We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice and tasty! ”

The Flying Tomato A Vegetarian Experience
Good for: View
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile

Had the most tasty ceviche and smoothie here! Like having dinner in your friend's garden, with excellent service from the owners adorable daughter who also offered entertainment in a round of 'go fish' :)

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2015

Food we had (burger and curry) tastes like convenience food.
The burger was garnished with 3-4 french fries.
When we arrived the vegetarien restaurant, the owner was eating a fish, which seemed a bit inappropriate.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lrooodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2015

Being a vegetarian, I sought this place out and have never been more disappointed. The place is small, with dogs staring you down, and cigarette smoke wafting in for your dining pleasure. I was the only person "dining" there and it the food took a very long time to arrive, and when it did, the edges of the rice were crusty and dried out (crack your teeth on it hard), small portions and huge prices. Qualifies as the worst meal I had in Costa Rica.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Excalibur13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2015

Unfortunately we didn't have a positive experience at The Flying Tomato. We ordered two vegetarian dishes which were basically small portions of boiled, frozen vegetables. The fruit juices were weak made with water and very little fruit. Overall is was a disappointing dining experience as we were expecting the food to match the homemade style of the place, which it did not. To top it all off it was extremely expensive! Avoid.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Herukhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2015

The restaurant is tiny and has a cute cosy feel to it. I couldn't resist the prospect of soy ham after a long streak on rice and beans, so I ordered the Pizza Hawaiana without pineapple. I hadn't had pizza in Costa Rica before, so maybe this is normal, but the pizza was TINY! I think they could have mentioned in the menu that it is a mini-pizza. The taste itself was OK, even though the crust was clearly ready-made. It cost 4000 colones. I understand that soy ham and cheese are expensive, so maybe some other portions for the same price are bigger. I was the only customer around 2 o'clock. The service was friendly.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaijaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flying Tomato A Vegetarian Experience also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to The Flying Tomato A Vegetarian Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing