We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, great vibes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howler Monkey Hostel
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The hostel is about 30 min walk from town. It's an amazing place, open plan with a slide from the hostel down to the pool! The owner is really helpful and chilled, they also had a puppy called Monkey who is so cute!

Only spent 1 night but would definitely recommend to anybody looking for a laid-back environment.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

I planned to stay in La Fortuna for 1 night and ended up staying 4 purely because of howler monkey hostel.

Howler monkey is in a beautiful secluded location - although it’s out of town its near the waterfall and very easy to get to places from there. The hostel is epic - pros include a slide from the hostel which goes straight into the swimming pool, the cutest puppy ever, monkey and a good kitchen.

Above all hostel owner Edison really made our time there - he will go out of his way to help you and even made us the breakfast and dinner.

100% stay here if you visit La Fortuna!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Rachel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

The hostel is pretty far away by feet from The City Center. We had a car so we didn't care. In The kitchen there were ants everywhere. In The sleeping room the fan from The living room made vibrating annoying noises. We asked if we can shut it off But He needed some fresh air while watching tv. All in all it is a cheap place to stay and okay!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Steffi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

I visited La Fortuna (for a second time) with some friends who were all looking for an inexpensive option for lodging with the assumption most of our time would be spent outside exploring. While this was the case, we ended up spending much more time in the hostel for a few reasons. First one being the great atmosphere of the hostel, the owner Edison is awesome and very knowledgeable about the area. Another reason we stayed around was the access to the pool and an adorable brown lab puppy, Monkey. This location is further from downtown La Fortuna but on the same road on your way to the waterfall (so if that's big on your list, this is an easy place to wake up early and get there first!!)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SocioKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Although small, the hostel feels like home. The owner and friends are always there, and they even have a cute puppy (that bites a lot).

The location was perfect for us. It was out of town a ways, but a 10 minute walk got us to restaurants and El Salto rope swing swimming hole and a tough 30 minute walk got us to La Fortuna Waterfall. Tours generally pick you up at your place, so don't worry about distance.

The kitchen didn't seem the cleanest, but it was about standard for hostels. There wasn't much of an atmosphere- not many people there at the time of stay. The pool is attractive, but you probably won't spend the time to use it because you will be so tired and busy!

Things to note: they will willingly do your laundry, but will charge you $10 right before you leave. Book your tours through the hostel. We didn't, but they were really concerned that we booked elsewhere.

Overall, stay there.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank fortkevin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We had a great time at this hostel. It was clean and well kept. The location was excellent for our outdoor activities. I would recommend this hostel quite highly. There was no A/C, and fans could have been better, but otherwise a positive experience.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Henri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

So much fun at Howler Monkey. 1st off they got a new puppy named Monkey when we were there which was amazing. Edison is awesome and found us some great trips like rafting super cheap. The hostel is perfect for a group with a pool and waterslide and fun couches and hammocks to lounge in. Near downtown and next to a coffee farm where Matias will give you some great coffee and knowledge if you want to skip the tour.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 km away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#7 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
669 reviews
1.4 km away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#8 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
735 reviews
1.6 km away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#11 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Selina La Fortuna
Selina La Fortuna
#21 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
74 reviews
1.2 km away
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlif...
#2 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
267 reviews
6.8 km away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howler Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howler Monkey Hostel

Address: Diagonal Street 301 | 1 km South and 1 km West from Alamo Rentacar La Fortuna, San Carlos, Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $47 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howler Monkey Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a strategic area between the city and nature so you can feel free and enjoy the surrounding attractions. A completely different option created by backpackers for backpackers. We offer laundry service, communal kitchen, common area with TV, Netflix and The Pool :) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howler Monkey Hostel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing