We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and friendly people.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Choza de Laurel

La Choza de Laurel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, Central American, Latin, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We offer typical Costa Rican Food with an extraordinary customer service. But our menu offer other options like pasta, fast food, salads, exotic desserts and many more.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food and friendly people.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had lunch here after our zip line tour at Ecoglide (wonderful). We ordered a whole chicken that was roasted and everyone enjoyed making soft tacos. Our food was very good but our fruity strawberry drink with rum was very bland. Back to Imperial cervesa! Since it was going to be late getting back to our rented villa, we took some chicken, tortillas, rice and beans home and enjoyed them for a late dinner.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    310
    137
    33
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Delicious black bean soup and Casados. The fruit juices are to die for,

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank devyanigupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Costa Rican food that isn't all fried”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a good place recommended to me by the locals as a spot where everyone enjoys their meal. I hate fried food, am ambivalent about rice and beans, and ENJOYED my Costa Rican meal here (which emphasizes fried food, rice, and beans). Dinner is $10, dessert is $5-$10 and not huge but good. I'd definitely return.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Drerinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Recommended in Fodors but we went there and the waitress seemed bothered to be our waitress; there was some sort of fly in my salsa; the food was hum drum; overall value was poor.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RBarnes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level Contributor
215 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Indifferent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Typical gimmicky touristy restaurant, the staff were dressed in ethnic costume and consequently the prices were more expensive. There was an emphasis on chicken dishes with one of the features of the restaurant being chickens roasted on an open wood fire. The food was well presented though it tasted rather bland. The service was indifferent and I was given the incorrect change when paying the bill, whilst this was rectified no apology was given

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Choza de Laurel also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Choza de Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing