We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best price and perfect service”

Guanacaste Viajes & Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
The Canyon Adventure Combo Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Guanacaste Express is a local Family run business, with over 8 years working in the tourism industry in Costa Rica, we offer to our clients personalized trips with a professional service. Our dedication and responsibility made of Guanacaste Viajes a truly option in Costa Rica. We operate in our own fleet of comfortable air-conditioned mini-vans and mini-busses with a capacity of from 1 to up of 28 passengers. Our main office is based just 15 minutes from Liberia International Airport (LIR), and we provide Airport Shuttle and Private Transportation
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tyler, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best price and perfect service”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

They were perfect... They beat most other transportation companies by $20.
$100 for roundtrip service. They were quick with a response to emails and great with confirming our arrival. When we arrived, our driver was waiting for us holding a sign with our names on it. He greeted us with a smile and took our bags to the van. You pay them $60 to your hotel and $40 back to the airport. Their van was very clean and air conditioned.
They were right on time when they picked us up from the hotel. Walter was our driver and did a great job.

We felt very comfortable with this company, and would definitely use them again

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Clint T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    14
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PURA VIDA all the way!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

It was our first time in Costa Rica for both my bf and I. Choosing an excursion tour with Guanacaste Viajes wasn't hard with tripadvisor's ratings and comments. Manuel and Herman are not only professional but 100% Costa Ricans! They LOVE their county and you will too! There is no negative feedback to be said. They provide: 1) safe, clean transportation 2) activities that are both flexible and suited to your needs/requests 3) knowledge about the locations/provinces/wild life 4) priceless patience and hospitality throughout the whole experience. You will not be disappointed!

THANK YOU again for the wonderful memories Manuel and Herman! We miss you!!!
Chris & Lea

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Tour Company we have found in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We have been to Costa Rica twice now, and this is the best tour and transportation company we have worked with. We will definitely be calling Manuel when we are there again next year. We received great service from Manual and his drivers right from the very first email that I sent. I arranged for three trips. Two were airport transfers to and from the resorts where we stayed, and the third was a day trip to Palo Verde National Park combined with a transfer to our second resort. I can't say enough about the thoughtful and personal service we received. Our driver, Walter, was more careful than any of the drivers from other tour companies. He didn't frighten us with his driving the way some other companies have on other tours. Manuel came along for the day trip to Palo Verde and we were so impressed with his love for and knowledge of Costa Rica. Although we spent several hours driving on dirt roads to get from our resort to Palo Verde and on to the next resort, the time passed very quickly as Manuel pointed out details about the countryside, explained the economy of Costa Rica, identified wildlife and described the farming methods of the farms we passed along the way. He even pulled out bird and plant guides for us and our 6-year old to enjoy, and he brought our attention to unique trees, vegetation, and animals along our drive . We learned more about life in Costa Rica on our ride to and from Palo Verde in the car with Walter and Manuel than at any other time in our two trips to the country. I will post a separate review about our wonderful time at Palo Verde and how Manuel stepped up and volunteered to be a boat guide, making the day enjoyable both for us and many others on the boat. The personal service from Manuel and his drivers is so much better than the larger tour companies. This man loves his country and loves to share it with visitors. We found his drivers to be very personable, caring, and safe!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank DJSpinDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BEST DAY OF OUR ENTIRE TRIP!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We spent a lot of time researching and reading reviews about what to do and see in Costa Rica. My husband really wanted to do the Canopy Trek and the hot springs but it is 4 hours from our hotel. None of the other companies offered this tour because they said there wasn't enough time to do both of those in one day. Manuel, the owner, and his team were professional, always on time, and friendly and said that of course we would have enough time. We left at 6 and were home by 7:30 when the other tour that didn't do the zip line wasn't going to return until midnight. It was def worth the extra money to have a completely personalized tour with guides that were laid back and talked to us so the ride wasn't so long. By the end of the day, we were so happy with our decision and everything we did. Plus the car they brought was brand new, smelled great and they kept it very clean and provided us with great places to eat and waterbottles on the road. If you are in Costa Rica give this company a chance on any of their tours and I know you won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Phronen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THEY MAKE IT ALL ABOUT YOU!!!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Sorry...I'm sooo late in writing this. I want to thank Manuel, Ariel and Steve so the best holiday and adventures they provided us. Our situation was unique as we went away for my mom's 75th Birthday, so there was a 75 yr old with a bad knee, an 81 yr old with a bad hip and then myself and my best friend mid 40ish..lol, however Manuel arrange 2 tours that were suited for all of us. Not boring for 40ish and not too daring for 75 and 81 who are outgoing. We went with Manuel to Boriquen Mountain and Liberia...AMAZING! The smell of solpher, hot volcanic mud, great atmopher and laughs for days!! We went with Ariel and Steve to Palo Verde National Park and Coco Beach....another AMAZING day!! So many animals, plants and culture...wow! The personal touch they provided...you won't find anywhere. We noiced many of the large tours didn't go that extra mile like pulling up to the shore to see the Crocs, or discribing and pointing out the birds, monkeys, bats and ant eater....it was AMAZING!! Manuel, Ariel and Steve were amazing....so many other individuals at our hotel (Hilton) that took the river trip weren't happy....cause they went with the larger tours and the boat just went up then down the river...boring!!! We went to the shore and saw everthing! I would highly recommed this company. Remember...your there for a holiday...when you leave, never leave with "what if's"...the personal tours this company provides...you won't ever get that experience from a large tour company with hundreds of others with you. Pay that little extra...and make your holiday "your holiday"...it's worth it!!! HI Manuel, Ariel and Steve....THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! We will never forget our vacation, which you made special for us. Cheers!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guanacaste Viajes & Tours also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Guanacaste Viajes & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing