We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous pastries, excellent coffee!”

Java 654 Coffee Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Greatest Coffee Corner in Coco! We're open everyday from 7am to 5.30pm offering a wide variety of coffee drinks, hot and cold, using some of the best coffee in Costa Rica. We also offer fresh fruit smoothies, fruit drinks, salads, bagels, paninis, baked goods and our mouth watering waffles! We have indoor and outdoor seating, a/c, free WiFi, a library with book exchange and an assortment of games to play with family or friends! Come visit us!
Reviewed March 26, 2018

If you go, be sure to ask for the Crocantes de Nuez, they are worth every 1500 colones! We indulged in this lovely macaroon pastry and also had fruit and an egg sandwich and a banana chocolate smoothie. Yes, I really did that. There is a cozy little area inside for dining but who would want to when the weather is so beautiful. Eat outside on the patio!

This is not fast food, this is good food! And the service is done with a smile.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 185 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2018

We ordered two egg and ham on English muffins.
The order took a little while to get but hey, this isn't McDonald's. The women are making each order fresh.
Each sandwich has two eggs plus came with a little bowl of fresh fruit which we really liked.
They also offer free WiFi with a really cool outdoor seating area.
We will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarCoco, Owner at Java 654 Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Please excuse the delay! thanks again for coming! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Great coffee ( iced double espresso might be to die or kill for)
Waffles!
Great breakfast Sammie’s.
All good no bad. Free hi speed. Very central. Nice Tica run, fair priced ( for here) . Great smoothie and salads.

Thank bobyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarCoco, Owner at Java 654 Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Thank you for your visit and we're so happy you enjoyed it! Hope to have you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Rated 3 stars because it was just average. Coffee was good, food was good but wasn’t expecting to be paying higher prices than back home. Açaí bowl (about $8) had an okay amount of fruit but was lacking in the açaí part. Service was slow but friendly.

Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarCoco, Owner at Java 654 Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear Michael, thank you for your visit to Playas del Coco and Java! We're sorry your experience was other than excellent. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and greatly appreciate your comments. Our orders generally take a little longer than normal as everything is prepared fresh to order. And if you came during our busy hours, it's likely that your order would have taken a bit longer than normal. I would invite you to compare pricing with other places around Coco and Costa Rica. You'll find our pricing to be very competitive, probably lower than most.

We have a few different things than in the U.S. which justify the added price as it affects directly the cost of things. First, Costa Rica has a high regard for social institutions which provide safety nets to our employees and citizens. Also, nearly 100% of Costa RIca's energy is renewable resource based (geothermal, hydroelectric, wind and solar) making it a bit more costly than burning fossil fuels or developing nuclear energy. This is a cost that Costa Ricans bear but it actually benefits the glocal society as we contribute to a smaller footprint. Lastly, Coco is only a community of a few thousand people, meaning we do not have economies of scale that could bring down the cost of raw materials.

So even though sometimes you will find paying certain things similar to their cost in the U.S. or back home, they do have a key social and environmental impact which Costa Ricans are very proud of.

If you are still in town, please stop by again. We would be more than happy to serve you and your companions.

All the best,

Omar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018

We went for breakfast. My daughter had a smoothie that was fantastic, and we had english muffin with chicken, tomato, and avocado...it was delicious. So fresh, yum. The coffee was great too, although we thought all the coffee in Costa Rica was good, lol. It has a good selection of options (coffees, smoothies, bagles, muffins, etc), but I liked how fresh the ingredients were. :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tcandsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarCoco, Owner at Java 654 Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Thank you for visiting us! Please come back soon! :) Hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java 654 Coffee Shop also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Java 654 Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing