We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy Thankgiving”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool # 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool # 1
Villas Casa Loma - Entering paradise - Villa 1 Flamingo Beach from Villa  terrace ...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Pool # 1
Villas Casa Loma - Entering paradise - Villa 1
Flamingo Beach from Villa  terrace ...
View of Flamingo Beach from Villa terrace
Another view of pool # 1
Relaxing atmosphere...
Bon apetite...
One of the kitchens...
One of the bedrooms...
Outdoor terrace...
Outdoor terrace...
Outdoor terrace...
Outdoor terrace...
Outdoor terrace...
Another spacious bedroom ...
A second pool & gazebo ...
Gardens...
Villas Casa Loma - Lower entrance to Paradise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Explorati...
1 review
“Happy Thankgiving”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Spectacular, could not have asked for more. Tom was a great host & all the guys & gals working there were great. Ask you you had it. This is our place for Thanksgiving from now on, excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
We're so glad that you had a memorable visit! We take pride in our ability to offer a comfortable environment in which to relax and enjoy nature....
Your Thanksgiving stay this year was all too brief. Shortly after your departure, we experienced whales and dolphins in the bay... Very exciting! The howler monkeys remain a staple of our natural zoo.
Several new restaurants have opened in the area, too.( Our area is fast becoming known as a "foodie destination".)
Come on back for the special experiences. We'd love to see you all again here in our little corner of Paradise.
PURA VIDA! Tom, Igor and the Villas Casa Loma staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton B
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is what life should be all about ...”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is what life should be all about ...

Getting a family of 5 teens plus parents to agree on anything is just about impossible! However, we all came to the same conclusion after spending our vacation at Villas Casa Loma. The solution to our vacation dilemma was
to rent a 3 bedroom, 3 1/2 bath villa in Flamingo Beach overlooking the marina area. The villa was just about perfectly suited for our needs. The massive upper level - with huge kitchen, living/dining room, master bedroom and very spacious covered L-shaped and open terraces opening off of the bedroom and living room were just the ticket for family meals and get-togethers. The well appointed terrace became our preferred 'family room' overlooking the marina area! Downstairs, there were two separate bedrooms with walk-in closets, private bathrooms and lovely views of the gardens, ocean and swimming pool. One of the bedrooms also had a well-equipped kitchen with pass-through to a poolside breakfast bar - very convenient.
Proximity to Flamingo, Brasilito, Tamarindo, Surfside, etc. is a big plus. There are such a wide variety of restaurants featuring foods from just about everywhere in the world, making the location perfect for a hungry family of 7. A supermarket is just around the corner. As well, there are quite a few medical clinics, pharmacies and dental clinics in the area. Our needs were well served.
Close to the Villas are a variety of fishing charters, surfing shops, dive shops, three world class golf courses, tennis courts and excellent tour companies.Never a dull moment for us! Thanks to our hosts Tom and Igor for the many excellent suggestions and for providing us with a perfect set-up for a memorable vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Hola Ana Maria ~
Well! You sure covered a lot of territory in a relatively short period of time... Congratulations!! All the activities you managed to accomplish in Costa Rica, plus a few days spent visiting Granada and Managua, Nicaragua. (A major planning coup for you with so many varied family interests to deal with! )
From offshore fishing to surfing lessons and sunset cruises, you managed to cover a lot of territory. Next time, bring your tennis equipment along with golf clubs and your obviously keen senses of adventure. As you have discovered, there is a myriad of things to see and do here - just moments away from our secure property!
Wonderful and varied food. Great facilities and services, too! Endless, fun, activities for all ages!
Next time you must plan a day trip to the Nicoya region and beaches. It is a real eye-opener! (Educational - and stunningly beautiful, too!) We'll be happy to help you plan this - and other - fascinating tours.
We are looking forward to hosting you all again soon here in our little corner of Paradise!
PURA VIDA!!
Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmachfx
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Little R & R”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My wife and I spent the months of February and March 2017, at Villas Casa Loma, and loved the place.
This was our third trip to this part of Costa Rica, but the first time we had stayed at this location. The owners, Igor and Tom, have created their own little paradise, in an area where the sun sun shines everyday during the first months of the year, and the temperatures are certainly nice and warm.
The location of the property offers stunning views of the sunsets over the water of Flamingo Bay, and the owners have planted much vegetation around the property, giving it a lush feel, even in the dry season, and a haven for many birds. The two pools are perfect to lounge around, or take a nice dip after a day at the beach.
Our unit had lots of space with wonderful views, a comfortable bed, large bathroom, and a kitchen that was equipped with everything you needed to prepare meals. The furniture, both inside and out, was perfect for this part of the world, and the large art works added a splash of color to the interior.
The owners were helpful when we needed information, and assisted us in locating both a dentist and medical assistance during our stay. When we needed the medical assistance, we didn't have a car, so Igor ran us over to the Pharmacy in his truck, which was greatly appreciated.
The housekeeping and grounds staff did a great job keeping the place neat and tidy.
We only had a car for part of our stay, but as we like to walk, didn't find it a problem getting to the beaches, bank, grocery store or restaurants in the area. You can also use the local bus service, or local taxis if you want to go farther afield.
Overall, we were very happy we chose Villas Casa Loma, and would certainly recommend it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Wow! Thanks, Inez and Bill for your kind words and observations! You are both obviously observant and seasoned Costa Rica travelers. It was a great joy to share our little corner of Paradise with you and we look forward to seeing you again here in the future!
As you discovered, each of the area beaches here offers unique and special "character" - from Las Catalinas to Flamingo, Conchal, Tamarindo, Playa Grande and on down to Playa Negra and Aviannas Beach. For the more enterprising, a super visit is to go to "the Blue Zone" where people live the longest and have the happiest lives. It is just a short distance from the communities of Nosara and Nicoya and is truly a gorgeous and fascinating area to visit...Just minutes from us!

Our property here is designed for peaceful pursuit:. A day at the beach justifies a refreshing dip in one of our 2 large swimming pools. A great place to lay back and read a good book or just doze in the shade of a welcoming palm tree. Wander through meandering trails and steps leading through our tropical gardens and spread throughout our gently rolling property.
Dine very well in a wide variety of interesting, special restaurants.
Watch the Pacific ocean, occasional whales, sailboats, and fishermen while relaxing on your own private, covered terrace.
Fish from shore or hire a boat and crew for some exciting activities! Horseback trail rides, waterfall excursions, zip lining, white water rafting, birding and so much more!
Do it all, or do nothing at all! The choice is always yours here in our little corner fo Paradise.
Come back for the adventure. Come back for the peace. We look forward to seeing you again here soon in our little corner of Paradise!
PURA VIDA ! Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond F
1 review
“Beautiful Ocean Views and Sunset!”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

For our tenth visit to Costa Rica (CR), my wife and I decided to try the Flamingo Beech area again because of its access to a wide variety of beautiful beaches, recreation activities and proximity to the Liberia Airport where we could easily pick up and deliver family members who visited us during our planned one month stay.

For this visit we were looking for a house to rent again and discovered Villas Casa Loma on-line while researching our travel plans. We decided to stay there and rented a Villa suite. It offered comfortable accommodation and 180 degree views of the mountains and ocean coast where dramatic sunsets are guaranteed every evening.

The property is well situated on a hillside and maintained by a courteous staff. The pool areas are perfect for just relaxing and enjoying the sunshine. Owners Igor and Tom are always responsive to answer any accommodation questions you may have or guide you through any recreation, restaurant or adventure planning you have in mind.

House/Villa renting in CR may not be for everyone as it often assumes you have access to transportation, are familiar with the region you choose to live and for the most part, prepared move in and take care of yourself. We chose Flamingo because we stayed in hotels and also rented there before. We also decided to rent a car for our stay so we could easily explore the sights whenever we wanted. Alternatively there’s a local taxi service that can also deliver you whenever needed.

The kitchen in our suite was fully equipped with everything needed to prepare meals. Grocery shopping is available at a variety of stores ranging from the small local ones that are a five minute drive away to the larger main grocery stores approximately a twenty minute drive away. Air conditioning is available at an extra cost, buy we never needed it due to the cool hillside breezes every evening.

Staying in homes/villas vs. hotels in a tropical country like Costa Rica means you are likely to be exposed to various ants and spiders so it’s advisable to have the appropriate spray handy to defend against them. However, other local wild life such as geckos, iguanas and Howler Monkeys were always fascinating to see when they arrived for a visit.

We have some great memories of our 2017 Costa Rica vacation and would recommend the Villas Casa Loma to anyone planning either a short or long term rental stay.

Ray & Mary Lou Fisher
Ottawa, Canada

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Hola Ray and Mary Lou~ We're so glad that you had a wonderful stay here at Villas Casa Loma. Thank you for your visit. We certainly enjoyed your company and are missing your presence!
As you noted, the cool evening breezes here are a real plus! Our hillside oasis overlooking the Pacific is tranquil and secure, yet close to all the important amenities of the area.... Having a car at your disposal was certainly an advantage so that you could more fully enjoy the wide variety of restaurants, interesting places to visit and choices of activities - both land and water - that the area offers.
We apologize for the intrusion of jungle critters such as ants and the occasional spider. We try to keep them under control using non-toxic sprays, etc., recognizing that we have an obligation to nature - as well as to our guests. For this reason, we have sprays available in all of our accommodations but sometimes must resort to mildly toxic spraying when conditions demand it.The upside is that we are respecting nature in all of her majesties.
Thank you for sharing your experiences here in out adopted, gentle tropical corner of Paradise. We look forward to your returning again soon. PURA VIDA!! Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steph s
Rifle, Colorado
1 review
“Breath taking”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Villa was beautiful and immaculately maintained! Our view was breathtaking. The pool and the grounds were even more beautiful than the pictures showed. Tom and Igor were extremely helpful and full of information. They even purchased drink and snack items for us to have on hand because we were arriving after the stores were closed.
We brought 5 of our teen aged children with us. They loved the beaches; great surfing and body boarding.We also enjoyed a sunset horse ride on the beach with George! There were so many fun things to do in the area. There is an amazing bakery just down the road within walking distance. There are monkeys all over the trees around the bakery. All of the local establishments take american dollars, so no need to exchange money at the airport. The area felt very safe and we did not feel concerned for our safety. On another note if you plan on renting a vehicle make sure you know the exact taxes and fees that Costa Rica charges. Our rental vehicle cost three hundred more dollars than our reserved rate.

Overall our experience was amazing and we plan on coming back again to stay in the warm hospitality of Villa Casa Loma!!
Thank you again Tom and Igor! We look forward to seeing you again!
Stephanie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire Villa itself!
Liked least: The cost of the rental car
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Hola Stephanie & Paul ~
We thoroughly enjoyed your visit here to our little corner of Paradise, Stephanie ! It was really amazing to us that you managed to meet the various vacation requirements of 5 teenagers plus the husband with such seeming ease. It was a great pleasure to see you all having such a good time and we are really happy that we could act as a kind of catalyst for you ! ...Delighted that you were able to make use of the various activities - both land and sea - that are available in our area. Certainly beach activities, fishing, horseback treks, zip lining and exploring - not to mention running up and down the stairs leading to the top of our hill - are only a few of the possibilities for visitors here in this warm and gentle land... As you discovered, sometimes just laying back on a chaise by one of the pools or curling up with a good book in the shade of a pergola or palm, watching for whales and listening to the howler monkeys and the birds is a great way to unwind. ... Of course, safety and security of our guests are always foremost in our minds. We appreciate your comment about the area feeling secure.... We are looking forward to being able to host you again in the future and send warmest regards to you all. PURA VIDA. Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toadhollo...
PA
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Two Months in Paradise”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two months at Casa Loma, staying in Villa 103 and Villa 203. Both casitas are spacious, furnished in CR decor and have wonderful breezes blowing through the units. We arrived mid January and needed no air conditioning until about March 5, using only overhead fans.103 is a huge unit with a wonderful outdoor living area to entertain friends, watch sunsets and enjoy the view. 203 is a bit smaller but also has beautiful views of Potrero and Flamingo Bays and overlooks the upper level pool. There is plenty of storage for clothing, groceries, etc. The units are well equipped with small appliances, dishes and a selection of glassware. After renting at various places for a number of years, I bring a skillet or two of my own, since I won't used badly scratched teflon pans. Most of the pans are scratched teflon but I believe each of the units also had a plain metal pan or two. The grounds are beautifully manicured with plenty of foliage and palm trees that are large enough for shade against the strong sun. The upper pool is the focal point of activity and can at times be crowded and noisy. Fortunately there are areas a bit away from the pool area that seem to be more quiet. If this pool becomes too crowded, walk the steps or drive to the lower pool which is lovely, has a large shaded area....this pool can be an oasis of calm. We loved our stay here and consider Tom and Igor to be wonderful hosts and now friends, too. Our ONLY negative is the fact that the villas are too far from the beach for our liking. We enjoy walking on the beach in the very early morning and this wasn't happening for us due to the distance. The views are stunning, the breezes are cool, everything's else is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Hola Larry & Debby! We wish we could offer you a beachfront Villa for your next stay here in Flamingo, but it is just not feasible... We certainly enjoyed your visit here in 2016 and look forward to your return to the area next season.
Thanks for your kind words about the facilities here and the gardens, etc.... You will be rewarded to know that we have finally managed to find some frying pans with ceramic bottoms, so hope we will not have any more problems with scratched Teflon. (We've been looking for this type of fry pan for years and finally found some in the area!)
Currently, we are winding down from the "High Season" and are finding time to do some serious garden maintenance... (Always something to do here in our little corner of Paradise!)
To date, the new marina has not started construction yet, but we are just about holding our breath for it now! It will be a major addition to the infrastructure of the entire area, and will give us something new to watch from our hillside location over Potrero Bay.
Looking forward to seeing you next year here in our little corner of Paradise! ... PURA VIDA! Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drrheum
canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow these reviews are so true!!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We are a family of 5 from Toronto and just spent a spent a week in Costa Rica for the first time. We are happy to confirm with what has been said that this place is paradise! It is located at Playa Flamingo with stunning ocean and mountain views. In the morning you will wake up with the beautiful scenery, sunshine, and sounds of the wildlife i.e. birds and monkeys! The villas are large, gorgeous, clean and have a complete kitchen On the property are two lovely swimming pools. Flamingo beach and the beaches nearby are clean and stunning right out of a post card!. The nearest beach is only a 5 minute walk away. The location of the villas is an ideal base to explore Costa Rica, with hot and sunny weather during the dry season. The hosts Igor and Tom are delightful. They are extremely friendly and helpful from the time you make a reservation right until check out. Kudos to them for building this place of paradise! We give Villas Casa Loma our highest recommendation!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
It was a great pleasure to have you all staying with us here in our little corner of Paradise ! We thoroughly enjoyed you all and the fact that you were able to squeeze so much enjoyment from your visit, too. As you were able to see, the beaches here all have their own special "character", which makes it a really exciting experience to visit and compare them. So glad, too, that you were able to experience some of the excellent local restaurants - as well as to sample a variety of unique and special tours available here. (Next time we hope that you will also see some crocodiles, along with the other wildlife that you witnessed.) We most certainly look forward to seeing you all again one day soon ... and don't forget to bring your senses of adventure and humour with you once more ! As you have discovered, it really pays off ! Pura Vida ! Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing