We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out the way gem of a restauran”

El Gran Abuelo Parrillada y Restaurante
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Description: EL GRAN ABUELO IS TEMPORARY. We are working on a new restaurant concept that will surprise you and delight you even more. We are sure you will like it. See you soon! Thank you so much!
Restaurant details
Description: EL GRAN ABUELO IS TEMPORARY. We are working on a new restaurant concept that will surprise you and delight you even more. We are sure you will like it. See you soon! Thank you so much!
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

My good friend Erick Zelaya recommended this / restaurant and it was great. They have a nice menu and I ordered the beef tenderloin with a raspberry sauce. It was thick and tasty but not sweet. Very happy with the meal.

Every member had different items and all were happy. They have some craft beers I have seen at other places.

The service by the staff was outstanding, I recommend this place for good meal and great service.

Thank Eeeeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel T, Propietario at El Gran Abuelo Parrillada y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Hello. Thank you very much for your great review. We are also very grateful for your kind recommendation. We hope to host you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2016

We were staying out of the town, and this was the closest restaurant to our lodging. We ate here twice during our stay.

We loved the feeling like one is eating out doors. The restaurant is impeccably clean which is a big plus in our book. Service was attentive and the staff is very friendly.

We found the prices to be comparable to what one finds throughout Costa Rica. Don't miss the virgin drinks; the Virgin Pina Colada is fantastic. The first night we enjoyed the combination plate which adequately fed the 3 of us. Some of the items on the dish were better than others, but over all the plate was quite good. The next visit we tried the pizza. The pizza comes out of the brick oven piping hot and it is light and tasty.

We highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luv2trvlRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel T, Propietario at El Gran Abuelo Parrillada y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Hi luv2trvlRedondoBeach We really appreciate your comment, thanks for recommending us, please do not miss the pizza it is one of our best dishes in the menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016

The service was wonderful but the food was at best mediocre, particularly for the price. We so looked forward to the visit based on the recommendations on tripadvisor. We ordered the parillada combo plate: pork, chicken, beef and sausage (plate for 3). We were the first one's on site for dinner at 5:00pm and received reheated meat, that was lukewarm and not freshly grilled. For the cost, I would not recommend this, particularly if you appreciate fresh grilled foods.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GlobeTrotterGirlinFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel T, Propietario at El Gran Abuelo Parrillada y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

GlobeTrotterGirlinFl we are sorry you did not get the food you wanted and deserve . We will review with our staff and find out what happened, and make sure they always follow our customer satisfaction policy. One thing is for sure is we Do Not Reheat any of our meals and never our meats which are excellent quality and fresh. It Is Our Policy to change any meat cut if it is not of your please. If you do not like it tell us and we will make it right for you. We are surprise to read your comment and find out that you did not tell our waitress about your problem with the meat, specially if say you had such great service and he or she must of have ask you how the food was. We invite you to please come back and to know that we work really hard to be the best of the best but if we make any mistake that is a problem for you let us know right away and we will deal with it inmediately. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile

Fresh!! Clean!! Yummy!! 7 of us, kids& adults had a great dinner last night,
Amazing pizza and amazing steaks ( we had the rib eye)
If you are spoiled like us and appreciate a good meal, that's the place for you..
Enjoy!

Thank Mayay1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel T, Propietario at El Gran Abuelo Parrillada y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2016

Thanks Mayay1212, your comment is the answer the question, how are we doing everything?. It means we are in the right way. And we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2016

If you are looking for a good lunch or dinner close to La Fortuna, El Gran Abuelo is absolutely the right choice. Although you have to drive approx 15 min from La Fortuna, the food is worth it. In addition the service is kind, polite and quick. We took the plate for two (lomo) and it was amazing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SasaDiStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel T, Propietario at El Gran Abuelo Parrillada y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Hi SasaDiSthefano, thanks for commenting and for letting us to know your perception about the food, the tri tip is our best dish and is good to know how much you liked it... Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gran Abuelo Parrillada y Restaurante also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to El Gran Abuelo Parrillada y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing