We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Few kinks with the rooms, otherwise nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vagabondo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vagabondo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Few kinks with the rooms, otherwise nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Pros
-nice, spacious room
-nice grounds with plants and flowers
-accomodating staff
-good restaurant on-site

Cons
-the room we were promised was not available when we got there, were sent to a different room which didn't have a fan, and then a third which smelled like smoke. finally, settled in a room which was fine
-no hot water in one of the rooms (the one we were in!)
-lots of bugs around the pool area

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveToedSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    48
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

We were in search of a not too expensive hotel room with A/C in La Fortuna. A room with A/C at Vagabondo costs $48. The room had ensuite Hot shower bathroom. Very spacious and stylish decoration. Room was spotless and the furniture in good condition.There is a swimming pool and breakfast and WiFi is included. The WiFi connection in our room was excellent although we were at the back of the hotel next to the swimming pool. You can see the volcano from the restaurant, where breakfast is served. By the way, the pizzas are excellent. On a clear day, you can take good pictures of the Arenal Volcano from acroos the street. The stuff are extremely frriendly and most of them speak English. They helped us book some tours of the area as well. We extended our 2 nights stay to 4 and were close to staying another night. When in the area, we would definitely go back again,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_M_AWAY_COM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We loved our stay at this hotel! I cannot recommend it highly enough!

I chose La Fortuna as a place to relax for a week while we took various adventure tours. I did extensive research on hotels at every price level, and Vagabondo seemed to offer the best service at the best value. Despite the video on the very informative website, I was worried that the price ($40!) was too good to be true, and that we might be staying in a dump.

I contacted the hotel, and not only did they give me a discount for staying for a a whole week, but they also offered to arrange all of our tours and get us the best prices. The prices that they got us were not much lower than the prices we could've gotten on our own, but they took care of everything - calls, reservations, and confirmations. All at no extra charge, in fact they consistently thanked me for trusting them with my plans.

The person I was in contact with most was Errol. He was incredibly helpful and polite via email, and he was even more helpful and polite in person. He greeted us warmly upon arrival, and gave us a plethora of helpful tips and advice throughout our trip. He was so sweet that he even took my husband and I to a free thermal hot spring - on his day off! Errol was one of the best parts of our trip, and I hope the owners of Vagabondo realize how important/valuable he is!

To be fair, I have to list the biggest con of the hotel: they don't have hot water. The water isn't freezing, but we weren't able to get it any warmer than tepid. Major bummer. This is probably not a big deal in the warmer months, but in December it would have been nice. Another smaller con is that you may hear other guests and/or loud motorcylces and trucks every once in a while, because the hotel is kind of close to the main road. For the most part, our room was very quiet (although our bed was kind of squeaky).

As for the pros: the customer service can't be beat, it's a small enough hotel so that they know you (and how you like your pina coladas made) right away, more of an international crowd if you like to stay away from loud, obnoxious crowds, yummy restaurant, close to town but far enough away (town is a little bit depressing), and ADORABLE towel sculptures on your bed whenever your room is cleaned (daily). Beautiful hardwood throughout, interesting local art in every room, and free breakfast every day.

Can you find this anywhere else for $40 a night? I know hostels that charge more. Because we saved so much money for accommodation, we were able to take all of the tours we wanted to take. The one unexpected expense was the high price of food in Costa Rica. Of course, we were eating a tourist-y places, so that can only be expected, but the prices were often higher than some places in New York! ($40 for dinner and $25 for lunch was about average for Costa Rica, and only one of us drinks!) We know we could've saved money by going to sodas, but we didn't feel very welcome when we tried to eat there.

I highly recommend Hotel Vagabondo unless hot water is a non-negotiable for you. Otherwise, it's a fantastic opportunity to stay somewhere inexpensive but not at all generic. Good luck with your search!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank constanthoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camposanto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We really enjoyed our staying in Areanl Volcano zone, because we stayed in this wonderful hotel.
The rooms are so romantic! The paintings, from local artists, are also beautiful, and there's a lot of attention to details: many beautiful plants, a nice garden, and the like.
We really liked the meals they serve in the restaurant, expecially local food and drinks: hail to the chef!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luca_modena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.3 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vagabondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vagabondo

Property: Hotel Vagabondo
Address: | 1.5 km oeste del parque de la fortuna sobre carretera hacia el Volcan Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00123, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vagabondo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Vagabondo Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos and gives us a taste you contact us The rooms have a simple decoration to Italian style, with wooden furniture, feature garden, pool, restaurant and parking Also include Air conditioning or fan, TV, WIFI, safe, private bathroom and shower, plus breakfast included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vagabondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vagabondo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing