We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Iguanazul
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel El Castillo Divertido(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos de Eros(Tamarindo)
US$495
US$325
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seis Playas Hotel(Huacas)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guacamaya Lodge(Playa Junquillal)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tatanka(Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Playa Negra(Santa Cruz)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
26
31
13
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
31
13
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Beautiful view of the ocean. Nice pool with a bridge over it. Nice landscaping. Fairly cordial staff. Limited access to transportation (only uses a few vans that charge per person US $30; 1 hr from airport). Great breakfast, lunch, and lots of tasty natural juices (sour sop, passion fruit, mango, and papaya). I didn't like having a meal and seeing dogs and cats roaming in the dining hall. One guest had his dog in his lap and barked at us and three other dogs roamed in without owners. There was a cat on premises that followed us and tried to be in all our photos :-) I had the eco room which meant no AC, no TV, no iron, no blow dryer. We had free wifi but it didn't work very well in the bedroom on my phone. The nights were very cool at night so it wasn’t a big deal that we didn't have an AC. There was also a ceiling fan. Ok room in the sense of being clean and roomy, but nothing fancy to write home about or photo worthy. My experience: you walk into a fairly dusty reception area with two book cases, then move to open dining area and viola beautiful pool and ocean view. Walk to your room surrounded by rich vegetation and walk into your room and feel blah. But the friendly staff and the tasty food took my mind off the room. Went to the beach for sunset, it was gorgeous but we were being attacked by mosquitoes. So we went to the pool. Some American music played and the bar stayed open, no entertainment (I was spoiled by Princess Cruise). Beach towels were available for the pool.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are near the pool. Its beautiful but if you want a quiet room get one in the back. It is more like villas than a hotel, per se.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheWorldInTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate any and all feedback.
As you know, the hotel has recently changed ownership and we appreciate your patience while we work through the last, remaining re-touches.
We're very pleased with the way the hotel has taken shape during our re-design and are always looking for ways to improve things.
Thanks also for the wonderful photos you added. They're really gorgeous and show off the spectacular sunset beautifully.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Hey are you looking for paradise. If you go south on HWY 21 from Liberia airport and make a right just outside of Santa Cruz then you're almost there. A half hour down this road brings you to the Hotel Iguanazul. My girlfriend and I visited what Frommers refers to as the second best view in all of Costa Rica this March. What a view it is, unobstructed views of crystal blue water . Perched atop a 50 foot cliff the Iguanazul is location, location , location.
We met up with the new owners Donny and Larry. Larry was busy most of our stay but Donny turned out to be one of the most amicable people you'll ever meet and a wealth of knowledge on pretty much anything one would want to know about Costa Rica. Donny has been spending time in CR for over 20 years and didn't miss much. He is able to assist guests on everything from where to fish to where to eat and my girlfriends favorite-where to shop.
We met other guests who come anually to surf the waves out front of the hotel. While not surfers ourselves, we did lounge around and in the pool, it was an experience to witness the action that we don't see at home. In the evenings at sunset time guests and locals alike gather on the cliff edge, obligatory cocktails in hand, to witness and enjoy what is the most fabulous sunset imaginable, simply breath taking.
The menu was great, the food even better. A different dinner special every night, each meal we had was perfect. One afternoon a local fisherman came by with a giant fish of some sort. The chef came out, inspected it and purchased it on the spot to prepare for that evenings dinner special. The fish had just been caught from the shore below the hotel. How fresh is that ???
This was the first trip to CR for us and we will be going back in November. First stop, Hotel Iguanazul. We look forward to sharing cocktails with Donny and the rest of the staff. We have to go back because we promised all the staff we would see them again, :)

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! The views are really quite stunning aren't they? We're really glad to hear you had a great time and are planning on visiting us again in November. Hey, maybe in November you can try surfing?! Just ask the front desk staff to find you the best surf instructor in town and hang 10 (or maybe just 5 for a first time ;) Or you could slow the pace down with a paddleboard, that's more my style.
We look forward to seeing you in November. Don't forget to follow us on Facebook and Twitter. We post lots of pix and our nightly menus to help you feel like you're always a part of the Hotel Iguanazul family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

The Iggy has a million dollar view that won't break your budget! I discovered the Iguanazul in 1993 and have been back every year thereafter. There is no better place to see a sun-set than on the cliffs of the Iguanazul. Hence why their Happy Hour is the place to be!
Pura Vida.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalie82015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Hi Rosalie,
Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay this year and look forward to seeing you again next year!
Don't forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook. We're trying to post photos and menus daily so that you can feel like you're there, even when you're not.
Cheers and thanks again,
The Hotel Iguanazul Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

I'm a business owner in Guanacaste and have lived here since 2003 and was compelled to advise people that this is by far the best getaway for everyone. Set on a palm covered cliff side over looking a open ocean reef, and Playa blanca, a small secluded white sand beach. The rooms are spacious, the restaurant was excellent, and service was outstanding! I recommend spending time here with family, friends, and definitely romantic interests...I will be back soon Donny Reid!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side beachfront
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank howler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Thanks so much for your wonderful recommendation! We're really excited to be a part of the Guanacaste community. Don loves having locals drop in for a drink, an event or just to watch the beautiful sunset. If you haven't already please check out our website, we're always looking for local businesses to reciprocate with. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Iquanazul hotel in February. We've stayed at this hotel off and on (mostly on) since 1998. I guess it's obvious that we love the place. It is under new ownership now and the new owner, Donny, is very personable and friendly. All the other reviews seemed to cover the new bedding etc. so I'll just say collaborate what they said and say the rooms are very comfortable and clean.
The food was excellent. We had the seared tuna one night which was fresh and approaching "briefcase" size. It was served with mashed potatoes and a ton of perfectly cooked vegetables. Love the breakfast here too. The eggs are always perfect no matter which way they're prepared.....and the coffee; drink it black to truly enjoy the robust, dark roast flavor!
The staff at the hotel are top notch. We were especially happy to see that some the original staff remain at the hotel. Roberto, Arturo and Adolfo are like family. I can't say enough good things about them. They are all super helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding area and wildlife plus have good suggestions for places to visit around the country.
We will keep coming back as long as the Iquanazul is there to make our experience in Costa Rica complete!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scubasue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanazulHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Iguanazul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

We're so glad you love the NEW Hotel Iguanazul! You can always refer to the new website at hoteliguanazul.com and our Facebook and Twitter pages to find out what's going on at the hotel. Can't wait to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews