We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveller rating
435
224
69
28
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
224
69
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica reception area breakfast was delicious beautiful grounds fried plantains great view of the volcano every morning reception desk nice pool short drive town of la fortuna thermal pools kokomo cabin nature arenal
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 775 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018

We stayed a few nights in July at Hotel Kokoro. Upon arrival we were upgraded to one of the bigger eco-cabins, with a great view of the volcano. We thought that the man working at the front desk when we checked in, Alfredo, was one of the best hotel staff members we have ever had the pleasure of interacting with-- he was helpful and warm. We also thought our cabin was wonderful. We enjoyed watching the clouds move across the volcano every day, the very good wifi, and the readily available hot water. The grounds are great at this hotel (we saw tons of birds and heard a howler monkey in the groves), but beware that it is somewhat far out of town. If you don't have a car, it's not possible to walk into town (our situation) although the hotel front desk staff were great in helping us arrange transportation.

We agreed that the main drawback to this place is that the restaurant isn't anything special. Because we didn't have a car and the hotel is sort of remote, we would have eaten at the hotel for dinner more often if the dinner were more inspiring. As it was we paid a cab to head back into town in the evening to eat. The included breakfast, though, is pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Stayed with our family of 4 for one night in August, so this was off season for Costa Rica. Rooms were spacious and rustic. They have a very nice private hot springs area that we had all to ourselves in the evening as it was raining. Perfect capstone to a long day of driving. Breakfast was buffet style and nicely done in their shaded cafe area by the outdoor pool. Front desk staff were VERY helpful and were able to book us last minute tickets for the sky tram and zip line for our kids. Wish we could have stayed longer--highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clifton Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Our party of 5 stayed at Hotel Kokoro this week. Wow!! The grounds are a photographer's dream! Wherever you look & walk it's so beautiful throughout, tropical plants, orange & pink exotic flowers, etc. We picked ripe star fruit steps outside our room. Peggy Tam (speaks 4 languages) provided outstanding customer service, information & advise. It doesn't get any better. The covered outdoor dining area is beautiful, and the food is delicious and fresh. I really didn't want to leave the grounds to sight see because this place is so heavenly. The lobby/gazebo area was really fun to sit in during the heavy rains. We enjoyed the hot springs for hours (they also have a separate pool). Hotel Kokoro was way beyond our expectations and quite a highlight of our Costa Rica vacation. Heavenly! Thank you, Peggy!!

Room Tip: Our deluxe room had two large beds and one single. Plenty of room.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LoverofParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear guest, great to hear you love our grounds and spend time to write a review for us. Our pleasure to serve and welcome back anytime with your family and friends. Blessing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

We turned up without reservation and stayed one night. A large room.and more intimate than the mega USA style hotels which you find around Arenal.
The owner could not have been more helpful and gave us good advice about where to go and what to do. A very nice lady.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank MrDemandingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review for us. We will improve all day by day. Honsetly is our pleaure to serve. Wish you have a great trip in Costa Rica. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

My sister and I reserved a room for three nights at Hotel Kokoro. We arrived really late (at about 1 am) to find the gate closed to the hotel. Ended up having to spend the night in the hotel next door. When we did finally stay in Hotel Kokoro, we found the staff very helpful, but unfortunately there was a mouse in our room, and then when my sister (who is not very large) sat on one of the beds, it broke! Overall, the hotel was clean and the accommodations were fine. I think we just had some bad luck.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank caleigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews