We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organized full service company”

Desafio Adventure Company
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.00*
and up
Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Costa Rica Gravity Falls Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Canyoning in the Lost Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Desafio Adventure Company is considered the top tour outfitter in Costa Rica's Epicenter of Adventure near the Arenal Volcano. Desafio offers high-quality rafting tours, canyoning, biking, hiking, birdwatching, kayaking, stand up paddling, transfer with tour services, incentive programs, volunteer opportunities and much more. There are only two rules to follow with Desafio: 1) Be Safe and 2) Have Serious Fun! Look for Desafio in Downtown La Fortuna near the Arenal Volcano or take the Desafio Adventure Connections to the Monteverde, Guanacaste, San Jose, Manuel Antonio and Playa Samara! Desafio is family-owned and operated and your "one-stop-shop" for adventure travel in Costa Rica and beyond!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well organized full service company”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I went on 4 different tours with this company: canyoneering, white water rafting (Mambo Combo), canopy walk and volcano walk and Los Lagos thermal pools and dinner. All were well organized with knowagable and entertaining guides. I enjoyed the Mambo Combo especially the canyoneering and I was a very hesitant customer as am a bit afraid of heights. The guides were reassuring and equipment looked top notch so safety was never a real concern. Thre were several surprizes en route and we went with a small group of 5 people. There was even a tasty Costa Rican breakfast served afterward. You will get very wet!! The pick ups were punctual and all trips included what was described and usually more! There services are well worth the money and you will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,938
    239
    54
    28
    30
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Canyoneering was Fantastic Family Fun!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our family of five had an absolute blast on the canyoneering tour in La Fortuna. Our guides were excellent & entertaining, the waterfalls and surrounding area were gorgeous, and the rapelling was just plain fun! We would HIGHLY recommend the trip & the company. Desafio will be our tour company of choice for planning adventures on our next trip to Costa Rica.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaineMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thrill of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The waterfall repelling was by far the best adventure my husband and I have ever experienced! The staff was extremly professional, knowledable and friendly. I must admit I was a bit nervous but after repelling one waterfall, you get the hang of it and its such a rush. My husband and I can't wait to return and do this again. We HIGHLY reccomend Desafio!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonileet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Desafio is the best!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We recently used them in la Fortuna for a white water raft trip. They picked us up at our hotel, and transported us to the river. The water level was low, and we spent some time waiting for the level to rise, so we could get started. They apparently open floodgates at around 9:00, so the trip is timed to take advantage of the rise in the water level. ,While we were still on shore, they fitted us with safety equipment and covered the commands , so we'd know what to do on the river.
While the water was still pretty low, (its the dry season) it was a fun and challenging day, ending at a nice late "typical" lunch , with optional beer available. We all had a terrific day, and at a reasonable price! They returned us to our hotel at the end of the day where we had a nice and well deserved soak in the hot springs!
Wear sturdy water shoes, as there is some uphill hiking at the end of the run, and the underwater rocks were slick. The guides were really safety conscious, and helpful!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cinder53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex Center, Vermont, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DO IT!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

On a ten-day adventure tour of Costa Rica for our honeymoon, we went canyoning with Desafio in La Fortuna. It was awesome!!! The guides were professional, courteous, and hilarious! The route we took was so beautiful and thrilling. I wish we had done a couple more of the adventures that Desafio offers, we had so much fun. My cheeks hurt at the end from smiling.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LMSVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desafio Adventure Company also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Desafio Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing