We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Grounds and Views, Nice Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Grounds and Views, Nice Rooms”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Beautiful grounds and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were huge, with a great view of the volcano. We stayed in 208 which was perfect, very private with our patio facing beautiful grounds. Try to get a room with the patio away from the drive if you want more privacy. (Like 208). Rooms lacked storage for clothes (small closet and very few drawers) but otherwise it was ideal. Pool area was awesome -- so beautiful and pleasant. One pool is hot which is great for evenings. Only complaint was the restaurant was quite expensive for dinner and not all that good (with tip and tax expect $20 to $35 per person). Not bad, but not worth the money. Go into Fortuna for better food at better prices.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the patio away from the drive if you want more privacy. The back half of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    499
    98
    21
    11
See reviews for
532
775
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I believe each villa has a view of the Volcano. Ours is further back (closer to the farm and cows) so it is a much nicer view than those below (in my opinion) on the other hand, we are further away from the Hot springs. But still close to the swimming pool and the restaurant (walking distance) Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Has a fridge, coffee maker, AC, and hair dryer. Huge patio doors and a nice enclosed patio (by plants) And that super view of the volcano! All 5 of us (in 3 different room) said WOW,everyone loves the views from their room and super comfortable. 2 thumbs up!!! Free wifi in rooms, front desk staff spoke Spanish and English!! Food in restaurant is very good, a tad price, supper is around 16-$25 per meal! Breakfast is included in your price. We are all very happy

Room Tip: Ask for the best view of the Volcano, which is probably in the 200 room # range. Ur close to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flames9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the Arenal Manoa from 2-10-12 to 02-17-12. What a wonderful, beautiful place! The grounds are stunning and the view of Arenal Volcano is fabulous. The employees are extremely friendly and helpful. I agree that "some" of the restaraunt employees aren't quite as friendly as everyone else but I don't think they were actually rude. The rooms are huge as is the bathroom. There is a small refridgerator that we stocked with snacks and sandwich stuff to have instead of eating in town or at the restaurant every night. The hot springs pool with swimup bar was so refreshing as was the pool and hot tub by the restaurant. There is a lot to do in this area of Costa Rica. The skytram, zip-line and hanging bridges are fantastic. We saw many monkeys, snakes, turtles, alligators, a sloth and birds. I would definately recommend this resort and would stay here again. I can't say enough about the employees here....friendly, friendly, friendly! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Rooms 205 - 212 have awesome views of Arenal Volcano from the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LivinLife100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

StYed there for 4 days, 3 nights as part of a Groupon package that included meals. Although this included buffet meals only, the food was excellent. The restaurant is open air, spacious and overlooks a small lagoon with birds everywhere. Great service.
Since the resort is so spread out, I would suggest getting a room close to restaurant and/or pool as it is a hike. They have shuttle service that is very good, but a pain.
I would have liked going into town (Fortuna) but it cost $15 each way by cab for about a 5 minute ride. Would be nice is hotel offered a shuttle. But that's what keeps you there and eating their meals, which are a bit pricey.
The entire area offers many fun excursions. We saved a lot by booking package deal.

Room Tip: Near restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubadiva2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex Center, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Bungalow-style rooms in pairs of two. (You will hear your neighbors)! The rooms are very nice, clean, beautiful showers and an incredible view of the volcano with your own private patio. Everything here is perfectly manicured. The gardens are immaculate, and lots of tropical birds visit all day long. It almost had a pre-manufactured Disney World feel, with huge busloads of geriatric tourists being dropped off for their night's stay while on a tour. For some people, that is exactly what they are looking for. But if you are hoping to really discover Costa Rica and its people and culture, this is not the place to do it. If you want an upscale hotel at a reasonable price, this is it.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the back of the property have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMSVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We did stay here a few days ago and must say the price/value proposition is good.

Check in was perfectly executed, great individual experience with all the information you may require for a pleasant stay, equally well was the check out however maybe one person more at the reception would make the trick.

The cocktails offered at the pool bar were excellent and well priced, breakfast was good other meals we were not able to enjoy since we only stayed for one night and came in late.

The farm tour is something special and a must experience if you never came across of such kind of experience.

Rooms are large however do miss some more amenities, it would help to have a larger size of TV, better air-condition function and a nicer place to enjoy some meals. Bed were good and bathroom was well equipped however missed a bath tube. The room setting we considered the as the less attractive of our experience, with a little push such could easily improved.

The road to get there could easily enjoy a make over, other then that a great location.

All in all nice place to stay if you are not looking for Luxury!

Friendly employees needs to be mentioned, every one we did meet did show the extra effort to make a long lasting impression.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetroterAmericas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Pleasantly surprised by a spacious, luxurious room with a priceless view of Arenal Volcano. Excellent air conditioning. Open air shower felt like you were showering outside. Good, hearty buffet breakfast included with your stay accompanied by another great view of a lake to enjoy with your indoor/outdoor eating experience. Property is enormous but shuttle service can easily be called and arrives within minutes. We were fortunate to be in walking distance to the restaurant and pool.

A few negatives:
- I found the restaurant service to be a bit unfriendly. On our first night we went to the restaurant for dinner. We were abruptly asked if we had a reservation and were questioned whether we were truly hotel guests. We look young for our age but are working professionals who are completely capable of paying for a meal. Plus the restaurant had plenty of open seats and the food was not even that great. This service continued during breakfast where instead of a "good morning", we were abruptly greeted with "what's your room number" so that they could mark it off their list. Perhaps it's a translation issue?

- The road to the hotel is long and unpaved. Don't let that discourage you for what lies ahead. But at the same time, it's too far to walk to La Fortuna downtown and if you don't want to take a taxi, then you're held captive to the hotel's restaurant which for us wasn't the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachsuntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,736 reviews
2.0 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,176 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,302 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,797 reviews
5.7 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing