We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean hotel right downtown in La Fortuna”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Year's Eve 2011 & really enjoyed this hotel. La Fortuna is a cute little town located close to the Arenal Volcano & lots of great tours - which is exactly why we chose Las Colinas - to be central to all of that. Las Colinas is very clean & has a Costa Rican feel to it. If you get a room with a balcony you'll be able to see the volcano. The breakfast is amazing - very filling and tastey with lots of food (as well as help-yourself coffee & fresh blended juice and toast).

We booked a lot of tours from this hotel which was convenient but we soon discovered it was cheaper to book directly on the tour website (the hotel makes about $20 commission on each tour) - just a tip. Anyway, the staff were very friendly and helpful with everything. When we first arrived our room was not ready but they held onto our stuff and we explored the town in the meantime. The hotel felt very safe overall and all of the staff were kind. We got the staff to do our laundry (it was about the same price as other places) and they returned some money that my husband had left in his pocket which was really honest. The one and only downside was the noise of being right downtown - we would hear loud banging (almost like shots?!) at strange hours, honking, etc. Bring earplugs!

Overall, this was a great hotel for a reasonable price and is an excellent location. I'd recommend it for anyone looking for a place right downtown, near the volcano & other tours.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thriftynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 February 2011

Many thanks for your beautifull review and the photos are great too!
Is a very good description of the region, the town and our hotel services like Breakfast!!
Our Tour desk is Certified, it means that all the tours companies which we work to, have a Sustainable Certification, full Insurance and legal accounting, it means that pays taxes, it can can make a really difference on rates!
Happy new year is big holiday in Costa Rica and is part of the culture to use a lot of artificial fires everywhere!! we are sorry about that, but there is nothing we can do, and of course is only for the holidays!
Thank you to choosing our hotel and happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

Great hotel with reasonable rates and in the middle of LaFortuna. Easy access to shopping, restaurants and tours. CHeers! Dar

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dar_nich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 February 2011

Hello !!!!
Thank you so much for your excellent review about our hotel family!!
We feel very happy and proud to know that we are doing a good job, the reviews help us to improve every day!!
As we said PURA VIDA and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stayed at Las Colinas for one night during our journey in Costa Rica. We liked the little town and the hotel, even though I wouldn't spend more than a couple of days in that location. Our room was overlooking the volcano but not directly in front of us, we could see it on the left side of the balcony, which we didn't mind considering you have a big terrace outside the room and the volcano wasn't erupting anyway. If you want to book over the internet is a good central place to choose, but if you are going there without a reservation, I'm sure you can find cheaper places. Overall we had a great time!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giada821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 February 2011

Thank you very much for your review!
We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us!
We are a family run bussines dedicated in responsabile and sustainable tourism, we work in community and conservation projects, we have been here for the last 20 years, a lot of experience help us to offer from beautiful Junior Suites, Standard rooms and Economic STD!!
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We slepped in the hotel 3 three days. the hotel is very good and clean. The personal ist very friedly

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maam11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 February 2011

Thank you very much to take the time and write a review of our hotel!

We are a family run business and we love to receive other families to share with us their vacations!

Thank you very much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I agree with the negative reviewers for this hotel. It is not a good value and the rooms are lacking in quality. There were gaps all around both exit doors in our room. During frequent rain storms, water would pour under the doors. We had to put down towels to keep out the water. I didn't like the no doorknob entry doors. Having just a deadbolt and key was inconvenient. Their eco-friendly towel policy is not followed by the cleaning staff. We put our wet, used towels on the floor indicating we wanted new, fresh towels. The cleaning staff just picked them up and hung them back on the towel bar. Yuk! The staff was quite friendly and the breakfast was good(typical CR). The hotel is centrally located, but the noise from the street, nearby grocery store, and main street is 24/7. For a budget hotel, I would expect to pay less.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltcjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 January 2011

Our goal is to keep improving every single day , that is why we appreciate Tripadvisor and the guests reviews.
Almost all our reviews are very good and excellent, and we are working to keep them good, that is why thanks to another guest we decided to change all the doorknob entry doors and it will be ready the first week of February 2011, step by step everything becomes better.
We can not say so much of the rain, we leave in the Rain Forest and when there are rain storms, there is almost nothing to do againts it, and hopefully is not that often, anyway we are also trying to help on this area.
Las Colinas is a family run bussiness dedicated in Sustainable Tourism with a Certificaction that proves it, to recieve this Certification by the Costa Rica Tourism Board all the staff of the hotel starts working responsabile with the enviroment, we took this review to make an special evaluation.
Thank you very much for all your help, best regards, Las Colinas Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Every time I visit Fortuna/Arenal, I stay at Hotel Las Colinas. The rooms are impeccably clean, the porch is a great hang out spot with a great view of the town/volcano, and breakfast is delicious. I recommend signing up to learn to make tortillas. The hotel is centrally located in the middle of Fortuna which makes it easy to visit bars and restaurants at night. The nightguard leaves you feeling safe and comfortable. I HIGHLY recommend staying at Las Colinas. Flor and her staff are extremely friendly and helpful, always give honest advice and friendly service. It's family owned and operated, and they take pride in their work and hotel and it's makes a big difference.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTLSCGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colinas, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2011

Hello Dear friends!
Thank you very much for such a beautifull review, it make us feel very proud and happy!!

Our goals are to offer a friendly and personalize attention and improving the sustainable and cultural activities, that is why we start offering the service of "Learning to make Tortillas" during the breakfast time, we offer the ingredients and the explanation, and the guest can learn by doing, and it is funny!!

So, Thank YOU, is nice to know that we are making the difference for your holidays!
Thank you to keep choosing us and you are always welcome!!
Best regards, Las Colinas Family: Victor , Rolando, Noilyn, Cindy, Flor and Ivette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Nice hotel with no bad surprises, a friendly and helpful staff and an ideal location.
It was a good choice for us and our 2 small children of 4 and 6

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackyKero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colinas, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2011

Thank you very much for the review!!
We are happy to know that our hotel was a good option for you and your family!
We are a familiar run bussines and our goal is to offer a warm attention and good advices to make the vacations a nice experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
13.7 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
835 reviews
2.0 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,000 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $67 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing