We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,556)
Filter reviews
1,556 results
Traveller rating
952
493
86
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
493
86
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arenal volcano costa rica hot tubs are chocolate tour beautiful grounds pool bar nature trail close to la fortuna beautiful hotel hotel restaurant omelette station zip lining great pool couples massage rooms are nice mini fridge taxi ride
Filter
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 1,556 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2015

This was a long overdue trip for just my daughter (age 23) and me (age 53). Kinda tough to find a couples package that isn't romantically themed. The hotel was a part of a groupon from EcoTerra. Everything about the trip was amazing. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. A HUGE SHOUT OUT to Brian; bartender, pool boy, waiter extraordinaire! The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Although we did have a little problem with the hot water on day one, and it never got REALLY hot, but I was ok that. We both had the Luna Spa package and it was incredible. My only suggestion with that would be for them to stagger the showering off portion. I think it is intended as one of those "couples" things. Anyway, the grounds are beautiful, the pool is clean, OH and I almost forgot! The food was amazing! If I understood correctly they have just hired a 4 star chef and he did not disappoint. I would like to make a recommendation, but it would end up being the entire menu.
Improvement Suggestion: More places to hang clothes in the room. It rained for 2 days and our clothes were soaked through. With the tropical air, it was tough to get things to dry out.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2015

Dear guest,

We are please to read your great positive feedback. We feel happy to know that we were part of your package and that we reached your expectations. We are glad you have mentioned the guest service obtained from Brian, I will make sure to let him know about your comment. We value your opinions on what could be improved and we are sorry for that little problem with the hot water, we have solar panels and that makes the process a little bit slower. Thank you so much for your recommendation about the food at the restaurant. It's always so nice to hear such great things and it helps us to keep a good quality in our dishes.

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.
We would love to serve you again in the near future!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2015

I stayed at Casa Luna 13Feb15 to 16Feb15. I really enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. You really feel like you are in the rain forest with all the beautiful plants and flowers. As mentioned below, the food is really overpriced but the presentation is nice and it is tasty! There is a happy hour daily that offers two for one drinks but my recommendation would be to head into La Fortuna (a tiny town about 5 minutes driving). There are cute restaurants, not much to do but chill out. Back to Casa Luna, I also did the honeymoon spa package and thought it was amazing. Ester was my masseuse and she was great. The spa was open and you can hear nature sounds and they'll even play some soft relaxing music. I thoroughly recommend doing this! Only reason i really gave this hotel "Very Good" and not "Excellent" was because I did think that there should be more to do at the hotel. Maybe some board games or a place with a pool table or something so at least there is some entertainment at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about the hotel, your comments are very much valued. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we really like to read that our guests feel captured in the rainforest, we take care of the surroundings and gardens in order to keep a real scenery of what Costa Rica is, all green. Concerning the entertainment games, we dont have pool table or other games like that, because we want to offer the guests the opportunity to enjoy more of the nature, quietness and other things around, however we offer some board games as cards, domino and chess at the bar so you can fun while you are enjoying the happy hour, we appreciate your recommendation. In regards to the restaurant,the prices are according with the food quality but we will consider your suggestion and, for the most part, we perceived that we met your expectations, according with the description you did about the spa treatment and the relaxing time at the hotel.

Thank you so much,
We are looking forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel and spa. The rooms were comfy and the spa deals are good. I got the Luna Spa package and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds are beautiful. The food and bar is overpriced but the food is tasty. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. It's also very close to Cerro Chato hike if that's in the plans.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank katiepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about the hotel but over all we are happy to know that you spent a good time in the room, with the spa deals and the different services as pool bar and restaurant.

We are very thankful for your feedback, the more, the better.
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

Loved our stay at Casa Luna. Clean, spacious room with awesome volcano views from the balcony. Staff were very friendly and attentive and pool/grounds were beautiful. Great location with $5 taxi ride to town and 30 minute walk to the waterfall. The hot water is shared by 4 units so make sure to shower in the morning because we found there was no hot water later in the day. Overall, great hotel and highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive comment. Our staff members are always making sure to offer a top notch service to our guests because you are our main interest. We are also pleased to read that you loved your stay. We appreciate your opinion and we are grateful for recommend us.

We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2015

We booked our trip to La Fortuna using the Groupon deal with Ecoterra as well, and had the most wonderful experience with Casa Luna! Staff was welcoming, friendly, and very helpful with booking excursions, even last minute. All the excursions booked with Ecoterra through the hotel included shuttles to and from destinations which was really convenient. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with tons foliage and paths to enjoy the gardens. We saw sooo many kinds of birds, even toucans, right from our hotel balcony along with a view of the volcano. They have a small trail at the back of the hotel that follows along a creek which was a really nice way to explore the wildlife on your own.

We enjoyed an amazing outdoor massage at the spa. Breakfast was included every morning; nothing over the top but they did have an omelet bar everyday. Our room was very clean. Never really had any bug problems. A/C, plumbing, etc worked just fine. Wifi was spotty at times; no big deal to us but if you rely heavily on internet it may be an issue. The hotel was a quick 5 min, $4 cab ride to town and close proximety to La Fortuna waterfall and other destinations.

Overall, we really enjoyed our experience at Casa Luna and would definitely return someday!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JennRN217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us. We are more than happy to read that you were very welcoming in the hotel, we strive by providing that warmth. We feel very pleased to know that Ecoterra Tours provided a good service and reached your expectations. It was nice to read that you enjoyed the surroundings as the garden, trail and birds, also we love to know that our spa services are amazing for our clients as well as the food at the restaurant and the comfort in the room. We hope to see you soon!

We are very thankful for your feedback, the more, the better.
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews