We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Dinner Choice”

Restaurante Rana Roja
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Description: Nuestra especialidad carnes a la parrilla, cocinadas a la brasa, variedad de platillos costarricenses y mariscos.
Restaurant details
Description: Nuestra especialidad carnes a la parrilla, cocinadas a la brasa, variedad de platillos costarricenses y mariscos.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Rama Roja did not disappoint. It’s a casual, reasonably priced restaurant offering a solid array of Costa Rican dishes. We had the ceviche to start along with traditional meats. Can recommend as a safe, relaxing place for dinner.

Thank PinUpBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denio M, Propietario at Restaurante Rana Roja, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018
Google Translation

Gracias por su opnion, nos alegra poder brindarles comida de calidad y que hayan disfrutado de una buena cena, esperamos nos puedan visitar nuevamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 161 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2017 via mobile

Went here for dinner with my wife. I'd go back. For the price it's good. $45 for two dinners, appetizer and two adult drinks. Hard to beat on this area.
Service was a bit slow, but the food was quick.

Food:
Ceviche: fantastic. Clean and crisp. Definitely recommend.

Talapia: good.
Red Snapper: great

Both fish were perfectly cooked. Slightly crisp on the outside (whole fish including the head), moist meat below.

It was more than enough food. For this area, it's a good value.

Thank ajrunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denio M, Propietario at Restaurante Rana Roja, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018
Google Translation

Gracias por su visita y sus comentarios, nos alegra hayan disfrutado de nuestra comida, esperamos tenerlos nuevamente y que puedan disfrutar de otra buena experiencia en nuestro restaurante.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Waitresses were nice, food were great, prices were fair! Enjoyed a lot. Will visit again!

For all my friends, I would highly recommend this nice restaurant! Way to go Red Frog!

Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denio M, Propietario at Restaurante Rana Roja, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018
Google Translation

Les agradecemos sus comentarios, estamos para ofrecerles la mejor calidad en nuestros platillos,nos alegra que recibieran un buen servicio de parte de nuestro personal, trabajamos siempre para brindar lo mejor, esperamos nos visiten nuevamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2017

Close to our hotel we've seen that restò, why not? we thought!
It was a delicious surprise. Staff bit lazy but nice and grilled meat was really good, argentinian style even if it's not so cheap!

Thank 150davidef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

I had the red snapper, and wow!! It was the best food I had in all of the many restaurants I tried. I highly recommend it! The plantain dessert was very tasty as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeanetta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denio M, Propietario at Restaurante Rana Roja, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario, trabajamos duro para poder brindarles una linda experiencia en nuestro restaurante, nos alegra hayan podido disfrutar de nuestros platillos, esperamos nos puedan visitar nuevamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Rana Roja also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Restaurante Rana Roja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing