We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Elliott L
San Diego, California

homey stay about an hour from the Poas Volcano...

Review of Jucáhuje Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 21, 2017
very affordable and a special homey stay...owners Juan and Carlos made an extra effort to provide vegetarian meals ... i needed to get an early start to reach the Poas Volcano before the clouds rolled in...original artwork and atmosphere...be sure to use waze or another gps app as the spot is off the beaten track...
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Humberto M, Gerente at Jucáhuje Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Jan 25, 2017
Muchas gracias, por su opinión, y mas por su visita y paso por nuestro, hotel.
Usted, pudo comprobar el esfuerzo, que estamos haciendo para poder hacer de este entorno mas hogareño como apunta usted, y a la vez lleno de creatividad, y arte. Siempre basándonos, en el reciclar, la reutilizar, recuperar.
Como dice muy bien. Un hotel fuera de lo común, que le hace diferente, y querido.
Nos falta mucho, por eso, estaríamos encantados de que cuando vuelva por Costa Rica nos tenga en cuenta. Y tendremos muy a mano el seguir cuidando le, incluso en sus gustos alimenticios y nutricionales vegetarianos. Un saludo de Juan Jesús y Carlos Humberto. Namaste.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
12.0 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tiny House Dreamcatcher
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$88
  • Booking.com
7.5 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$340
  • Booking.com
7.4 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$90
  • Expedia.com
    C$85
  • Tripadvisor
    C$85
  • Priceline
9.9 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.7 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guesthouse and pool completely surrounded by lush tropical display
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.4 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
4.8 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sarchi
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
22
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
22
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 24 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2016

It was a bit of a trick to find the hotel but worth the search. Juan Jesus and Carlos are truly artistic and wonderful hosts. Carlos speaks excellent English but I enjoyed practicing my Spanglish on the very patient Juan Jesus. Breakfast was delicious. We felt totally safe and right at home. I wholeheartedly recommend their home.

Room tip: All the rooms are pleasant.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Humberto M, Gerente at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016
Google Translation

Hola Estimada Linda, nos ha encantado tu comentario, y si siempre recuerdo, tu ganas de aprender, Español y las mías de aprender ingles, menos mal que esta Carlos Humberto. Pero así practicamos, algo. Para nosotros, fue un orgullo tenerla en nuestros Hotel, una persona con buen gusto y que sabe, reconocer la diferencia, y usted, la marcaba, una joya, y una casa, no un establecimiento, mas donde te dan servicios, de alta calidad, sino donde, nos entregamos hacia nuestros clientes al final amigos. Un saludo, y espero que las cabras, estén todas, bien así como el chanchito (cerdo) Salud y bien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

This place is such a gem!! Upon pulling in there was a beautiful mosaic on the entry wall made with recycled materials. So cool. The warm greeting I received upon entering and the eclectic design of the foyer led me to believe I had made a good choice. Each room was decorated differently with its own bathroom. You can tell that they have put a lot of care into creating a very artistic and unique establishment. The environment was so welcoming, easy going, and open. I spent a good portion of my stay talking with the owners and other guests on the porch. In the morning they made me breakfast and I was sad to leave. It was one of my favorite experiences in Costa Rica, and I will go out of my way to return the next time in the country.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Morgan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Humberto M, Director General at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016
Google Translation

Nosotros Carlos Humberto y Juan Jesús, no sentimos contentos de haber echo de su estancia en Costa Rica, mas agradeble, y feliz, y a la vez fue un placer conocerlo y tenerlo entre estas cuatro paredes, que como usted dice, estamos trabajando, para que sea un espacio único y diferenciado. Y claro que nos encantaria que nos siguiera, visitando en sus proximas visitas, y seguir charlando y compartiendo con ustedes, un rato, en el recibidor. Un grato saludo, y nuestros mejores deseos, salud y bien. Muchas Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

The hotel it's self is very funky and really feels like you have found a gem. The owners are fabulous, took care of all our needs, and even took the time to hang out with us, which was a delight. Sarchi is a great little town surrounded by absolutely gorgeous scenery. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Costa Rica.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank N1121XKscottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Jesus C, Gerente at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016
Google Translation

Estimados amigos, no sabemos como suceden las cosas, pero tripadvisor, os trajo hasta nosotros y eso ha sido toda una alegría encontrar a un grupo de personas como vosotros tan alegres, y comprometidos, y que supo captar la exencia de nuestro querido hotel, y desde donde os esperaremos con los brazos abiertos, para seguir recibiendo como os lo merecieres con cariño. Un saludo cordial, hasta la vista que tengas un buen viaje no solo de regreso sino de vida. Carlos Humberto y Juan Jesús.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

This place is a gem. Nothing short of an exceptional experience with Carlos and Juan Jesus. They are the kindest hosts and truly care about their hostel/hotel and their guests. Your stay comes with good conversations and a delicious breakfast in this artsy space. I highly recommend this lodge for all types of vistors, friends, couples or those stopping by for a business trip. Thanks for the stay!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank nimjchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Jesus C, Gerente at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016
Google Translation

Estimados ya no llamaros clientes, sino porque no amigos, muchísimas gracias por este bello comentario, nos sentimos muy contentos de que pasarais por nuestro querido, hotel y seguro que no sera ni la primera ni la última vez, que nos visitéis y os podamos atender con todo nuestro cariño, y ademas veréis como el hotel ha ido creciendo, y cambiando de aspecto un saludo grato desde Sarchi Costa rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2015

Found out about this place by coincidence (local recommendation) - beautifully set up with lots of attention to detail. Simple, but clean and with everything you need! Lovely owners with a very positive attitude, going the extra mile and making the place feel like home. Great pleasure to have a laugh with Carlos and his partner - we'll definitely return if we're lucky enough to make it back to Costa Rica one day.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Jesus C, Gerente at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2016
Google Translation

Les tomamos la palabra en relación a su próxima visita a Costa Rica, que por lo menos nos harán una visita, y si ustedes se fueron con una buena sensación, y contentos eso para nosotros es lo importante. Siempre me imagino que cuando retoman fotos de la zona recordaran y te acuerdas de aquellos chicos, y eso es lo mas bonito que le puede suceder a una persona y mas como negocio. Aprovechamos para saludarle, desearles feliz 2016, prospero, saludable y lleno de alegría.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews