We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vagabondo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vagabondo
Certificate of Excellence
ca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed in this hotel for $43 a night with breakfast included. they serve eggs, toast, fruit, coffee & juice. There's also a souvenier shop at the hotel & a pizzeria and lounge right next door. The receptionist is very nice. The rooms are very comfy, they have heater/AC, TV,safe & hot water for showering. Town is 5 mins away by car, The springs Resort is like 15 mins away, Arenal Volcano is 20 mins away..overall a great place to stay, its a very safe place too. i truly reccomend it. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabyrocha0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    49
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vankleek Hill, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Vagabondo 1 night and I cannot say anything bad about this place. Since we were going to leave early in the morning, we paid $40 for the room with no breakfast. Jonathan was very nice and helpfull. We had the first room just beside the little patio where we could relax either on the hamac or in the rocking chairs. Room was very clean and service very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vi0laine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Limon, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

Good value at $40 per night with breakfast .
Jonathon and Errol very helpful employees with good English.
Rooms safe secure but basic.simple rooms not an issue for me as am out touring most of the day.
Pizzeria great but not cheap.
Located two kms out of town.if you don't like walking or don't have a car,maybe Vagabondo is not for you.
Could not get water in room any hotter than tepid!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteross2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed at the Vagabondo for three nights in February, 2011 and it was perfect for us. It was clean, quiet and at $48 per night with breakfast included, the best value of any of the seven places that we stayed at in Costa Rica in our three week vacation. We were a bit concerned about possible noise from the disco which is at the back of the restaurant but as it turned out, very few people go there and they keep the music way down - we didn't hear anything at all from our room or the pool area (except occasionally someone chopping up wood for the wood burning pizza oven.) Not having a car, we really liked the location - about 800 metres from town and there is a sidewalk for almost all of that distance. We did speak with a few other travellers who stayed at other places right in town and were kept awake by the noise from a festival that was going on. There is a public bus stop at by the grocery store about a hundred metres away and we had a good meal (chicken casada) at the Soda Tipical which is near the grocery store. The grocery was convenient for picking up beer, ice cream cones and other supplies. We were in room #7, around back, by the pool and it was great - we were the only ones at the pool most of the time! The showers in the room worked great once you figured them out - like most showers in Costa Rica, they heat the water on demand with an electrical element - they only have one knob to turn and the more water you turn on, the less hot the water is - so if you want hotter water you adjust its flow. You had a choice of either eggs or a continental style breakfast at the restaurant next door - both were good. We had a pizza at the restaurant one night - very tasty - nice thin crust. One of the best things about Vagabondo is Jonathan (Jonny) the young guy who works at the reception desk in the gift shop and who also served us breakfast. He is a delight! He went out of his way to get us information on the various tours available in the area; let us use the computer in the gift shop; and worked hard to make coffee that was to our liking (we like our coffee somewhat stronger than what is usually served in Costa Rica.) We would definitely stay at the Vagabondo if we are lucky enough to return to the La Fortuna / Arenal area!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry6121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Clean, basic hotel, friendly staff and good value for money. Breakfast consisted of either traditional costa rican fare or fruit salad. The room was comfortable but there was no hot water, which was ideal as it was quite wet and cold whilst we were there. It's located on the main road between town and Baldi Springs - about a 20 minute walk (not the nicest route to walk) and about 1,500 colones by taxi. If you don't have a car we would suggest you find somewhere closer to town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrachanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

I meant to write this review a year and a half ago when my best bud and I stayed here in April of 09. I came across it planning my trip back and thought I would get in my two cents. Hotel Vagabondo was one of our favorites in all of Costa Rica. It is a beautiful, quiet get-a-way just down the road from town. The service was fantastic and the rooms were very clean and cozy. The free breakfast was by far the best we had in Costa Rica. The hotel staff helped us get around town and made sure we got the best prices on every adventure we did. We were able to walk to town and even to Baldi (the hot springs). We are looking forward to visiting again in a few months and have recommended this hotel to many :) Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Pros
-nice, spacious room
-nice grounds with plants and flowers
-accomodating staff
-good restaurant on-site

Cons
-the room we were promised was not available when we got there, were sent to a different room which didn't have a fan, and then a third which smelled like smoke. finally, settled in a room which was fine
-no hot water in one of the rooms (the one we were in!)
-lots of bugs around the pool area

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveToedSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
4.1 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
4.3 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
1.7 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
3.3 km away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vagabondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vagabondo

Property: Hotel Vagabondo
Address: | 1.5 km oeste del parque de la fortuna sobre carretera hacia el Volcan Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00123, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vagabondo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Vagabondo Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos and gives us a taste you contact us The rooms have a simple decoration to Italian style, with wooden furniture, feature garden, pool, restaurant and parking Also include Air conditioning or fan, TV, WIFI, safe, private bathroom and shower, plus breakfast included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vagabondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vagabondo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing