We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Up and Coming Again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Iguanazul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Iguanazul
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Up and Coming Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2015

Another happy accident. We stayed at a neighboring "B&B" the previous night...that did not serve breakfast so we walked down the beach to Hotel Iguanazul and had a delightful breakfast; liked the grounds and when we had to stay over another night for car repairs we checked in here. Upon arrival my spouse tripped and went splat...no serious injury but scrapes and the staff were right there, concerned and helpful. They brought first aid supplies and sent extras on with us to our room. This was the first of several over and beyond the calls of kindness and attention shown us, and others as we observed the next couple days.
The hotel has changed ownership recently and rather than close for needed renovations, due to demand they remained open so there are some signs of on-going work, cleanup and upgrading--but it seems to be happening steadily without impinging upon guests too much. We found the rooms to be a bit spartan of furnishings, but upon request chairs were quickly arranged--having been overlooked in there re-decorating I think.
The pool is large, attractive and the "centerpiece" of the courtyard area sided by bar and al-fresco restaurant dining, so a popular gathering spot looking directly out to the beach. They would benefit from adding some sun-shelters about the pool, but there are a couple covered picnic tables with hammocks further down the hill toward the beach--but grab quick, they are popular! Some other amenities like pool table, chess board are there; and the free wi-fi worked fine.
Meals were above average in quality and presentation, and bit below the mean for costs in similar establishments nearby.
Given the shear pleasantness of the facility and setting we chose to stay an extra day just for the pleasure of it. The real attraction at this time is the care and attention from staff, and the clear signs that the new management is moving to make this facility shine for the dollar charged. Only a bit of time will confirm, perhaps watch for more recent reviews, but our stay was a delight as it was, and suspect the next will be even better.

Room Tip: Ask about ocean view if important, some rooms in back seem dark; older style with few windows in som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quakerspices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Hi "Quackerspices". Thanks so much for your wonderful review of the Hotel Iguanazul. While I'm sorry to hear of your spouses spill, I'm delighted that you were so well cared for and that our excellent staff left such a pleasant impression.
We, very much, appreciate your patience with the renos. They are, indeed, coming along nicely and we're always interested in suggestions from our guests.
We also really appreciate that you took the time to write this review and let the world know that the Hotel Iguanazul is such a special place to stay in Costa Rica.
Please join our Facebook and Twitter feeds to keep pace with what's happening at the hotel and for any up-coming promotions.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    30
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2015

Beautiful view of the ocean. Nice pool with a bridge over it. Nice landscaping. Fairly cordial staff. Limited access to transportation (only uses a few vans that charge per person US $30; 1 hr from airport). Great breakfast, lunch, and lots of tasty natural juices (sour sop, passion fruit, mango, and papaya). I didn't like having a meal and seeing dogs and cats roaming in the dining hall. One guest had his dog in his lap and barked at us and three other dogs roamed in without owners. There was a cat on premises that followed us and tried to be in all our photos :-) I had the eco room which meant no AC, no TV, no iron, no blow dryer. We had free wifi but it didn't work very well in the bedroom on my phone. The nights were very cool at night so it wasn’t a big deal that we didn't have an AC. There was also a ceiling fan. Ok room in the sense of being clean and roomy, but nothing fancy to write home about or photo worthy. My experience: you walk into a fairly dusty reception area with two book cases, then move to open dining area and viola beautiful pool and ocean view. Walk to your room surrounded by rich vegetation and walk into your room and feel blah. But the friendly staff and the tasty food took my mind off the room. Went to the beach for sunset, it was gorgeous but we were being attacked by mosquitoes. So we went to the pool. Some American music played and the bar stayed open, no entertainment (I was spoiled by Princess Cruise). Beach towels were available for the pool.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are near the pool. Its beautiful but if you want a quiet room get one in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWorldInTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate any and all feedback.
As you know, the hotel has recently changed ownership and we appreciate your patience while we work through the last, remaining re-touches.
We're very pleased with the way the hotel has taken shape during our re-design and are always looking for ways to improve things.
Thanks also for the wonderful photos you added. They're really gorgeous and show off the spectacular sunset beautifully.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armstrong, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2015

Hey are you looking for paradise. If you go south on HWY 21 from Liberia airport and make a right just outside of Santa Cruz then you're almost there. A half hour down this road brings you to the Hotel Iguanazul. My girlfriend and I visited what Frommers refers to as the second best view in all of Costa Rica this March. What a view it is, unobstructed views of crystal blue water . Perched atop a 50 foot cliff the Iguanazul is location, location , location.
We met up with the new owners Donny and Larry. Larry was busy most of our stay but Donny turned out to be one of the most amicable people you'll ever meet and a wealth of knowledge on pretty much anything one would want to know about Costa Rica. Donny has been spending time in CR for over 20 years and didn't miss much. He is able to assist guests on everything from where to fish to where to eat and my girlfriends favorite-where to shop.
We met other guests who come anually to surf the waves out front of the hotel. While not surfers ourselves, we did lounge around and in the pool, it was an experience to witness the action that we don't see at home. In the evenings at sunset time guests and locals alike gather on the cliff edge, obligatory cocktails in hand, to witness and enjoy what is the most fabulous sunset imaginable, simply breath taking.
The menu was great, the food even better. A different dinner special every night, each meal we had was perfect. One afternoon a local fisherman came by with a giant fish of some sort. The chef came out, inspected it and purchased it on the spot to prepare for that evenings dinner special. The fish had just been caught from the shore below the hotel. How fresh is that ???
This was the first trip to CR for us and we will be going back in November. First stop, Hotel Iguanazul. We look forward to sharing cocktails with Donny and the rest of the staff. We have to go back because we promised all the staff we would see them again, :)

Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! The views are really quite stunning aren't they? We're really glad to hear you had a great time and are planning on visiting us again in November. Hey, maybe in November you can try surfing?! Just ask the front desk staff to find you the best surf instructor in town and hang 10 (or maybe just 5 for a first time ;) Or you could slow the pace down with a paddleboard, that's more my style.
We look forward to seeing you in November. Don't forget to follow us on Facebook and Twitter. We post lots of pix and our nightly menus to help you feel like you're always a part of the Hotel Iguanazul family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2015

The Iggy has a million dollar view that won't break your budget! I discovered the Iguanazul in 1993 and have been back every year thereafter. There is no better place to see a sun-set than on the cliffs of the Iguanazul. Hence why their Happy Hour is the place to be!
Pura Vida.

  • Stayed February 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie82015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Hi Rosalie,
Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay this year and look forward to seeing you again next year!
Don't forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook. We're trying to post photos and menus daily so that you can feel like you're there, even when you're not.
Cheers and thanks again,
The Hotel Iguanazul Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamarindo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2015

I'm a business owner in Guanacaste and have lived here since 2003 and was compelled to advise people that this is by far the best getaway for everyone. Set on a palm covered cliff side over looking a open ocean reef, and Playa blanca, a small secluded white sand beach. The rooms are spacious, the restaurant was excellent, and service was outstanding! I recommend spending time here with family, friends, and definitely romantic interests...I will be back soon Donny Reid!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank howler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Thanks so much for your wonderful recommendation! We're really excited to be a part of the Guanacaste community. Don loves having locals drop in for a drink, an event or just to watch the beautiful sunset. If you haven't already please check out our website, we're always looking for local businesses to reciprocate with. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Iquanazul hotel in February. We've stayed at this hotel off and on (mostly on) since 1998. I guess it's obvious that we love the place. It is under new ownership now and the new owner, Donny, is very personable and friendly. All the other reviews seemed to cover the new bedding etc. so I'll just say collaborate what they said and say the rooms are very comfortable and clean.
The food was excellent. We had the seared tuna one night which was fresh and approaching "briefcase" size. It was served with mashed potatoes and a ton of perfectly cooked vegetables. Love the breakfast here too. The eggs are always perfect no matter which way they're prepared.....and the coffee; drink it black to truly enjoy the robust, dark roast flavor!
The staff at the hotel are top notch. We were especially happy to see that some the original staff remain at the hotel. Roberto, Arturo and Adolfo are like family. I can't say enough good things about them. They are all super helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding area and wildlife plus have good suggestions for places to visit around the country.
We will keep coming back as long as the Iquanazul is there to make our experience in Costa Rica complete!

  • Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubasue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
We're so glad you love the NEW Hotel Iguanazul! You can always refer to the new website at hoteliguanazul.com and our Facebook and Twitter pages to find out what's going on at the hotel. Can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2015

We started off by staying at the JW Marriott in Playa Manzita. The hotel was very nice and the staff was outstanding. After a few days we fell upon a small hotel on Playa Blanca beach. The hotel has 25 rooms and has the best beach in Costa Rica and view. The rooms are a little rustic but the bed is wonderful. The staff is extremely friendly and the food was good. All of the food and water is safe.

We found that we prefer a smaller boutique hotel over a large resort. This is truly a very hidden treasure and will be back next year.

In the local area we found great restaurants. If you're looking for pizza Kon Tiki Wood Over Pizza (GREAT)! A well hidden secret The Beach Box for breakfast or lunch.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Room 120 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Staci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thanks so much for your review Staci! We're delighted that you enjoyed our little paradise by the sea and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Costa Rica! Pura Vide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
2.5 km away
Hotel Playa Negra
Hotel Playa Negra
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.7 km away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 5 in Playa Junquillal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.3 km away
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
#1 of 5 in Playa Junquillal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel El Castillo Divertido
Hotel El Castillo Divertido
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
8.3 km away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iguanazul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iguanazul

Property: Hotel Iguanazul
Address: Playa Junquillal, Santa Cruz 50305, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iguanazul 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Iguanazul is located in the northern province of Guanacaste, on the Nicoya Peninsula at Playa Junquillal. We are 35km south of Tamarindo, on a cliff overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean The Hotel Iguanazul is a quiet boutique hotel where you can enjoy the white sands of Playa Blanca (part of Costa Rica's Blue Flag program), world class surf breaks, great snorkeling, spectacular sunsets and much more! We have relationships with several tour operators to satisfy your adventurous side and can arrange any excursion you with. Our nearby beaches are all pristine and you can walk virtually undisturbed for hours and hours. Book now to enjoy the beautiful Hotel Iguanazul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Iguanazul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iguanazul Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing