We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and well worth the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Pradera
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location and well worth the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

My family of five with three kids (14,12,9) really enjoyed this hotel. It was away from the heart of town just maybe a mile or so up the road and away from the city feel. It felt very luxious and our room was facing the pool. Since it was so affordable we decided to get two rooms side-by-side. This way we still had the ability to supervise and my daughters had the girl time they wanted.

We were also close to both the location we we went for Zip-lining at another resort called. Canopy tours was the company at the Los Lagos hotel. We booked this at the hotel for the going rate..very fair about $45 a head. It was the best time we all had on the trip and probably the best family experience we had in our lives!!!! The other great thing was aftter the zip-line which we did at about 1 pm there waste. Multiple pools which were heating by the hot springs of the mountain.

On the other side of the hotel heading into town we went up this hard rock road to the base of the volcano to get to the Arenal waterfalls. Also wonderful.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and we all loved it!!

Room Tip: Canopy tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    160
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
80
172
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at La Pradera on January 27th and 28th as we toured the area. The hotel was about a 20 minute walk out of La Fortuna. The rooms are average, for the price and clean. The bathroom was great, all tiled and walkin shower. We had room #35, open the door to a beautiful view of the volcano. The walls are a little thin, but we did so much during the day that sleep was not a problem. Hotel served a great breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doobie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We decided to stay in a cabin for our honey moon. It was very cute and spacious, but the walls are literally just wood. It's Soooo loud at night with the bugs making noise, so bring earplugs. We had to wait over an hour for our rooms when we arrived even after check in time. They eventually gave us a lower rate when we complained. They fumigated around the cabin, but ER ended up with more bugs and cockroaches in the room afterwards!
Don't expect a great breakfast. They don't cover the fruit so bugs are around it always. You can walk into town (30 min) or drive for more authentic and cheap food.
Don't bother with the ATV tour. It's just on a farm across the street and the guide is a CREEP! Norman Herrera down in town has cheaper rates for tours and speaks English.
Sure it's cheap, but for $25 more, you can stay at Magic Mountain hotel across the street.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here on a tour arranged by Desafio Adventure Company and chose to upgrade to a hotel with a view of Arenal volcano. Having booked the tour spur-of-the-moment and not knowing what I was getting myself into, I am happy to say I was very impressed with La Pradera!

The hotel is smaller to medium in size and the rooms are just right for couple night's stay. When I went out rafting for the day, I was pleasantly surprised to see my towels arranged in the shape of a swan- that was an extra special touch (see pictures below)!

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and you definitely get your money's worth, especially since it's included in the rate, and it was quite a delicious, typical Costa Rican breakfast.

The hotel has a stunning location, and is right across the street from several more upscale hotels, which offer similar views. This is definitely the place to stay if you're looking for a charming, simple yet clean Costa Rican hotel but still want the view of Arenal Volcano.

The hotel can arrange adventure activities (ziplining, rafting, nature tours, canyoning, etc.). They are located about a 10-15 minute walk from a strip of small restaurants and souvenir stores. It's just one long street to get to the center of La Fortuna, which takes about 40 minutes walking along the side of the road. The staff knows advanced conversational English (they can definitely understand if you talk slow enough) and can arrange for a taxi ride which takes about 5 minutes to go to the center of town. If it's nice out, the walk really isn't too bad, although it is just on the side of the road.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at La Pradera. Next time I'm in Costa Rica and in the La Fortuna area, I will be sure to stay here for it's charming, cottage like feel, and tremendous location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We happened upon La Pradera in La Fortuna in May 2011- fantastic location- great view of Arenal volcano! The location is perfect, not in the heart of downtown La Fortuna, but walking distance for shopping and meals. Not too secluded, easy access to everything The food at La Pradera is excelent. The staff is knowledgable and helpful. They can schedule any and all adventures or tours for the surrounding area. Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The property is very well maintained. One day we were eating breakfast and saw a cow come from across the street over to the pasture near the property to visit his cow friends, it was quite enjoyable. With so much beauty and activities why stay at a high end posh resort...clean-comfort-great location-food- staff - nothing more is needed.

Room Tip: typically they will walk you through areas of what is available an let you view the room before book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheyennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December and loved it. The grounds were very nice, clean, and well maintained. There was a pool, hot tub and a restaurant that served breakfast, which was included in our rate. The location was close to the town of La Fortuna - about a 25 minute walk or short, inexpensive cab ride. We didn't spend much time in La Fortuna, only going there to have dinner. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful and is close to hot springs and activities (we went rafting and hiked at the volcano). We felt very safe and comfortable at La Pradera and had an amazing view of the volcano from our bungalow. The staff were all very friendly and helpful as well. I would suggest La Pradera if you are looking for somewhere quiet and clean for a peaceful trip in Arenal.

Room Tip: Rooms with a volcano view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Cute bungalow room close to the pool with perfect view of volcano. Rooms are simple and clean with large bathroom and small refrigerator. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. $3 cab ride to town. Hotel is on the main road, but the room was quiet. Right next to an open field with a few cows running around. Lots of birds around - we saw 2 parrots flying overhead while we were in the hot tub. Free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5Kimba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Property: Hotel La Pradera
Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing