. It's that the room and bed were gross.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews