We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Casa Camaleon”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joelle J
1 review
“Casa Camaleon”
Reviewed January 25, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Excellent location, a 5 minute walk to the beach. Good size bedrooms and clean. Nice patio out front and a laundry line as well as utility sink in the back garden. Towels are provided for the bathroom and the beach and washed every 3-4 days. Good wifi in the living room and outfront on the patio. Kristie (the property manager) is very sweet and helpful. A laundry service is available upon request.

Rent a car in Playa Grande because Taxi service around Playa Grande is non existent and restaurants are few and far between.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielS43...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”
Reviewed December 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Good: the property manager, Kristi, was great. We stayed 16 nights and had a number of "emergencies" that she responded to quickly. Kristi also helped us with local info, set up surf lessons, and is a very nice person that we enjoyed talking with and hanging out with. As far as the Casa itself, the place was very clean, the maid does a great job, and the outside shower is really nice coming off the beach. The inside shower is a typical "suicide shower" with a weak trickle of water. Speaking of beach, the Casa is literally a 3 minute walk from one of the most beautiful beaches in CR. The beds were very good, the AC worked great, and you could hardly hear the other guests. There is a clothes line and each room has an outside sink - good for rinsing out clothes and then drying. There is no guest laundry machine available but they'll do a load for you for a few bucks. Also, management supplies beach towels and room towels twice a week. The Casa is in the Palm Estates (far south) end of Playa Grande and we did not have a car, but there are a half dozen restaurants and one small market that you can walk to easily. The much bigger town of Tamarindo is just a few hundred yards south but there is a crocodile estuary in between so you have to take a water taxi ($1) and they stop running at 4:30pm so if you want to be in Tamarindo in the evening it's a $30 cab ride to get back.

The Bad: not necessarily bad, but the kitchen and common room areas are quite small, which is a bit hard to tell from the pictures. The kitchen consists of a small range/oven, a 3/4 size refrigerator, a sink, and a few pots, pans and knifes (no microwave), as well as silverware and plates, cups, etc. for 4 people. My wife and daughter managed to cook a dozen good meals in the tiny kitchen, but you have to plan ahead with your food since preparation ability is very limited. There is also a coffee maker. For 3 of us staying for so many nights, it was pretty tight, and there isn't much room to store your clothes, etc. - one set of shelves in the master and that is it. We ended up having to move around furniture at different times of day just to have a path to the front door, or to the bedrooms, etc. We were 3 people with three large suitcases of clothes, etc. - so were constantly adjusting things around just to make enough room to function.

The Ugly: maintenance was a bit of an issue. Our coffee maker did not work (Kristi replaced it ASAP), we had light bulbs out in a couple of places, and the kitchen sink leaked, and the bathroom faucet was messed up. All these things got fixed during our stay but we did have to devote some time to being there when the maintenance man was working on the fixes. The other thing, and maybe this is standard in CR (since our frame of reference is U.S. hotels), is that many things you would think would be provided are not. Toilet paper is provided, but not coffee filters (but each room has a coffee maker!), no soap at all, no shampoo, etc. There were no hand towels, washclothes or kitchen towels (but Kristi brought us some smaller towels upon request that we used in the kitchen and bathroom). The outside area looks great in pictures and the hammock indeed is very nice, but it is a much smaller area than pictures indicate - the outside living was maybe 4 feet wide by 8 feet long - but with mango, plantain and coconut trees just a couple of feet away.

Summary - Casa Camaleon is quiet, clean, small, rustic - and with a great location very close to the beach. It was more primitive than what we are used to, but you can't beat the location if you want to spend a lot of time on the beach, and if you don't plan on doing a lot of cooking or mind being in fairly tight quarters this is a nice choice - and you won't find a better property manager than Kristi.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBencho...
Blue Ridge Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“perfect for the traveler”
Reviewed February 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

First thing I will say is the property manager Murat is 'chill' personified. What a great guy, and very helpful, and great to talk with. The apartments are basic with what you need to be happy at the beach. No TV ( who needs it?) so go enjoy where you are because it is paradise.The kitchen made it less expensive and easy.Birds, lizards and monkeys ply the trees above , and I honestly saw only two moskitos. The AC is nice the shower hot and the beach is very close. The restaurants and grocery are within an easy walk.I have to say when I return to Playa Grande I will stay here again. It is a great spot , and we met very cool fellow travelers there as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
little1Me...
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A home in Paradise”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this property with my fiancee and two girlfriends over the christmas/ new year period.

All of us had been travelling for quite sometime and this was simply heaven for us. The property was spotless and homely, comfy beds, excellent working aircon & wifi. All within a short walking distance to the beach.

Sharr and the family were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we need. Right from the get go to the end of our stay Sharr went above and beyond to help us with everything, from where to buy groceries to where to surf.

There are only 4 other apartments which means it is very private, however we also enjoyed the other guests company sharing the communal bbq for some christmas festivities.

I highly recommend a relaxing get away from it all in beautifully natural Costa Rica :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing