We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Experience in Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Larry C
Pheba, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience in Paradise”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was a most enjoyable time I can ever remember. Eladio, the owner , picked us up at the airport with a big friendly HUG. Took us to look over the town , and to grocery store. He filled us in on all the best do's and don't do. Suggested the best coffee and took me to get a local cell phone. Any wish we had, Eladio was eager to help us with it. The Condo/Cabin was very clean and had everything we needed. The grounds was very clean and well managed. Truly a paradise. His wife and two little children took us in as if we were family. She prepared us a very tasty meal. I really felt as if I was visiting family of my own.Other guest there also joined in as if family. Eladio arranged a tour up into the Rain Forrest and with a conservationist authority friend that actually found us a Blue Jean Frog to take pictures of, as well as a sloth and howler monkeys,and several butterfly moths. I feel as if I will always have a friend in Costa Rica. I will surely come back to stay at Explore Paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly loveing service
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matandman...
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Eladio was absolutely the most wonderful host during our stay. Every day we would wake up, play in the pool, and then get wonderful advice from Eladio about where to go. He never missed on any of the recommendations. He drew us wonderful maps and made recommendations that were local and not touristy. He knows the area so well it was amazing. I think he really specializes in people who want to come to Costa Rica to surf, and knows many special places to take people, but even for those of us looking for quiet beaches, monkeys, sloths, waterfalls, and volcanos, his recommendations were excellent. It really felt like he was sharing a part of his family and community with us. When our boys are a little older we will make a return trip to stay with Eladio and see the special surfing places he knows so well.

We used the rental as home base and drove North to the beach, east into the mountains, volcano and hot springs, south west to an ecoresort, and west to other beaches. The vacation rental was the perfect size for our family. Nothing fancy but everything we needed. The bedrooms both had AC units which helped a lot with the hot overnight. The pool was amazing and clean. We used it every day.

Every day Eladio welcomed us with his warm, passionate, and positive attitude! We could not recommend staying with him enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin B
Westchester, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eladio's Place was the highlight of our spectacular vacation adventure!”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I traveled to Costa Rica for the first time and spent 10 amazing days there. We rented a car and spent time in a few places, stayed in really nice hostels, airbnb’s, and even a five star spa resort for 2 nights. We loved everywhere we went, but our 3 nights and two days at Eladio’s place were just the best. Eladio and his family were so genuinely welcoming, happy and high on life...as soon as we met them we knew we’d found something special. We went on the snorkeling along the Santa Elena Penninsula, horseback riding up the Rincon de la Vieja Volcano, and swimming in the Rincon de la Vieja rainforest in waterfalls and blue river. These “tours” were so personalized I wouldn’t even call them that. It was just the two of us, Eladio, and a “tour guide,” each day-the captain of the ship and a nephew of Eladio’s friend who owns the ranch. Also, after most “tours,” your day is over, but on our way “home” we took it slow, stopping to see beautiful birds that Eladio is excellent at spotting, and stopping to photograph 2 sunsets! After watching the sun disappear beyond the horizon, we crossed over the continental divide and then there it was again-disappearing beyond the horizon! A tour bus is not going to keep stopping so you can take pictures. Both mornings Eladio’s wife Vanessa cooked us a delicious breakfast of typical Costa Rican food-we are vegetarians so they made extra sure about what we do and do not eat. The second morning we got to eat cheese that their neighbors made literally the day before! She also gave us a lot of tropical fruit, and when we asked about one tree in particular, she told us all about the cashew tree, and made us smoothies with the fruit! The morning we left, Vanessa had us take photos with her and their son in this little fort on the property...the whole time we spent with them we could feel their positive energy and genuine enjoyment in sharing their time and their country with us. I would not even consider returning to Costa Rica without planning to spend more time at Eladio’s Place, we feel so very lucky to have found it!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It's soooo difficult to say, but if I have to choose, the horseback riding tour
Liked least: having to go
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Photoinsa...
Temple City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“another three weeks in paradise”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I spent 3 weeks at Eladio's place last year and had an exceptional experience. I went with a couple buddies and felt so comfortable with Eladio;s place and the services that I booked 2 of the 3 weeks this year solo.

I took advantage of Eladio's logging, transportation, surfing tours and natural explorations.

Eladio's place is unique, unlike any other place or service I have ever experienced. Go to his website and read the testimonials and the tour information. It is all true.

If you are thinking about a trip to Costa Rica and want the most authentic and real experience, Eladio's is the place. I'm already planning for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing authenticity of Eladio's Place
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Dawson City, Canada
1 review
“Pura Vida Eladio”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great place to stay, and the friendliest and most helpful host you could ask for.Good location for access to Rincon de la Vieja volcano park .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: host and his wife
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Hi Steve,
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate it alot !
We loved you stayed at our place, thanks for your visited
Greetings to everyone of you
Pura Vida!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertaBu...
alberta
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It's about the service”
Reviewed January 22, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a great place to stay if you're an independent traveller with a rental car. Located north of Liberia just off Hwy #1 it takes about 30-40 minutes from the Liberia airport. A small family run facility with only a couple unit's and a pool.

Our 2 bedroom unit was more than adequate for our stay. Not a luxurious facility but very comfortable and the bed was super comfortable. A Huge shower with sun heated water was a great wake to wake up or cool off. Stove and fridge worked well. Air-conditioning worked good and quickly cooled the rooms off.

The best reason to stay is ... Eladio Castro the host. What ever your passion Eladio can hook you up. Surfing, tours, or just advice, he is a wealth of good information. He steered us to a private hot spring located up in the hills about an hour away and it will remain a life memory. This host is personality personified and a great guy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner
Liked least: A bit of a drive for groceries
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Less is more”
Reviewed December 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first time trip to Costa Rica, Using TripAdvisor, I fortunately stumbled onto this most awesome opportunity. "Eladio's Place" is an ideal hub to adventure from. Not a hotel. Better than that, it is a home away from home. Eladio, and his family, really made each family member feel welcome. Eladio was able to provide transportation, and excellent recommendations.

Vanessa, Eladio's wife, provided the most wonderful meals, with Costa Rican cooking. Fresh made tortillas, with local cheese made the night before, was a favorite. The fresh fruit and vegetables were awesome also.

When we had picked our tour choices, Eladio was very good about making sure the best available guide was available. In our case, one day was spent at the volcano base terrain, and we were able to observe the wild frogs, birds, and sloth, in their natural habitat. One day two, we hiked through another area of Santa Rosa Park, observing the army ants on the march, many more birds, and Spider Monkeys, and White Faced Monkeys, in the trees where they live, unconfined.

Eladio, and his guides, are excellent defensive drivers. As a public safety person, I scrutinized the generally aggressive driving habits that seem to be the norm, but our guides were always diligent. I give the highest opinion available, for the safety priority that Eladio places on his clients.

When relaxing at the casa, Eladio will drive you to town, or store, for any items you wish. One day I was able to send the ladies in our group, off to go shop. Eladio took care of everything, and I was able to relax at the pool. Thank you Eladio! The ladies were all very happy with the shopping opportunities they were provided.

This is a high quality, location, centrally located midway between the ocean, and the volcanoes. Each within easy striking distance of his provided transportation.

The house we rented on his property, is one of two, for guests. Ours kept four of us comfortable. The other, is for up to 8 people, and is two story. The houses are clean, and maintained with any needed items each day, or on request. The pool is awesome. The iguanas will stare at you while you swim, midday. After, the WIFI was a great way to send bragging photos online.

Eladio's is perfect. I HIGHLY recommend this hub for your visit. I intend to return at some point, for a week of surfing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean air, and comfort.
Liked least: Visit ended. Next time will plan a longer stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing