We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view. Nice breakfast. good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elgin,IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view. Nice breakfast. good location.”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights before heading to the coast and had a great stay. View of the Volcano was great. Breakfast was very good. Pool is small, but with all to do in the rainforest who needs a pool. Staff was friendly and close to a lot of activities. $10 taxi ride will get you into La Fortuna. Room was comfortable. Nice little path to walk around the gardens.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyandjj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,641
    969
    172
    35
    13
See reviews for
739
1,402
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Good value for what you get. Arenal area hotels tend to be much more expensive.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel gardens are superb with a great view of the volcano if it isn't too cloudy. Be sure to see La Fortuna waterfall and take a tour to see the Cano Negro area. The walk in the Arenal park is easy . There is no need for a guide unless you want some explanations because the paths are well marked and quite tame.

Room Tip: A car is quite necessary if you want to visit the area. They are very helpful in arranging tours whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the Volcano Lodge and Gardens while in the La Fortuna area for part of our honeymoon. We really enjoyed this hotel. Rooms were large, clean, modern and comfortable. The gardens were gorgeous. Lots of birds and flowers. From our room you had a little patio and beautiful gardens that made you feel secluded from the rooms right next to you. We did the little hike around the property through the gardens that was really nice. We had a view of the volcano right from our room. Unfortunately the volcano was only visible for a few hours one afternoon in the 3 days we were there. The rest of the time it was hidden in the clouds. We ate at the restaurant once and enjoyed it. It was very quiet when we were there. The pool and hot tub were great and we enjoyed a few drinks in the hot tub in the evenings with poolside drink service. Would have been even better if the volcano was visible as there is a good view from the hot tub as well. We took a taxi into town a few nights for supper and shopping and it was quite inexpensive. We booked a zipline tour that was close to the hotel and we were the only two on it and they picked us up at the hotel. This also included a horseback riding tour that went down near the volcano. Both were really fun and we got great views of the volcano from there. We also booked our white water rafting trip through the hotel and were picked up here as well. This trip was lots of fun too. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful in booking tours.

If you have a car tour out to Bella Verona restaurant in Santa Clara. This little Italian restaurant is where we had our best meal in Costa Rica. The food and service were amazing. Definitely worth the trip.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmc484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Volcano views from our rear porch. Beautiful ground with plenty of flowers. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Booked all tours thru hotel after we arrived and all were very satisfied.






p

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterH174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

fine place, reasonable price, though you have to want a gated resort

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric_ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel situated with rooms complete with view of volcano as well as pool and dining area. Rooms are nothings special, but the grounds are amazing! Flowers everywhere, a lake to walk at.

Its about $10 to take a cab into town.

We had booked this in a groupon through Desafio which was a great deal with amazing adventure trips - canyoneering, ziplining, rafting and a must the thermal baths.

Food was good especially the dinner buffet parilla/bbq with chicken, carne and fish and great sides including a plethora of fresh fruit, vegetables and yucca!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeannaNAj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,804 reviews
1.8 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,245 reviews
0.8 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,442 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,824 reviews
0.5 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing