We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
118
35
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
118
35
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews third floor short walk to the beach perfect stay surf break air conditioned enrico playa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 165 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Sugar’s Monkey for 5 nights in February 2019. The place is super laid back with a really great beach vibe. We were so happy that we did not stay in Tamarindo which is much more touristy. It was a few minutes walking distance from a beautiful beach. They organized surf lessons for my 2 teenagers. Gabriel the instructor is very experienced and my kids thought he was great. There was a great market on Wednesday nights where you can meet all the locals and guests staying the area.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nadler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

I can’t say enough good things about Sugar’s Monkey. It is a low key little hotel with such a cozy feel and personal touch when it comes to service.

The Loft was absolutely perfect for our 7 night stay in Playa Grande. The bathroom was a good size and the kitchenette area was perfect for what we needed. We should have used the kitchenette more but the restaurants around Playa Grande were just too good.

The king sized bed in the Loft was extremely comfortable and the highlight to the Loft is the quasi roof top deck where you can check out the stars at night.

The staff here were so personable and accommodating.

I would recommend Sugar’s Monkey to anyone. It really is a hidden gem. Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t the Ritz Carleton, but for those who are budget conscious it is an absolute steal. The big plus is that it is maybe 200 metres to the beach.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank S8912KGgaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2019

The hotel is quiet with a nice pool. Enrico and Victoria are nice hosts. The only downside was that the breakfast was expensive. $8 for a small sandwich, left me hungry and i had to eat again later. The vibe is like a hostel.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. Awesome pool and bar with very friendly and helpful staff! The room was huge with a comfy bed. The beach entrance was just on the other side of the road. Shower is pretty weak but we were swimming every day so didn't matter. Make sure you check out Playa carbon whilst you're there!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Korean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

Just completed a week’s stay at SM and it was awesome. The area is a cozy strip of restaurants and nearly private beach access. The pool was great and beach was awesome, all 11 of us loved it! My parents had one of the deluxe rooms on third floor and my two boys and cousin had a group room with refrigerator and microwave. The restaurant was a bit pricey and took some time to get food, so early morning departures it was great to have snacks and drinks available. Loved having dinner next door for sushi and at the Rip Jack Inn!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank antoniotheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews