We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Terri P
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica

Warmth, value, convenience and art

Review of Jucáhuje Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 22, 2018
What a surprise to drop into this hotel, meet Carlos and Juan, and fall in love with the place. Simple clean rooms, lovely breakfast, and recycled art all around. Juan Jesus is truly an artist who uses 'trash' to create murals, wall hangings, mobiles, lamps, and more. His artistic talent is reflected in the messages he conveys through the artwork and the hotel is his canvas. Carlos rounds out the hospitality with his charming personality and attentiveness. Lot's of love in this hotel!

I give it just 4 stars only because they still have more they want to, and no doubt will do, to improve their special place. The empty pool should be addressed sooner than later. For that I wouldn't recommend it for small children.

If you want a nice, comfortable, reasonably priced place to stay in Sarchi, Jucahuje is an excellent choice.
Date of stay: January 2018
Room Tip: Many room types offered with different bed arrangements
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Humberto M, Propietario at Jucáhuje Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Jan 24, 2018
Muchas gracias. Por su opinión. Que describe. Muy bien por donde queremos. Que siga creciendo el Jucahuje Lodge. Un lugar como dice usted. Lleno de arte, pasión y mucha locura. Para que nuestros clientes disfruten de no sólo una estancia. Sino una estancia en un lugar diferente. Y con una atención a la medida de nuestros clientes.
Ustedes le conocieron hace años y poco a poco lo vamos transformando. Para poder conseguir un entorno. Aun mas acogedor. Y con todas las condiciones. Para cualquier cliente que nos llegue.
Muchísimas gracias por ayudarnos a seguir creciendo. Un grato saludo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
12.0 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Tiny House Dreamcatcher
C$80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    C$77
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$84
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$84
  • Agoda.com
    C$84
2.7 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Living room adjacent to kitchen / dining room.
C$275
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$275
4.7 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
C$69
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$69
  • Agoda.com
    C$69
6.9 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
C$97
C$85
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$85
  • Expedia.com
    C$89
  • Hotels.com
    C$89
7.5 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$342
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$342
  • Expedia.com
    C$341
  • Hotels.com
    C$341
7.4 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$91
  • Expedia.com
    C$89
  • Hotels.com
    C$89
9.9 km from Jucáhuje Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sarchi
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
22
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
22
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 24 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We actually went out of our way to visit Jucahuje on our trip, and I'm so glad we did. The hotel is beautiful, with a ton of artistic details and things to see. Juan Jesus was so accommodating (and I wish I was better at Spanish so I could better thank him for his help!), and Carlos helped translate and chatted with us about his travels. Both are so friendly and can give travel advice. The rooms were colorful and fun, and the beds were comfortable. Definitely worth the walk from the town :)

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lorielisebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Jesus C, Propietario at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017


Thank you very much. For your beautiful comment. We liked your presence at the hotel. And that you were satisfied with what you came to know. On the part of the hotel we are always so happy to be visited by such good and accommodating people. We know it will not be the last time. Because the hotel is in continuous growth and will be different day by day. A kind and affectionate greeting.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017

My husband, 1.5 year old son, and I stayed here in July 2017 for one night on our way to the Arenal Volcano area. Juan Jesus and Carlos were so kind and accommodating. Great artistic decor; clean, quiet, comfortable room; unique; affordable. Great breakfast in the back courtyard. Beautiful views of surrounding mountains and volcanos. Sarchi is a cute town, not very touristy. Best part was practicing my Spanish with Juan Jesus! Highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Jesus C, Propietario at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias en principio por ser una opción en vuestro recorrido vacacional por Costa Rica, que esperamos hayáis disfrutado, para nosotros entre muchas cosas, agradecidos que te hayamos servido para tus practicas de Español, dice que la ciudad donde nací, es donde mejor se habla castellano así que para nosotros un placer, ayudarla a ese nivel.
Para nosotros es un buen aliciente, vuestras recomendaciones que agradecemos en el alma, y que nos ayuda a seguir creciendo, y desarrollando una actividad en servicio de nuestros clientes. Esperamos y sabemos que no sera la última vez que nos visitéis, y podáis volver a experimentar una buena experiencia.. un grato saludo a su esposo y al bebe. salud y bien. y siempre nuestros mejores deseos para vuestra familia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2017

very affordable and a special homey stay...owners Juan and Carlos made an extra effort to provide vegetarian meals ... i needed to get an early start to reach the Poas Volcano before the clouds rolled in...original artwork and atmosphere...be sure to use waze or another gps app as the spot is off the beaten track...

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elliott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Humberto M, Gerente at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias, por su opinión, y mas por su visita y paso por nuestro, hotel.
Usted, pudo comprobar el esfuerzo, que estamos haciendo para poder hacer de este entorno mas hogareño como apunta usted, y a la vez lleno de creatividad, y arte. Siempre basándonos, en el reciclar, la reutilizar, recuperar.
Como dice muy bien. Un hotel fuera de lo común, que le hace diferente, y querido.
Nos falta mucho, por eso, estaríamos encantados de que cuando vuelva por Costa Rica nos tenga en cuenta. Y tendremos muy a mano el seguir cuidando le, incluso en sus gustos alimenticios y nutricionales vegetarianos. Un saludo de Juan Jesús y Carlos Humberto. Namaste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2016

It was a bit of a trick to find the hotel but worth the search. Juan Jesus and Carlos are truly artistic and wonderful hosts. Carlos speaks excellent English but I enjoyed practicing my Spanglish on the very patient Juan Jesus. Breakfast was delicious. We felt totally safe and right at home. I wholeheartedly recommend their home.

Room tip: All the rooms are pleasant.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Humberto M, Gerente at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016
Google Translation

Hola Estimada Linda, nos ha encantado tu comentario, y si siempre recuerdo, tu ganas de aprender, Español y las mías de aprender ingles, menos mal que esta Carlos Humberto. Pero así practicamos, algo. Para nosotros, fue un orgullo tenerla en nuestros Hotel, una persona con buen gusto y que sabe, reconocer la diferencia, y usted, la marcaba, una joya, y una casa, no un establecimiento, mas donde te dan servicios, de alta calidad, sino donde, nos entregamos hacia nuestros clientes al final amigos. Un saludo, y espero que las cabras, estén todas, bien así como el chanchito (cerdo) Salud y bien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

This place is such a gem!! Upon pulling in there was a beautiful mosaic on the entry wall made with recycled materials. So cool. The warm greeting I received upon entering and the eclectic design of the foyer led me to believe I had made a good choice. Each room was decorated differently with its own bathroom. You can tell that they have put a lot of care into creating a very artistic and unique establishment. The environment was so welcoming, easy going, and open. I spent a good portion of my stay talking with the owners and other guests on the porch. In the morning they made me breakfast and I was sad to leave. It was one of my favorite experiences in Costa Rica, and I will go out of my way to return the next time in the country.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Morgan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Humberto M, Director General at Jucahuje Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016
Google Translation

Nosotros Carlos Humberto y Juan Jesús, no sentimos contentos de haber echo de su estancia en Costa Rica, mas agradeble, y feliz, y a la vez fue un placer conocerlo y tenerlo entre estas cuatro paredes, que como usted dice, estamos trabajando, para que sea un espacio único y diferenciado. Y claro que nos encantaria que nos siguiera, visitando en sus proximas visitas, y seguir charlando y compartiendo con ustedes, un rato, en el recibidor. Un grato saludo, y nuestros mejores deseos, salud y bien. Muchas Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews