We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RWilf
Glendale, California
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I wish words like "amazing", "brilliant", "perfect", and "wonderful" could actually cover what I feel about this place. I came here with my family (sisters, brother-in-laws, mother, etc.) and my husband for a little over a week. We were a big group with kids in it...so you could imagine what a catastrophe that could be. Not at all. Simply because of Paul (the owner) and his family. He arranged breakfast every morning... and even some lunch and dinners. 10 different people... all wanting different food. *sigh* But it was no big deal. He accommodated us. He prepared an itinerary for our ENTIRE trip and provided transportation for us. We went on some of the best adventures simply because Paul knows what he's doing and knows what places to go. We learned so much about the area, the animals, the people and the culture just from our conversations with him. All of my future trips are going to be compared to this one.

The property itself? Breathtaking. It's a home away from home. Except it's actually better than my home so maybe I'm reaching with that. :) We hung out outside most of the time for the pool, the bbq and the great surroundings. It really shows how much work and love Paul and his family put into this place. Rosie (Paul's wife) cleaned our place everyday, provided us with fresh, clean towels and re-stocked everything we needed. I felt like a celebrity with the royal treatment I was getting. Being here, with Paul and his family, was so much better than any hotel we were going to stay at. You just don't get the same thing at a hotel. Not even close.

Thank you to Paul and his family for a wonderful vacation that I will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The first class treatment!
Liked least: Nothing! Everything was amazing. Not one complaint!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11Rebecca...
Downtown Pomona, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I normally do not write reviews, but Paul and his Hospitality was out of this world!
The house is like being at home... Comfy, stylish and suave! The excursions were laboriously fun and a life time of experience's I would not have missed!
The breakfast were light, tasty and delightful we took pictures to share with the world of Facebook!!! Paul, Thank you for these memories in our life's that will last forever!
It was well worth every cent!
You're the Bomb!
The Eyermann,Spry,Davis,Wilf Clan.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite stay in Costa Rica!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There are so many wonderful things to say about our stay at Casa Cielo that I could probably write a book. I was traveling with my husband, daughter (14) and in-laws. First off, I want to thank Paul, his wife Rosie and his father Bill for making our stay a wonderful memory that will last a lifetime. The house and grounds were beautiful, private, clean and comfortable. We were concerned about not having A/C, but we were out most days and the nights cooled off and the ceiling fans were enough. Paul and his family live next door (behind a gated wall and lush vegetation) to this beautiful bed & breakfast they own and act as concierge. They can arrange guides for hikes, book activities if you want and besides the continental breakfast they serve every morning- they have a menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner you can order from at a very reasonable price. If you don't eat at least a couple meals there- you are truly missing out!!! We ate there often, because who wants to end a hike and feel yucky heading into a restaurant. We would come back from an exhausting day of adventure, clean up and come out to the large covered dining area next to the pool for an AMAZING meal - Rosie, you spoiled us!!! Every meal the 5 of us had (and we all ordered different things) was incredible! We are typically a private group, but found ourselves looking for Paul and his family to come over and talk with us- we learned so much about the area from them and they are delightful people. The abundant birds that visited the yard were a beautiful sight as we ate breakfast every day. I can't imagine anyone not absolutely loving their stay at Casa Cielo- we did, and if we ever come back we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! And if you do come visit- I recommend the zip lines at Sky Trek (they're 650' high!) and a tour of Venado Caves. We also enjoyed the Eco Zoo & Serpentarium in El Castillo near the Arenal National Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!! Well, maybe Rosie's cooking most :)
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dheidenii...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever!”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at Casa Cielo. It is close enough to all of the fun yet blissfully peaceful. Paul was ever so helpful in arranging fabulous day outings and Rosie is an amazing cook so save yourself the trouble of finding a decent restaurant and get the best meal around. Her ceviche is the best of any we had during our stay. I have never felt so welcomed and pampered at a vacation rental!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreeBSR
Hiroshima, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Ideal host and accommodation- Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed February 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I highly recommend Paul as an ideal host and can now call him a good friend. Casa Cielo was recommended to me last minute as my previous accommodation had been overbooked. Not only was Casa Cielo more than I could have asked for, but Paul personally accommodated any and every need we had. I hadn’t expected to meet such a lovely family and stay in such a beautiful and authentic home with luxurious accessories. While the pictures speak for themselves, it was the personal touches that made this stay special. Homemade jams, cakes and treats were shared with us, rides into town were offered, and information about local tours and culture was provided. Paul’s family lives in the next lot and are accessible at any hour. The surrounding area is lush and provides a real, Costa Rican experience, rather than a stay in La Fortuna or surrounding cities. Horseback riding, hiking, waterfall repelling, bird watching, hot spring relaxing, and farm visiting are all accessible in this area. The house is kept perfectly clean and offers and incredible view of the Arenal volcano. As a world traveler, I often stay in nice accommodations, but Paul’s down-to-earth and generous nature made this experience memorable. Thanks for everything, Paul. I’ll definitely be back and look forward to spending more time with you and your family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Provided breakfast and treats
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidinFC...
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beauty, comfort, and care”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house sits, surrounded by green, perched on a ridge overlooking Arenal. The view from the 2nd floor sitting room (complete with bar) across the valley is exquisite. Breakfast by the pool is interrupted by flocks of parakeets fighting over fruit and visits by a dozen (more?) other kinds of birds.

But it isn't just the natural beauty - the house, Casa Cielo itself, is a work of art. It features hand-made wood furniture, polished concrete counters, a one-of-a-kind pizza oven (check the picture), and thoughtful lighting throughout.

We were a two-family group of 9, including 5 teenagers who took over the top floor. We were joined by another family for a couple of dinners. We all loved our visit with Paul, Rosie, and their kids. The house was great. We enjoyed dinners prepared by Paul & Rosie as well as breakfast every morning. They also gave good guidance on activities and adventures.

We spent time at The Springs Resort on a 2-day-pass, dined in La Fortuna, hiked in the cloud forest, and sipped cocktails by the pool.

A great time and highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SidneyLA
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Costa Rica Casa Away from Home”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our four night stay at Casa Cielo was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. The house is brand new, clean, very spacious for our family of four, and offers spectacular views of the Arenal Volcano and surrounding countryside. The best part of our stay was our gracious host family, Paul and Rosibel, who are wonderful company and made us feel right at home. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable, including delicious breakfasts by the swimming pool and two marvelous dinners, one of which was a multi-course feast on Christmas Eve. Paul can arrange tours, and the guides we had were very personable and knowledgeable about the wildlife, birds and plants that we encountered. We have travelled to many places and our stay at Casa Cielo is one of our highlights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfasts and dinners prepared by our hosts, great upstairs view of volcano, spaciousness of house
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing