We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Montelaguna Boutique Hotel(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flying Crocodile(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Samara Inn(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach(Playa Samara)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tico Adventure Lodge(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador de Samara(Playa Samara)
US$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
319
291
182
115
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
291
182
115
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barall inclusive packagewild horsesa la carte restaurantcosta ricain townall inclusive plansmall resortgreat resortadventure tourbar tenderhorseback ridingfacing the oceanzip liningliberia airportwatermelonlow tide
Filter
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a great place for families who need a pool, a beach and food all in one spot. The Villas themselves are dated with office style vertical blinds and older furniture. The beachfront area is great. But I would say that if you are looking for a more authentic experience of this hippy dippy little beach town, there are other boutique hotels that lend themselves to that experience. This hotel also has big tour groups come in so the bar in the pool can get a little loud some nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a Villa away from the pool. Beachfront is best.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChichesterYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We vacationed at Hotel Villas Playa Samara in April 2012 and had a fabulous time.The grounds were beautifully landscaped and very clean. The villa was a little worn and dated, but was quite comfortable and quaint. The staff and service were great. The food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. We especially enjoyed the beach and the sunsets were incredible. Samara Town is about a 30 minute walk up the beach, but be sure to go during low tide. In town there are a number of shops where you can purchase souvenirs, and any necessities you may need. We really enjoyed our vacation at this resort and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This trip was absolutely AMAZING!! I can not tell you enough how much me and my girlfriend were blown away by our recent vacation! We went on this trip to celebrate her graduation from college and couldnt have asked for a better trip! The best way is to put the villas into pros and cons.

PROS;
1. LOCATION....the views are amazing! There are some villas on the back end of the resort that do not have the perfect view of the ocean but there are many that do. We were in a ''garden view'' villa which still has a great view of the ocean. We were about 200 yards away from the beach and were still able to get great views of the ocean and even the horses walking along the beach! So even if you get a garden view it could still have a great view of the water! Samar is only a 7 dollar us cab ride away and they have good souveniers and night life!

2. VALUE....we were on a groupon deal which we got at an amazing rate for all inclusive which was three meals a day....all drinks including alcohol as long as it was national (all costa rican) which was amazing and i hope we can find it in the states!! The food......WOW! Eating Filet minon and tenderloin twice a day is nothing to complain about! And there were no bad meals! All of the meals were incredible!!

3. SERVICE....The entire staff here was excellent!! From check in....which was great because check in was at 4 and we arrived at 1 and our room was available and ready so we were able to get right in! Every server....bartender (which Luis and Blylan were awesome) the managers and even the architect who was there every day and extremely friendly...were awesome and made us feel very welcome. We really felt welcomed and it was as if we it was a true honor to help or serve us!!

********CONS**********

1. BUGS.....Now if you are expecting to travel to costa rica and not encounter bugs and other forms of wild life then this is not the place for you. However we knew going in that it would be somewhat of a bother but if you prepare, then you will be ok. GET SOME OFF!!! You will need it for the musquitos!! They are relentless!! I dont think ive been bitten more times in a 4 day span as i was there, but like i said i was expecting it so it wasnt something that ruined the trip! While prepared, we still were bitten around 100 times haha!

2. IGUANAS....Not particulary a con for me however if they scare you...be ready! They are everywhere on the property, But please do not be swayed because they will absolutely not bother you! At all! They stay away and run but if seeing them makes you skiddish...beware!

3. TIME.....there is not enough unless you plan on living here!! This whole vacation was remarkable and we highly recommend this location for a vacation to costa rica!!

Room Tip: Ocean view and Garden view.....ask for one with the hammock....it makes the trip so much more enjoyable!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at the Villas Playa Samara in March 2012. The resort itself is very pretty, lovely landscaping. The older rooms are not so nice but the newer ones are VERY nice. They moved us after a couple of days to a new room and it made a difference. The food is not very good. The bartender at the pool bar is not the friendliest, However the location is great, right on the beach and the sunsets are amazing. The town of Samara is nice and there are many options for eating, drinking and shopping local things. I wouldn't stay again but we did enjoy our time. Its a good deal with the groupon

Room Tip: request a new room or one on the beach
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I spent a week on an all inclusive package at Villas Playa Samara at the beginning of April. The beach really is the most beautiful we have ever seen and we are seasoned travelers. This hotel is ideal if you are looking for a low key relaxing break. If you are looking for a party atmosphere or 5 star service, look elsewhere. This is a 3 star hotel and we felt that it was good value. With a few minor repairs and a little tlc, this hotel would be outstanding as the location is unparalleled.

The villa we were first put in we didn't like as it was one of the non renovated ones even though our package stipulated that we were to have a renovated villa. We went back to reception and without any fuss were quickly given keys to a villa two doors down that was a massive improvement. The villas are large in size, with comfortable beds and great outdoor patios with a hammock. Ours had a great view of the ocean and we felt very at home. The cleaning was a bit patchy, some days the bins were not emptied and other days the cleaning lady did not come until 3 pm.

There were never any problems with sun loungers by the pool or at the beach and the most fantastic thing was that there were no hawkers trying to sell us anything which was very refreshing.
The beach is clean and safe, with security guards discreetly patrolling, the sand is soft and the water in the ocean is very warm. There are a few stones on approach into the water but overall it's mostly a sandy bottom. Definitely take the kayaks out to the island, it's a quick 10 minutes and you will feel like Robinson Crusoe.
We walked into Samara town along the beach which takes roughly 20-30 mins but go at low tide, otherwise the currents can be quite dangerous and it will take much longer.

The hotel was not very busy when we arrived and we found ordering from the menu very easy. The service wasn't quick but Alfredo, who we got to know quite well by the end of our trip, was great. There were plenty of food options, all well prepared and fresh. The red snapper is amazing! Towards the end of our trip a large group arrived and then we had the buffet for one night which, as discussed in previous reviews, wasn't as good.
The drinks at the bar are fantastic, you have got to try the strawberry daiquiri, it's phenomenal!
My advice is, manage your expectations and you will have a great time!

Room Tip: Insist on a renovated villa, the closer to the beach the better.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InterExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews