We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family vaca ever! Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Costa Rica was an amazing experience and staying at Lavas was apart of that. All of the staff (Carlos, in particular) were extremely helpful. The hotel is beautiful and nearby anything you might need.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor so you don't hear people walking above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

The hotel is not close to anything. You must take a taxi in to town, which will cost approximately $30 USD round-trip. The hotel does have free WiFi, but it is very spotty, and unreliable. The front desk personnel (Carlos) was very nice and helped as much as possible with an English-Spanish language barrier. There is a restaurant, but it is only open for breakfast and lunch for about 2 hours each time. The menu is very small, so if you are staying at the hotel for any length of time, you may run out of food choices. The food; however, is very good. There is a river that runs behind the hotel, but you can't see it unless you walk to the back of the grounds. There is a decent pool, but good luck trying to get extra towels to use at the pool. We had to use our shower towels at the pool, and were only allotted one towel per person per day. If you are staying at this hotel as part of a Groupon excursion/adrenaline package/adventure, you will have no issues with transportation to/from the excursion reception areas. The transportation is pretty early each morning, but they are generally there on time to pick you up. If you are staying at this hotel with the intention of being there only to sleep at night, and you want to save money, this is a great hotel for that. If you plan to be at the hotel all day, use the pool, and are looking for a relaxing vacation, I would choose another hotel. The hotel is under construction, and it is a bit noisy during the day. There is no construction at night, so you will have no issues with noise when you are trying to sleep. The hotel maintenance crew will turn off your A/C unit every day when they clean the room, so be prepared for the room to be warm each afternoon when you return. Tip: If you want new towels each day, put the dirty towels on the floor. If you have them hanging on a door knob or over the shower, they will not swap them out for fresh towels. There is a mini fridge, microwave, small counter-top, and 4 tier shelves to store your clothes, in the room, There is also shampoo/body wash in a dispenser in the shower. They do not provide soap or lotion or any other amenities. There is no phone in the room. There is a small wall-mounted television. I never turned it on, so I don't know what kind of service you will get. The A/C is a window unit. There is no central heat/air. The rooms are very basic, with very limited amenities, but if you are looking for inexpensive, and don't care if the room is outdated, then this is your place. If you are looking for bed linens and towels to be changed every day, bathroom wiped down daily, etc., I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

My sister and I got the 8 Day/7 Night Adrenaline Package from Groupon and Carlos, the owner/manager, was so helpful and kind throughout the whole trip. He gave us a rundown on how things worked, the best restaurants to eat at, and all the staff at the hotel catered to our every need. The hotel rooms are cleaned everyday with comfortable beds and pillows. They have a nice pool, two foosball tables, two pool tables, and a restaurant. The restaurant served us breakfast every morning and it was something different every day. Overall, a great hotel surrounded by beauty and amazing locals! We are definitely coming back to this hotel :)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cdee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

This place was amazing! My wife and I came here for our honeymoon and we're delighted at how great our stay was here! Rooms were always cleaned everyday and were comfortable to stay in. They have nice clean restroom and beds as well. One thing I needed and was available in the room was the ac! The meals in the place were also amazing! It was like I was getting a home cooked meal every time! The staff there was always attentive and would ask how everything was. I would definitely recommend this place to any one. Thanks to Carlos and all the great staff who made our stay all that much more better!
-Jerry and Ariana

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Carlos, the owner/manager, runs a great show here. It's definitely a "value" hotel, with limited amenities, but it does have a pool, good dining services, pool and Foosball tables, and hot running water and a TV in each room. The staff are super friendly and accommodating, and Carlos is always around to help you sort out activities and shuttles. He doesn't speak much English, so Google Translate or knowing Spanish are a must.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Don't forget about 13% tax you have to pay on arrival in cash!
Carlos always does his best to make sure you have what you need and that you are satisfied.
The food was made fresh daily and tasted great! I miss that breakfast.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Camille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I bought the Groupon 5 day adventure package and it was spectacular. The staff at this hotel was friendly and helpful with everything we needed. Carlos helped us switch any adventure we needed. The food was excellent and the hotel was very clean and groomed. I did have some issues:
1. The taxes for the adventures and any other charges to the room (taxi, beer, etc) must be paid in cash or PayPal
2. Often times we were not given enough information on what to bring when it came to the adventures
3. We asked for two coconuts on the first night and never received them
4. A lot of information between Mario and Carlos often did not match up about adventures and other items so that was somewhat confusing.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.7 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
10.3 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,996 reviews
17.6 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
8.7 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $115 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing