We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,472)
Filter reviews
3,472 results
Traveller rating
2,089
1,130
198
40
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,089
1,130
198
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica la fortuna beautiful grounds private hot spring rocking chairs swim up bar breakfast buffet towel animals private patio back porch every morning rainy season thermal pools rooms are nice arenal area restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 3,472 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were really pleased with the service at the hotel. Hot Springs was amazing. we really would love to return with the family. The volcano view from our patio was also outrageous to look at and my photos posted on facebook was a success.thanks to all the hotel staff!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank minimice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience with us.

Is good to read your comments about our property and services, and we are truly pleased that you have enjoyed all that you encountered in the hotel.

As you mentioned, we have a professional staff, relaxing hot springs and the best view of Arenal Volcano.
It was a pleasure to have you here with us, and we hope that you can back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a paradise, from the welcoming reception to the beautiful rooms and amazing food! I have nothing but good things to say. We had the superior thermal room, which I would recommend! First we could have a pool in our back patio, while still being able to enjoy the public pools. The surrounding were beautiful and everything was well maintained!

The rooms were clean and up to date. You could see Arenal Volcano and the view was stunning!

Now the food, what can I say, everything we ordered was amazing. Chicken Caesar, ceviche, burgers, traditional Costa Rican dish, fries etc. Breakfast is included and very good variety.

If you like cold coffee drinks try the mocha frio or the Oreo Frio, so good! A shout out to Danny and Alfonso who were great at taking care of us and were very polite and kind!

I wish we had more then three days here, was so relaxing! We will be coming back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Belovetravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest, we are thrilled reading your review.

Thanks very much for taking some time to share with all of us how enjoyable your stay was.
It's so detailed and describes very well everything that our property has to offer to our clients.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Thanks so much for choosing us.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment you arrive you are taken back by the beauty of this place. The view of the volcano is amazing and you feel like you are close enough to begin climbing to the top. We loved our room. It was not worn out and outdated and when we asked for anything there was never a delay. There are 2 bars with happy hours back to back so you could drink for cheap all night long. The restaurant was so good and had a fancy menu and a lunch menu you can or see from at anytime. When my family wanted a simple burger without the frills, they only charged us for one off the kids menu. The staff was too notch. If I had to say anything negetive, it would be that we stayed there for a week and the breakfast for kinda old. Same thing eveyday. Would have liked a variety.
The front desk staff made you feel special and welcomed, even at 4am and you need more rolls of toilet pap er. If I was to go there again this is where I would atay.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Becky, thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our lodge..

Definitely our daily goal is to make the stay of our guests a perfect and unforgettable experience.
Our staff works at all times to fully serve our visitors and your feedback will definitely help us to improve every aspect of our work.

We are pleased to see your stay was very good and that you can enjoyed of all our facilities.

We hope you visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to serve you.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely, secure and well maintained grounds. Stayed 3 nights in a standard room and two more in a superior thermal room. Rooms were identical with the difference being the patio and small thermal pool. Since the larger thermal pools are open almost 24 hours we actually preferred the cheaper standard room as it was in a quieter section with more wildlife including toucans. Staff was friendly and helpful. Thermal areas and pools were highlights. There was a sauna we did not try. Breakfast was good with made to order omelets and a bird feeding station nearby. We ate other meals on town as choices and prices did not appeal to us. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear George T, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us.

Is good to read your comments about our property and services, and we are pleased that you have enjoyed all that you encountered in the lodge.

We will consider your contribution about the prices and options to eat in our restaurante, to improve.
Our main goal is the complete satisfaction of all our guest.

It was a pleasure to have you here with us.

Kindest Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed 2 nights with a tour group. The staff were friendly. Gardens and grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The unique thermal pools were very clean and relaxing. Rooms were spacious, very clean with 2 comfortable double beds, TV, hair dryer, hot water, safe and air conditioning. Little extras like fancy towels on the bed provided a special touch.The restaurant and bar area were very nice. The buffet breakfast had many selections. It was close to Tabacon Hot Springs and other tours such as a float trip down the Penas Blanca’s River, Natura Park and town of La Fortuna de San Carlos. A very nice stay.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rn526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest, thank you for having selected Volcano Lodge & Springs for your recent stay in La Fortuna, San Carlos - Costa Rica.

We are pleased to perceive that you had a good stay in our lodge.
We appreciate your comments as they allow us to improve the level of service offered to our dear guests.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews