We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in Tamarindo”
Review of Soles y Margaritas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soles y Margaritas
Ranked #29 of 46 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hospitality given by the owner, Kurt, was amazing.
Its a beautiful quiet place at one of the hills in Tamarindo with views to the beach. The rooms are very spacious and clean including a toilet with shower and a/c. Relaxing by the pool on an evening having a beer or a cockrail and a BBQ is just "a must".

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandrobmdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Soles y Margaritas for 3 days before continuing our travels through Costa Rica and it was absolutely fantastic. Right when we got their we were greeted warmly from the owner Kurt alongside his two adorable extremely friendly little dogs, he took us to our room and we were highly impressed with the spacious room enclosed with its own kitchen (gas stove, toaster oven, freezer/fridge, coffee maker) as well as air conditioning a fan and comfy beds. What made us the happiest was that we had our own private bathroom and a pool right outside our sliding glass doors. The town and beach were a 6 minute walk away which was convenient and the beach was so beautiful. The only complaint we had were the noisy frogs outside our room at night, other than that this hostel is a perfect 10 and we would definitely come back and recommend it again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent over a month here, my hubby had a motor cycle accident prior to our visit to Costa Rica. We did an intensive rehab program here. The pool was fantastic. They have a 40 foot pool that is 4'8" deep. It was like having our own private facility to recover with a panoramic view, and amazing place to watch the sunsets. The kitchenette saved us a lot of money making the adventure more affordable. I took surfing lessons from Kurt the owner, he is an amazing instructeur. He knows what he is doing and takes great care and responsibility of his students in the water. He is very passionate in what he does and take pride in his work. He also gives great deals for those staying with him and taking surfing lessons. We highly recommend the experience with Kurt and his lovely family. :). We will be back!

Room Tip: Very quiet and private. A great place for anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utopianvoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent two weeks in one of two upstairs apartments equipped with a queen bed, ensuite bathroom, and kitchen with refrigerator and propane stove. There is a fabulous panoramic view of the ocean from the deck, and a wide variety of tropical birds fly by or rest in the nearby trees. Owner Kurt warned us to shake out towels and clothes as small scorpions find their way in, and sure enough, one morning we did find one underfoot. The rooms are basic but Kurt responds well with anything you need by way of kitchen utensils, fresh towels, or advice on local events or attractions. There is also a delightful small swimming pool on the grounds – a welcome feature on a hot day! Soles y Margaritas’ only drawback is that the shortcut from town to the hotel is up a steep dirt path (flashlight essential after dark) – although by the end of our stay we were climbing it without needing to catch our breath. There is a road but it winds around the hill and would be a much longer walk; of course taxis are plentiful as an alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room for the best view. Bring a flashight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just a 5 minute walk to the beach, with a great view of the beach. The rooms are large and clean and come with an equipped kitchen. The bed was comfortable. We felt very safe there. There is a nice pool and hot showers. There is AC, but we never used it, since we got a really nice breeze by opeing the windows.

The owners were warm, friendly and very helpful. Kurt, the owner is a fabulous surf teacher. He also rents boards for just $5/day (half the next cheapest place).

Occasionally, the water pressure in the rooms went down, but as soon as we mentioned it to the owners, they had the pump on and water pressure was back up in a few minutes.

If we return to Tamarindo, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CptAdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Very clean, very large room for a great price. Full kitchen and bath, a pool outside and friendly hosts. I'll go back to Tamarindo only to stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Great place, great location, great price, and great people. Kurt was our host, our tourist informant, surf teacher, and friend. The rooms are clean, comfortable, equipped, and secure. Wouldn't come back to tamarindo unless I could get a room here again. Awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDavis1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,532 reviews
8.9 km away
Casa Mapache
Casa Mapache
#1 of 1 in La Garita Nueva
38 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
8.3 km away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
251 reviews
1.5 km away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soles y Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soles y Margaritas

Address: Behind Botella de Leche, Up the Hill From Papayitas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Soles y Margaritas Costa Rica/Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing