We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,645)
Filter reviews
3,645 results
Traveller rating
3,312
271
46
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,312
271
46
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar outdoor shower our honeymoon casita deluxe sushi restaurant costa rica arenal volcano amor loco altamira restaurant granola bars main restaurant private deck golf cart wine pairing dinner swim up bar zip lining rose petals
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 3,645 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Visited during a period of some rainy days, but it was still an excellent visit. Andrew, Cristina and the rest of the front desk were fantastic in their care.

Alonso and Alexa at the Altimara restaurant were excellent. Alonso was always smiling and also worked at the coffee bar and remembered us every time we encountered him. Maureen made the best huevos rancheros for breakfast that accompanied the fruits and daily changing selection of items such as chicken tamales, hash browns, oatmeal and the ever present beans and rice.

We were also able to experience the wine pairing at the Nostolgia wine bar. A pricey, but excellent experience.that won’t disappoint. We had tapas another night and discovered that we could order from the Asia Luna and Altamira menus as well.
The ENO wine bar allows you to sample many wines in a serve yourself fashion.

Luna Asia was an Asian influenced restaurant that had very good sushi rolls and curry.

During some of the down pours, the waiters would call for complementary transport back to your casita. That saved us from a wet return walking back.

We had an outstanding view of the Arenal Volcano from our balcony and from the Altamira restaurant.

The housekeepers were very good and accommodating. We did learn the Spanish word for ice. You might want to do the same.

Hope to go Back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank twvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear twvaughan,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a great review of our hotel. We've always thought that it's a good sign when our guests remember the staff by name when they leave, it usually means that we were able to leave a lasting impression and that made your time with us even more memorable and special. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you liked the restaurants, the wine pairing dinner and the view from your room. It was wonderful to host your vacation and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is truest a gem. We came here during rainy season but the mornings are usually dry and the afternoons can be spent enjoying this beautiful hotel. Rooms are immaculate and the service is amazing. They are very accommodating and here to help with all your needs.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paolo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Paolo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review. We're so glad that you thought the hotel was beautiful, the rooms were immaculate and the service amazing. It always is nice to hear that we were able to exceed our guests expectations as it is our goal to make sure our guests are able to relax, indulge and forget their busy schedules for a few days. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The room we had was huge. We had the rainforest room. 1/2 the room is the bedroom and the other half is dedicated to indoor shower, outdoor shower and washroom. On the balcony you had huge space with a jacuzzi. Loved the Jacuzzi and used it twice. Thought they would have hot springs but there are none on the facility. They do have I believe a Jacuzzi that has thermal water down at the bottom of the ravine but never made it there. Dinner was in an incredible restaurant with music by someone playing the violin and the guitar. The steak was marginal and seemed more like Lomo than a New York steak. Personally Hotel was fantastic but for me I would prefer to stay at a hotel that offers hot springs for the price.

Room Tip: We had Rainforest Room - Excellent and Huge!!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Roger,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're so glad that you thought the hotel was amazing, that the room was spacious and comfortable, the dinner was incredible and that you really enjoyed the live music at the restaurant. We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed we didn't have hot springs at the hotel, we hope that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities that we do have and that you think of us when planning your next trip to Costa Rica.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We have been to this area before and loved it so much we wanted to come back. This time we really just took time to relax having done the hanging bridges (high recommend) and zip lined last time. The entire resort was immaculate and the bungalows were so gorgeous and extremely clean. I admit that I am extremely particular when it comes to cleaning and I would have been hard pressed to find one single thing out of place at this resort, especially in the rooms. The staff was truly what made this trip so special. We were sad to leave the wonderful people that we met there. I feel like it was a true blessing to have able to spend time with Lupe, Junior, Geison, Fernando, and Alejandro and this is just to name a few. I could go on and on about the staff......I would recommend trying all of the restaurants on the property. We had the best experiences at all of them and the food is all delicious! Don't forget to walk on the nature trails!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-30 have more gentle paths, the newer rooms have steep access paths.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTCRMANAGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear MTCRMANAGER,

We really appreciate your kind review. We're so glad that you were able to take some time off and just relax during your trip. We are also very particulate about the cleanliness of the resort, and that's the reason we always make sure that all spaces are kept immaculate for all of our guests. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Nayara and that you really appreciated having spent time with the staff: Lupe, Jeison, Junior, Fernando y Alejandro will be very happy to hear that they helped make your vacation even more memorable. We can't thank you enough for your wonderful review, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018

My boyfriend, my sister and I really enjoy our time at Nayara resort. Very luxurious decor in lush resort ground. Beautiful swimming pool and abundant wildlife. I saw sloths and parrots and Tucans while I was there. Such remarkable setting. The staff are awesome too! Best New Year celebration ever (NYE2018). If you visit La Fortuna, you must stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank korbuas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear Korbuas1,

Thank you so much for deciding to spend an amazing holiday with us. We really appreciate your wonderful review, we're glad that you, your boyfriend and sister decided to spend New Year's with us and had an unforgettable vacation. Thank you for letting us know that you thought the resort was luxurious, the swimming pool beautiful and the wildlife fun and exciting. We're especially grateful for your kind remarks about our staff. It was wonderful to have you, please visit us again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews