We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for walking”

Arenal Natura Ecological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Afternoon Tour to Arenal Observatory Lodge and Natural Hot Springs River
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
Arenal Natura Ecological Park Tour
More Info
US$117.00*
and up
Photography Tour at Arenal Natura Ecological Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Arenal Natura Ecological Park you will experience the natural world in a whole new way, where beautiful frogs, birds, reptiles, and their natural habitats will have the starring role. Arenal Natura is a private Biological Station, where we are concerned at the conservation of habitats, as well as reserach and reproduction of amphibians and reptiles, many of these listed as endangered species by CITES. We are located in a section of the tropical rainforest, at the base of the Arenal Volcano, home to a large quantity of species which, with the help of our guides, will give you a new way to view and enjoy these impressive, complex worlds.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Mountain View, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice for walking”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great quit place for walking and enjoying the nature

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yulia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, 17 September 2015
Great, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    111
    42
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place for family adventure”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We visited this park at the end of a long day and they could not have been nicer and more accommodating to us. With 3 young children, we had a great time searching for frogs and watching leaf-cutter ants. The guide we had was very helpful and enthusiastic, especially for 4pm! If you want a low key look in the fauna of Costa Rica from an ecological and reptilian/amphibian view, this is the place to go. Great for kids!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, 17 September 2015
It's so great to hear that, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I really enjoy my visit in Arenal Natura, it is really a special place and I never thought that I will be so excited about frogs! And now I have a new passion:) I found out about this place by accident but it turned out to be my favorite top attraction in La Fortuna. Make sure you will see the frogs with a guide. Alan was amazing - so passionate about his job that it was contagious! He showed us different frogs and knew a lot of interesting facts. i still keep looking at the pictures and keep telling about it my friends. It was one of the highlights of my trip!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kapteva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, 17 September 2015
Amazing review, thank you for supporting Arenal Natura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There's nothing better than a passionate guide”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A visit to Arenal Natura Park is a great and easy activity to participate in while in La Fortuna/Arenal. Not requiring much physical effort to walk the trails, this site is perfect for young travellers, as well as those older but young at heart. Environmental enthusiasts will love the variety of species housed on-site. Complete with a crocodile pond, frog exhibit, and snake exhibit, Arenal Natura Park offers visitors the opportunity to meet some of Costa Rica's most popular, precious, and poisionous creatures.

Perhaps the best part of our experience was our knowledgeable guide Allan. While it is not difficult to find guides who enjoy their work and who are educated in their craft, it was wonderful to meet a guide with an innate passion for the park's reptiles and amphibians (especially the red-eyed frog). Allan's stories (coupled with his excitement in sharing them with us), made our trip. If all guides are like him, we are happy to recommend this park and its guided tour to others.

In addition, special thanks to Carlos at the park for arranging our visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pacuare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, 17 September 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

well, our guide made the experience educational..... I just looked around with awe.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Natura Ecological Park, responded to this review, 17 September 2015
Excellent, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arenal Natura Ecological Park also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Arenal Natura Ecological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing