We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible sleep, noisiest hotel ever!”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Don't stay here if you value your sleep. I was here for three nights and the sheer volume of noise was ridiculous. The majority of the rooms ironically open out into the first floor, where there is a bar blarring out music. Thats fine, but turn it off after 10pm or 11pm! Not to mention the gaggle of people that seem to crop up shouting and screaming their heads off. This is where complaints to the management are not dealt with, they are the ones who put a sign up to enfore quiet after 9pm!!!! A big mssive sign telling guests to keep the noise level low after 9pm or they will have to enfore it. Did that happen? Of course not!
The staff are just too timid to deal with guests, I'm sorry, it's your job to enfore the rules if other guests have complained. Location is great, right in the centre. Rooms are a bit small. The bathroom I had was pretty awful, i think after comparing with other guests some rooms are just better than others and not all have balconies.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, and not one that opens directly to the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Toadstool_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette L, Gerente at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your review, someting is wrong and we are going to fix it.

There are situations out of our control, if some one is being loud after 10 pm, we have to ask them to be silence and respect, thats our job, but if it happens up stairs nearby a room, the only way to know is if you let us know, because we can not hear from the front desk.
Our coffee bar is open until 10 pm only and the music until that time is very low, in fact we made several tests from the rooms so we know is not possible to heard the music. Last saturday there were a city concert in town until mid night, this is also out of our control.
We have different kinds of rooms and all of them are different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

VERY noisy - despite signs saying people should be quiet in the bar area after 9pm (most of the rooms surround the bar) this wasn't enforced. Severely lacking in the basics e.g. No curtains over balcony door + large window above main bedroom door meant light was streaming into the room all night?? Aircon leaked on the bed, was told it had been fixed but still leaked the following night. Staff all seemed nice which was maybe this hotel's only good point. Laundry service offered was over priced.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gingovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Gerente at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We are very sorry for your experience, it seems that many things came together at the same time wich is not normal.
It is true that we are pleased to keep quiet after 9 pm in all areas of the hotel including our Coffee, Bar & Smoothies, which is open until 10 pm, however it is not a noisy place, on the contrary it is very familiar.
We will take into account what it tells us about the curtain of the balcony door, it is something simple to fix, this room is in front of the street and to last the last 22 days were the village festivals which increased the noise by 200% , but for which we can do nothing, once a year and for financing local sports projects.
Our air conditioners are efficient and work properly between 22-25 degrees centigrade, if they are unconfigured they can lead to drip problems, this is easy to fix from the front desk staff, and we always ask the gust to not change the configuration from the remote control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

main floor guest rooms and corridor had very strong cleaning solution smell like pine sol.
Otherwise a great location with professional staff. Very nice breakfast and many restaurants, grocery store and tourist activities near by.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daveandlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette L, Gerente at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank very much for your review.

We are taking your sugestion under consideration , thank you. We also want to let you know than all our cleaning products are 100 % biodegradable, which is a very important policy of our Enviroment Management Plan.

Thank you,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We stayed four nights in March 2017 at Las Colinas in the Junior Suite with Private Balcony #33. We had been to La Fortuna over the years, and this trip topped them all. Volcan Arenal was happy the entire time we were there! The view of the volcano from our room was beautiful, and it was a real treat to wake up in the morning, and watch such majesty! In the early evening, the sunsets were spectacular! AS for the hotel, we had a wonderful time. The entire staff was very kind and accommodating. The room was kept very clean, and one day we came back to be greeted by lovely flowers on the bed. Breakfast was always good, with fresh coffee, a variety of hot food and fruits. Even though we had a small, private balcony, the shared patio was a bonus. There were several lounge chairs and couches, and we took advantage of the area to do our morning yoga. A guest even joined us one morning! It was nice being right downtown in La Fortuna. We visited the old church, walked around town, had ice cream, went to different restaurants for dinner. We took a taxi one day to Paradise Hot Springs and loved it! We always book our private travel with Wilson of Coati Tours. He wasn't available the Sunday we booked, so one of their drivers brought us to La Fortuna from San Jose and it worked out great. Can't wait to return one day!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MagicChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette L, Gerente at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

It is always a wonderfull experience to read our guests reviews, it is so nice to hear all the things you have enjoyed in our hotel and our region!

Thank you for the details and to visit our town and to chose our hotel, it will be pleasure to have you here any time you want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Rooms were a little small but clean and for the price and location It was excellent. The staff were all so friendly too. A family run hotel and it's always nice to stay somewhere like this rather than a chain

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank traveller492571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette L, Gerente at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you very much for your great review!
We are happy to know than your stay in our family hotel was better than you expected, la Fortuna is a small town community, this hotel have been here for 27 years, our roots are in this town and we love to share it with many people from all over the world, we want you to have a great experience and to talk about tha nature, green and adventure country we have!
Staing into small and family run business helps local economy, social development and responsabile tourism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

I stayed in La Fortuna in January,2017. Hotel Las Colinas was inexpensive , and conveniently located in the middle of the town. All staff at front desk spoke good English.
The guy who checked us in was extremely helpful. When I said I need refrigerator in the room , he brought one in less then 5 min. He also gave us best tips how to get to most tourist attraction in most efficient way. Sorry , I forgot his name. The breakfast was very good, with a delicious fruit plate, all local seasonal fruits.
To summarize it - Hotel Las Colinas is a good bet for your money, and you can get surprisingly good service .
Roman from Albuquerque

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prucrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette L, Gerente at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Hello Roman,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!
Our principal goal every day is to help our guest to visit our natural atractions and to enjoy their time here, offer tips and ideas ussualy helps a lot our visistors and it is a pleasure for us!
Pura vida means a lot of things and this is Pura vida too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

The views from the rooftop patio of the volcano were breathtaking. Rooms were decent with no major draw backs other then the glass door on each room that didn't block any sound. The staff was great helping us with what ever we needed like laundry and making us really good meals.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dswartzrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette L, Gerente at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for your review!
Our terrace are is great, there is also a coffee bar with delicious cocktails, smoothies, and much more.
We will take under consideration your recomendation about the windows.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
13.7 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
867 reviews
0 km away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
537 reviews
6.6 km away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,655 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
170 reviews
0.2 km away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#7 of 85 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $71 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing