We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel away from the crowds.”
Review of Tifakara

Tifakara
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our international restaurant is renowned for the quality and presentation of its dishes. Our specialties are steaks and fresh fish; along with a variety of salads, creams and desserts. Our goal is to offer our visitors a gastronomic experience of harmony, freshness and contemplation.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I wanted to stay in a location that wasn't too busy and crowded with tourist, thankfully we stumbled upon a hidden gem, Tifakara.

The hotel is about a 8-10 min drive from La Fortuna, but was perfectly situated in the forest and you truly feel immersed in nature. The bungalow we stayed in was the perfect size for a couple and we always looked forward to coming back to it after a day of adventure.

The hotel staff was also very friendly and accommodating, it was easy to feel comfortable and at home here. The food is also delicious! Esteban also makes great cocktails, ask for his "secrets"!

Overall, we absolutely loved our stay and would highly recommend it to couple's looking to get away from the crowds and feel real Costa Rica hospitality.

Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abie G, Propietario at Tifakara, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Dear Mario! thank you very much for your amazing review! I´m really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Tifakara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful and confortable place, there”s a nice, clean , cozy restaurant with excellent service and food.

Thank Silvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abie G, Manager at Tifakara, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thank you for your review! we are glad that you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

The new cabins were really nice with an outdoor shower under the canopy of the rainforest. The staff was friendly. Unlike the old photos shown, there is NO longer a restaurant on site. They will order for you to be delivered, however, it is extremely inconvenient and due to the more remote location, you are unable to walk anywhere to eat on your own. They were doing work on the grounds which caused the power to my cabin to be out for 25 minutes after sunset making it extremely dark on the property and in my room (I was traveling solo). Overall made for a poor experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dyanmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abie G, Gerente at Tifakara, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thank you for your comment. On saturday we reopened the restaurant. Sorry for the inconvenciences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful botique hotel, the staff really made the place 5+ they are so kind and helpful. 5 minutes drive to one of the best waterfalls in Costa Rica. Great breakfast, awesome pool and hot tub.

Beautiful rooms, outdoor rain showers, soooooo awesome, great water presure, nice lotions, shampoo & conditioners. Highly recommend, wish we could stay longer.

Thank lizziesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abie G, Propietario at Tifakara, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear Elizabeth! thank you very much for the review! we are very glad that you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Great food Great location Great service
Nice friendly staff
We had a wonderful time! Nice excursions etc

Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tifakara also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tifakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing