We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Las Ranas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lodge Las Ranas
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great place to stay as long as you have your own transport. Well run, clean, good breakfasts and good value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StanandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
On behalf of all of the staff at Lodge Las Ranas, I would like to thank you for your kind review.

Pura Vida,

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    52
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
69
161
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Location was outside of dowtown Samara, but easily accesible by car or walking. Great views of the beach and surrounding areas.. a relaxing and beautiful setting. The pool and lounge area were excellent and rarely used by other guests, well maintained and perfect to relax around. Rooms were good sized and well maintained. Air conditioning worked well and overall very clean complex. Cody and his staff are what make the difference. Extremely helpful and knowledgable of the area and information on excursions and restaurants. Staff made the trip enjoyable and very relaxing meeting every need quickly and professionaly. Would highly recommend this location looking for quiet off the beach and downtown areas. A fantastic complex with fantastic staff!!

Room Tip: rooms 4 and 5 were upper rooms with idea views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
All of the staff here at Lodge Las Ranas would like to thank you for your review and for staying with us. We always enjoy hearing that we were able to play a part in a wonderful vacation in Costa Rica for our guests.

We wish you all the best and thank you for choosing Lodge Las Ranas

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was our sixth trip to Costa Rica and we had never before visited Playa Samara. It is about an hour and a half south west of the Liberia airport, all on paved well maintained roads. The town is an old beach town, much like Tamarindo was 15 years ago. The beach is spectacular, clean, and warm water. Good restaurants and the usual beach type artigianal mix of shops.
Las Ranas sits up on a hill about a half mile from the beach with a spectacular view of Samara Bay as well as the Pacific Ocean to the north. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, air conditioned and have balconies or patios to enjoy in the evening. Nearby are a troop of howler monkeys that travel in the trees in search of food.
The hotel has a beautiful pool and nearby open restaurant and puts on a beautiful breakfast each morning. The fellow managing it is a very friendly Canadian by the name of Cody and his assistant Sterling (Costa Rican) is very helpful, speaks english very well and loves to talk about his country ans is very helpful.
This was the perfect get away for my wife and I and we will return many more times to this town and this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
All of us here at Lodge Las Ranas would like to thank you for the review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed not only Lodge Las Ranas but also Playa Samara.

We look forward to seeing you again the future.

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Location, location, location. Playa Samara is one of the best beach towns in Costa Rica that we have visited, however, it can be a very busy and noisy surfer town at night. Which makes the location of Lodge Las Ranas Perfect, It is a short 5 minute drive or $4 dollar cab ride from Playa Samara. On top of a hill overlooking 2 beaches, the setting is perfect. Rooms and pool are clean as are all the faciities and the staff is extremely helpful. We even came in one night extremely late without our room key after everything at the lodge was shut down for the evening and the staff was more than willing to help us get into our room. We felt bad waking them, but they said as always, no problem! Breakfast were typical Costa Rican, but included.

We only had 2 problems while staying here. First, the steep driveway is not conducive for 2 way traffic and encountered another vehicle coming head on so had to back up the steep, single lane grade which was a little nerve racking (but we survived and not a deal breaker). The other issue, and I'm from the US was being embarrassed how another fellow American treated the staff when she arrived and did not have a reservation... she ranted and raved and the staff did everything the could do to help her... I would not have been as accommodating and my wife and I even appologized for her actions. Travelling Yanks could take a good lesson from the Costa Ricans on how to act when they are away from Home.

Thanks for our wonderful stay, Lodge Las Ranas... We'll be back! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: #5 has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohioaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for choosing us as your accommodations here in Playa Samara. I am very pleased that the peace and quiet surrounded by nature helped you enjoy your time.

We hope to see you again soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here from Jan 27 2012 to Feb 10, and to sum it up in a sentence.. This hotel is awesome! I am not one to write a review, just because i never think about doing it, however, after our two weeks there, i thought that other people should know that if they are in the Samara area and would like a smaller, more intimate, personal hotel experience then they should cart their butts on over to Lodge Las Ranas because it will not disappoint!
Location: As you have read, it's slightly out of town, on a huge hill, with an awesome view. It is super quiet, peaceful, a real getaway experience. We didn't have a rental car for the first week, and walked to town/beach which took about 25 minutes. We weren't in a hurry to get anywhere, so i would think you could do it in less time. And a cab ride back was a measly 4 dollars. If peace and quiet are your thing, this is it.
Rooms: VERY clean, we had a small kitchen, well stocked with a bar fridge, microwave, pots pans, dishes, etc. Didn't cook at all, but you easily could if you chose to. The patios are super private, with awesome views, Ask for Room 1, it was great. The housekeeping did a great job every day. As you can see, my rating on sleep quality was only a very good and not excellent because the mattress was too firm for my liking, but not terrible by any means, i guess I just prefer a softer bed, but who cares, it was fine just the same.There is AC which was awesome at times, cause if you've never been, Costa Rica is hot hot hot!
Food; Breakfast is included if you get the typical Costa Rica breakfast, which was great and a lot of food. If you want a different kind of breakfast( french toast, American style, pancakes) it was a few bucks. No big deal. On a side note, Costa Rica bacon is fantastic, and this coming from a Canadian...
Service: What can i say? Cody and his gang, were beyond words in terms of accommodating and helpful. Cody was a jack of all trades around the hotel, manager, serves breakfast, answered my stupid questions, pointed out monkeys around the hotel, showed me weird bugs I've never seen, recommended local bars (What a time that was..!!!), recommended hideaway beaches, Google mapped our way to different locations, all around a funny, awesome dude, that is doing a great job with his little piece of paradise.

To sum it up, stay here. You won't be sorry.
See you soon!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1-it has an amazing view and you can see monkeys all the time. Plus you get an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misplacedcanadian345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hola from Lodge Las Ranas and Gracias! Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your two weeks in Costa Rica and that we were able to be a part of it.

Thank you for letting us share the Pura Vida lifestyle with you!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

The rooms are clean and attractive, the setting is magnificent (great sunset viewing) and the staff beyond helpful and pleasant. The breakfast menu needs a little tinkering (no protein in the veggie breakfast)
All in all, one of the best hotel experiences we've had anywhere.
Michael.

Room Tip: Internet access was a problem for us. Rooms 9 & 10 had the worst reception for WiFi. All the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
On behalf of al of the staff, I would like to thank you for this review and for the suggestions. Although we don't currently offer wifi in the rooms, steps are currently being taken to get the internet reception from the restaurant/lobby area into all of the rooms.

Thank you for staying with us!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I honestly feel that what made my last trip to Costa Rica so special was Lodge Las Ranas. The location is ideal....on a wonderful bluff overlooking Samara Beach and the jungle. The rooms were perfect....wonderfully designed with a nice balcony. The best part of the place is the staff. Cody is a true gentleman and helped me more than once with rental suv issues personally....(to the extend of helping me get out of a real bad situation where my rental suv failed on me and in the process got stuck pretty badly). He came down from the resort to help rescue the truck on his 4 wheeler. He also helped find some perfect beach locations outside of just Samara Beach. Just a great guy and for someone that doesn't know the area well, you can really count on him to make it easy. He personally made my first trip to Samara very carefree and relaxing.

I cannot say enough about this place. I look forward to many return trips to Las Ranas in the years to come.

My only issue...being awakend on my last morning there at 6:30am with a family of monkeys yelling outside my balcony as they passed through the trees. : ) Amazing stuff.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunello16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review you have written for Lodge Las Ranas. I am very happy I was able to assist you with the problem you had with your rental and that it was quickly resolved.

I hope to see you again in the future!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
4.3 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Las Ranas

Property: Lodge Las Ranas
Address: Mts Al Oeste del Cruce de Cangrejal 800 | Box 24, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Las Ranas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 rooms that all have a magnificent view of two different beaches as well as mountain and jungle views. All rooms come with: Queen-size bed, Air conditioning, Wireless Internet, safe, small refrigerator, private balcony with ocean view and hot breakfast included. We are located a short distance from Samara and the beach which allows guests to take short 15 min walk or an inexpensive taxi ride if they so choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Lodge Las Ranas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Las Ranas Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing