We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The grounds of this hotel are very pretty. We saw a lot of birds flying around that were fun to watch. We loved our cabina. It was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly, and we had great service. The food at the restaurant was good.
The only issue is that some things didn't seem to be working as they should have been. There was a space that seemed like it should have been a hot tub, but it was empty. That wasn't a big deal since they had the hot springs. First, the springs were too hot to get in, but they were able to adjust the temperature, and then it was nice, On our last morning, my husband went to take one more dip in the springs, but for some reason they were empty so he was a little disappointed.
Overall though I would highly recommend this hotel. I really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back if we're in Arenal again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    205
    66
    26
    16
See reviews for
196
310
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Kokoro is set within beautifully landscaped grounds with a great view of the volcano when it's not cloudy! The front desk staff (especially Nestor) was amazing. They recommended great tours and were very helpful in booking tours or transportation! The room was a bit sparse, dark, and the bed wasn't the most comfortable but the view and great staff more than made up for it!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetrhythms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had bought a Groupon that included hotel and activities in Arenal. Since the advertised hotel was completely booked, the tour company had booked us a room at Kokoro. Judging from the reviews I was very excited... until the second we got there.
Good: - Amazing view of the volcano
Bad: - On arrival, reception was not very welcome (had drag our luggage to our room and carry up 2 flights of stairs ourselves)
- The 4-unit rooms were hostel standard at best (the individual villas were apparently all booked)
- Bed was very uncomfortable
- Walls are paper thin! You can hear everything in the room next door.
- Sheets were not changed and had pungent odours
- Shower did not drain properly - we had to shower ankle deep in old water
- TV did not work
- Meals were ok
- We got beer from reception and the can was filled with dust and cobwebs
- The power was out for 5 hours at night (not their fault) but when we voiced our concern to reception they seemed very uninterested

After 1 night, we decided we had enough. It was a combination of bad service and quality of room. Although the tour company had pre-paid the hotel, we decided to check out during the black out and pay for a better stay at a different hotel (El Silencio de Campo). As the last "it can't get any worse" moment, the hotel called for an unmarked taxi to take us to the other hotel -- that overcharged us and then ended up stalling in the middle of the road in pitch darkness. I was scared for my safety. Although we had to pay for extra accommodations, the change in hotel salvaged the rest of our time at Arenal. I would not stay here again or recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the 4 unit building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ichamomdad, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the moment to write your review, and we feel deeply sorry that your experience with us was so shortcoming and disappointing.

Unfortunately many circumstances in your reservation didn't permit us to demonstrate our true intentions as a Home away from home, and we couldn't provide the best of our services.

Firstly, the accomodation assigned to you had been arranged directly with the request of Desafio's(the tour adventure company) Groupon Package. Due to the discount and the limited package that Groupon offers, the accomodation has also been assigned to, ther were standard rooms with limited amenities. We adamantly informed the tour company about the differences in room accomodation and value in its interior (overall experience) as compared to our eco-villa cabinas.
We had also offered the option of upgrading to our eco-villas to the guests if they chose to stay in rooms away from the Casona's but unfortantely it was not informed previous to Check-IN and would leave guests as yourselves with a different perspective with our hotel.

We understand that it may have bring forth frustration or not meet the expectations and create the discomfort upon arrival to our hotel. We made the effort to explain to our guests the limitations that may apply due to the package applied from Groupon. Furthermore we have even adapted previous Groupon guests in our Eco-Villas to avoid this confusion when possible, but unfortunately for the dates applied, we couldn't apply your package in the mentioned eco-villas as we were fully booked in those dates..

With regards to transportation, the rate given by an unmarked taxi, are usually more accesible than the licensed taxi service provided in la Fortuna. However we must apoligise if you felt in any way cheated from this service as it also affects our best efforts in offering personable and sincere attention to our guests.

We are regretful to receive news that your stay was not comforting, and we wished we had the opportunity to make the experience more worthwhile.

We hope your experience in Costa Rica, nonetheless was worthwile, and appreciate your visit to our hotel and the area of La fortuna- Arenal Volcano.

We wish for the best, and hope for your next visit to this area, that we would be given the opportunity to host your stay with the best of our hospitality. Thank you again for sharing with us your honest comments, and taking the moment to write to us.

We wish you well, and Warm Salutes from Arenal- Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Kokoro Arenal is a very nice place to stay near the Arenal Volcano. We participated in many tour activities in the area through Desafio Adventures and we ran into the same people several times during our 3 days there. When comparing with others, it sounds like Kokoro was one of the best.

We enjoyed the lush grounds, the natural setting, and the view of the volcano (although the top of the volcano is often times in the clouds). The people are very friendly and accomodating. They had wifi near the reception area. The onsite hot springs were open from 6pm to 10pm and were also really nice. The onsite restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and was good. It's an open air restaurant and it was very comfortable while we were there in March.

Our room was spacious and clean. It had air conditioning, but the A/C is mostly not necessary due to the elevation. Temperatures were around 70-78 degrees. My only complaint was that our room was dimly lit. We were probably missing a bulb or something, but we didn't ask for it to be fixed. We were busy with daily activities and touring, so it didn't really bother us.

Thank you Kokoro for a nice stay! We would recommend this resort and hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedicoder L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our cabana style room was nice looking, clean and spacious. Pool and hot springs were wonderful. And a big thanks to Chef Benedictu for being so sweet and fun with me and my daughter...and a great chef who made fresh, tasty, healthy food! It is a friendly place with nice staff....Costa Rican charm and Pura Vida (also the name of our cabin) and nothing pretentious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank personalrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel has great landscape, delicious food, and wonderful view.
The room was basic and most of the lights didn't work. We were in the cheaper housing I believe because we came as part of a groupon package. They did have cabins closer to the lobby and pool that looked nicer.

They do have hot springs but 2 were empty and the other 2 were so hot we could not even put our feet in without our skin turning bright red. One night one was the temp of bathtub water so we put our feet in and soaked our legs. ( we were not prepared to soak because it had always been too hot) Then next night we decided to go soak since we were sore from all the hiking. Now it was back to scalding. Kind of annoying.

The pool was beautiful but a little cold so it was only good for an afternoon swim.

It was a $10 dollar taxi ride to town. So $20 bucks if you wanted to go exploring at night. No bus at night either.

Great for those just wanting to soak up nature. If you want to go exploring I would stay closer to town.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin not the rooms in the "house".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crimsonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

thanks kokoro!!! worth the stay. a very friendly staff that handed us beers mid day from time to time... the hot springs is definitely cool and the variety of travelers are pretty darn good too... we had an early flight and the staff did everything they could to run this hotel at a 5 star level... we would go back again!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank twente20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,254 reviews
6.5 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,287 reviews
1.4 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,441 reviews
0.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,827 reviews
8.4 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Property: Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing