We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO NO NO - this place is not where you want to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NO NO NO - this place is not where you want to stay.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

NO NO NO - this place is not where you want to stay. The hotel is next to the highway and is very rundown. Our room was horrible, moldy walls, dirty "jacuzzi tub", and wreaked of smoke 9we booked a non-smoking room). And the "lake" was a mosquito infested dirty green pond. We had no hot water when we arrived, and they told us we would have to wait until the next day...this after a 17 hr trip to get to this "luxury hotel". And the pool closes at 6 PM. Don't let the pictures fool you.

We moved to Mountain Paradise and had an awesome suite.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us

We understand your dissatisfaction particulary on the hotel facilities and services. Montaña de fuego Resort & Spa will use your comment as a feedback and improve its services , meet our guests expectations is the mos important for us so you can be sure that we will work hard to fix all the remarks you mentioned. We hope to see you back in our hotel and know your opinion about our improvements.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor

Sincerly,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    348
    216
    102
    72
See reviews for
311
469
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

As part of a tour group, we had a cabin, with a porch, on the front row overlooking the volcano. That was good, but the cabins were substandard. It appears that there are newer, and perhaps more spacious and nicer units on the property. From reading the reviews, we expected more. The room was small, the building was old and tired, the roof had shingles missing (fortunately,it didn't rain), and the interior lighting was poor. Low lighting levels seem to be the norm in Costa Rica, but this was the poorest we encountered in our 15 nights. I would hope that they replace, or at least completely remodel these units very soon, because with their fantastic view of the Arenal Volcano, and the very pretty grounds, they could be a very pleasing resort. Our other accomodations on our tour were much better. On the plus side, we very much enjoyed the breakfast buffets, and the one supper we had there was very good. The pool was nice; we didn't us the spa and hot tub.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fosoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, following your stay at thMontaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa.
It is with regret to note of your dissatisfaction particulary on the hotel facilities and services specially at the lighting .Please rest assured that your comments have been brought to the attention of the concerned department heads for action to be carried out.

Best Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Highly recommended in tour guide books but a bit disappointing. The room was a bit tired, small things like holes in the screens meant some bugs through the night and the beds were somewhat uncomfortable. Would try another resort the next time in town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor. We will definitely take into consideration your remarks as it is a way for us to improve and provide the finest service to our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent 5 nights there touring thr Arenal area. The location was great and the room was nice, but that's about it. The pool and spa area needed a lot of work and nobody used them. The restaurant was good, but pricey. We ate there 1 night and went in to La Fortuna to eat the other nights. There's nothing to do here. If you just need a place to stay and the price is right, this is a nice spot to stage your trip from.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwardo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor. I appreciate receiving comments from our valued guests, as this type of feedback will definitely help us in improving our services on the Spa,pool and restaurant areas. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return.

Sincerly
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed here 2 nights and loved it. Stayed in room #234 and had a great view of the volcano. Woke up to the birds chirping and the birders birding. That was ok because I grabbed my binoculars and joined them. Cabins are rustic but have what you need. Sat out on enclosed patio and had my coffee and watched the hummingbirds. Birds are everywhere and saw a family of howling monkeys up in the trees while eating breakfast that was included with room. Drove to the park the next day and hiked the volcano in the a.m. and did a bird watching tour in the afternoon at " Arenal 1968" . Tourguide "Roger Davis" ( great)

Room Tip: #234 has a great view of volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your trip.

We really care about preserve the flora and fauna of this beautiful lands so i am happy to hear that you and your couple enjoyed the nature surroundings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My mom and I did not stay in the hotel, we only did a canopy tour (ziplining) operated by the hotel (their tour side is called "GoAdventure Park"). I had just done a canopy tour in Monte Verde a few weeks before, which was still great despite the pouring rain, so this one had a lot to live up to. The canopy tour itself was decent, although not quite as scenic, of course. I felt very safe and even though I'm afraid of heights I was able to do the tour just fine. Our tour guides were very nice, but my only complaint is that they were slightly unprofessional. They were horsing around, swinging and bouncing the cords. It was fine since I'm more than able to keep my nerve, but I could understand others being more annoyed by it than me, and it did take away from being able to enjoy and appreciate the scenery while going down the line. After ziplining we rappelled about 50 ft down to the river of the valley, which some opted out of, which I think is a shame because it was one of my favorite parts of the whole tour! After ziplining we were handed off to new guides to ride the horses back to the base. This was so enjoyable for me. For one, the horses were clearly well-cared for, which I appreciated. Also, I usually don't enjoy horse tours because they don't let you trot or run them, but we ran almost the whole way. For a moment I thought "If you were a beginner this could be a little unnerving", but I think most everyone enjoyed it. I know my mom and I did for sure. Also, if you're wondering if you're too old, you're probably not. My mom did it on her 55th birthday. The only thing that'll kind of hurt the next day is your abs and your elbow (from holding yourself up and using your arm to break). Overall, although the guides were slightly unprofessional sometimes, I really enjoyed this tour and would suggest it to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest:
We appreciate your feedback and will work more on the details, as we are pleased to have met your expectations. It was a real pleasure to have you as a guest, we hope your stay enjoyable.
Is dismissed,

Management
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is a great hotel in the perfect spot! It's just outside of town where it's a bit quieter and makes it feel like you're more in the middle of the jungle.

The rooms were awesome! I'd suggest spending a couple dollars more and getting the junior suite with a jacuzzi in the room. Your aching body might need it after some of the adventures you'll be going on while on Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank www_bd-photos_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your trip.

I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed our services and facilities

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.9 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
818 reviews
1.1 km away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#29 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,232 reviews
2.6 km away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#23 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,283 reviews
2.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
2.4 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 824417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing