We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We booked this hotel and paid in advance, however, after arriving for check-in were told that they did not have room for us. They had a bus of 20+ arriving and they wanted to make room for all of the tour bus. Therefore, they to move my family to a different hotel "that was similar quality and price". When I stated that I had already paid to stay at this hotel they said that they had already booked us at a hotel down the street and would cover any difference in price. They stated over and over again that the hotel was the same price and quality. After hearing the name of the hotel I knew the hotel that they were sending us to was not the same price. After a long conversion and asking to speak with a manager they admitted that the hotel was cheaper and that they would refund us our money. It worked out to be a $50 difference in price that they didn't have any intention of giving us back. At that time, they offered us to come back that evening for a free supper. At this point, we went to the other hotel down the road which was not the same quality and was rather disappointing. When we returned to Mountain Paradise that evening for our free dinner that they offered they said that the dinner would not be free anymore since they gave us back the $50. It was only free if they kept our money! What??? This whole experience was very disappointing. I researched many different hotels and was really excited to stay here. You should not bump confirmed and paid customers because you have the opportunity to make more money from a tour bus. They also had my contact information and didn't contact me before hand. At least if we knew before we arrived we could have selected our own alternative hotel. Also, we were not the only ones to get bumped from this hotel. We met another family at the other hotel that were also bumped from Mountain Paradise who did not get the difference in cost refunded to them. To me it seems like a bit of a scheme. We will not be booking here again. :(

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank klf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    318
    124
    37
    36
See reviews for
316
668
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a lovely location with a great view of the Arenal volcano. The restaurant had excellent food. The grounds were lovely and the pool was clean and inviting. Our "casa" was charming. The tours the hotel provided were great and the hotel staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I found this place to be okay, but after staying in some other properties in other areas of Costa Rica (the Korrigan Lodge on the Caribbean side and the Cristal Azul Property on the Nicoya peninsula) I definitely rate this place as average, maybe 3.5 stars. Our room was huge (almost unnecessarily so) and we paid extra for a suite that faced the volcano. It was odd that what could be an amazing view was totally overgrown with flora (not in a messy way, but definitely obscured what could be a great view). The jacuzzi was small and dirty (bugs in it) we did not even remotely consider going into it. The waterfall shower was definitely fun, but be warned it also makes a pretty sizable mess. The property itself is very well maintained and is nice to walk through. It was nice to get a welcome drink upon arrival, but I'm fairly certain that it had no alcohol in it. The morning breakfast included in the rate is a giant American style type breakfast which is nice. I have to also say that I got sick from my dinner in their restaurant (seafood penne) - I woke up in the middle of the night in a world of hurt. We only stayed one night, which was enough for us. Decent for an overnight stop, but I wouldn't recommend for much more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boots123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Three couples spent Valentines here. The grounds are beautiful, the villas are private, the staff are friendly. We spent the afternoon in the hot water pool drinking good cocktails with a great view of Arenal. Loved the waterfall shower and the rain shower. Beds were good, room was large, a little dark and they could toss the silk accents in my opinion, but that's minor. We had a really nice dinner and a good breakfast in the restaurant. Can't really go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: We didn't specify and we all liked our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwendola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

When we arrive at the hotel we walked on the site and we were amazed by the beauty of it. Each room are separated as little cottage... 2 juniors suite make a "cottage" and each premium suite are alone and have a small pool. Juniors suite have a small spa. We had two junior suite for the three of us so we shared the same building. The first room include one queen and a twin bed. The other had a king and a queen with a huge sony TV.. nice but I didn't had a chance to use it. The view from the second room wasn't that great because plants was in front of the patio door.. I don't thing the majority of the room are like that.. also the weather wasn't cooperating, not a big deal. The bathroom is amazing! the natural shower is really nice and there is also another normal shower if you don't like the natural shower with real living plants!

On site there is plenty of flowers and tree and many walkways. There are many birds including humming birds. There is also a hot pool (it's not a real hot spring) called the wet bar.. drinks are not to expensive there compare two drinks in Tortuguero at pachira lodge.

We had dinner at the restaurant and it was very good but a bit expensive but not that much.

The little problem we had:
-safe in room2 was closed... unable to open it
-safe in room1 was open.. we configured the pin.. closed but after that LOW BATTERY! by chance we tried it before putting stuff inside.
-the drain plug in the spa at room2 was stuck after filling it..not a big deal since we were there for a night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank François G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We join many other reviewers opinion, that this hotel is marvelous. The waterfall shower (in additions the regular one), the outside jacuzzi facing the moutain, the privacy of each room, the flowers & birds all over the place...
It'a a pity the the Arenal volcano stopped it's activity last year, so one dosen't see anymore red lights at nightime... If it resumes it's action, we certainly would like to visit that hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daninet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Wonderful place totally amazing. When we arrived at night we were taken to our room via golf buggy after having a cooling drink in reception. Our room was fabulous the first thing that hit us was the view of the bathroom, it had a power shower and a waterfall shower the bedroom was lovely also with a hot tub on the porch and the view .... well just look at the photo how can you beat that a view of Arenal Volcano! The dining room overlooked this view also we only had one evening meal and a breakfast there as we were touring however the food we had was lovely and sitting under the canopy surrounded by exotic flowers was beautiful couldn't fault it. I just wished we could have stayed another day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,855 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,491 reviews
0.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,401 reviews
1.7 km away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing