We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Perdido

Rio Perdido
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Day Trip from Guanacaste: Río Perdido Adventure
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Bagaces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Rio Perdido!
We where there for 2 nights toward the end of our Costa Rican holiday and I wish we'd started there instead as there was so much to do (zip lining, bike and hiking trails with beautiful views of the canyons, thermal river to swim in and the spa!). The staff where great and accommodated all of our needs. Our 4 year old daughter had fun at the thermal pools and swimming in the river and the staff offered babysitting service so that my husband and I could go on a bike trail.
This is a perfect place to stay for a few days with your family, friends or just as a romantic escape. Highly recommend it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    36
    3
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Out of the Ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had the most wonderful day here. Coming from a cruise ship, and after a 3 hour bus ride, we really didn't know what to expect. After several miles on a dirt road, the beautiful Spa opened up before us. The river was a joy to swim in (maybe some handrails for us older types!). The pools were perfection. Clean changing rooms, soft towels and showers were provided. Lunch, in the dining room, was wonderful - great food, lovely drinks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MingoAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioPerdido, Director and Co-founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hello there!
First off, thanks for the concise yet helpful review.
We all wanted to let you (and other readers) know that shortly after your visit, we hired a firm called MUNDO NATURALISTA to do a bit of work within the thermal canyon, insuring that the dozens of river pools along the mile-long canyon (the centerpiece of our 600-acre reserve) are more accessible and as safe as possible for our visitors without really compromising the natural aspect of true this sanctuary. This difficult job, which is a month underway, includes more gradual descents (not as steep), graded natural rock platforms, and HANDRAILS. That being said, on your next visit (which we hope will be a longer stay in The Bungalows, as you really need time to experience Rio Perdido), you will have an easier time getting to the most amazing spots!
Again, we thank you for your valuable feedback.
Cheers.
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and enjoy the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We went to Rio Perdido in October to do zip lining/canopying. It was awesome! The facility is gorgeous and the staff is fabulous. Our guides for the zip lines were very knowledgable about how to zip line and their English was fantastic. They were very kind to let me practice my Spanish with them.

The food was great, as was the fresh watermelon juice.

Make sure you take the time to enjoy the pools and the bar.

Overall, we had a great time and look forward to going back when we go to Costa Rica again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent and unique place in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This place has unique landscapes in Costa Rica: a unique termal river with many swimming areas, impressive canyoning, many monkies, unique Bagaces mountains, nice termal pools, a great bike park for hiking too, restrooms and lockers for 1 day visit, a pool bar, a nice restaurant with great food (4 of 5 stars), and a beautiful and modern new bungalows with hammocks and satellite tv to stay for many days.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fabulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Stunning Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Rio Perdido is a relaxing, one of a kind place. Warm energy. Friendly staff, delicious food, and a one-of-a-kind experience. They are off the beaten path which is nice. We drove 2 hours and stayed the night after a massage and a dip in the pool. The architecture is eco-friendly and beautiful. They seem to put a lot of thought into creating a whole experience for their guests. Definitely go if you can. Prices are good for the quality you receive!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Letsclymb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Perdido also viewed

Bagaces, Province of Guanacaste
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 

Been to Rio Perdido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing