We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value typical Costa Rican food”
Review of Lava Rocks Cafe

Lava Rocks Cafe
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at Lava Rocks, opting for a mix of typical food and burgers, we had a food quantity of well cooked and tasty food.
The restaurant sits by the street so we chose to sit inside a bit further.
The service was very good, prompt and friendly. Being low. Season it was not too busy and the staff weren't rushing to throw us out.
I'd recommend this place as one of several good place to choose from in La Fortuna.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Waste of time and money. We didn’t get given glasses with our beers and never received our tap water. The food was below average and over priced for what seemed like oven ready meals. The service was poor, didn’t acknowledge customer needs and showed a huge lack of care.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JLEWxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Skip this place! The wait staff barely acknowledged us and we had to get utensils from another table. Abandoned us after our meal. We wanted to add gelato for dessert which was on the menu but we gave up when nobody wanted to take our order. Kinda left a bad taste of our last night in La Fortuna. Everyone else had been very kind.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

The customer service is very bad, they treated us very badly, the server was very bad, almost never attended us. The food is not very good and it is expensive. I would definitely never go back

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank abigailtuttle902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Lava Rocks was recommended by the owner of our hotel. We wanted to go to Lava Lounge but we have a 10 year old and they wouldn’t let us in late on a Saturday. So to Lava Rocks we went. It was quiet and still had a full bar. The food was fantastic. We spent a few minutes chatting with Chef Carmen. It is obvious she takes pride in her dishes. The food was so good, all four of our plates were empty. Drinks and dessert were as good as it gets. Our server took great care of us. Overall it was our best meal in La Fortuna.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JWirtjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lava Rocks Cafe also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing