We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
204
16
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
16
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shot of tequila banana bread place to stay other guests home away from home every morning costa rica perfect location on the beach new friends laid back great folks air conditioning worked well hotel owners fresh fruit surf break rooms are clean great hosts
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 227 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2018

The room was not very well maintained. The beds are not necessarily comfortable. The hotel room has a small frig, but doesn't work. There were no hair drier, coffee maker, or other amenities that a standard hotel should provide. The stairs to the second floor are not in the best shape. The complimentary fruit, muffins, and juice were provided in the morning only, and the supply is very limited. There is no dinning room to sit down. The parking in front of the hotel is free as you are parking on the street and may have difficulty finding a spot. I understand that some particular group is attracted to this location for very specific reasons, but I would not want to bring my family here again. The hotel price is high compared to benefits received.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cxcuun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Hotel Amarilla is the perfect hotel in Tamarindo. Situated in the center of town on the beach, the hotel has a beautiful lawn and hang out area with masseuse and lounge chairs. The owners are the best people in tow, from California originally and came down and turned the hotel into a gem from the previous owners. Super friendly, makes the best cookies and dip for chips and offer a tequila shot upon arrival. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and family that come down to Tamarindo!

They also have a great local surf instructor that works out front and offers great lessons!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravler1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018

Great host and all around good experience. Rooms were clean. Everything was reasonably priced. We had to leave a day early and that was no problem at all. Got sorted and no extra charges. I would stay there again for sure.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bfagli227331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

We loved having guys here . Hope you will come back again... Come as strangers leave as family...
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is literally home away from home on the beach . Relax vibe with fun hosts . Clean rooms with a trustworthy staff . The surf instructors are good local kids that speak decent English . I will be back regularly

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Cory
So glad you enjoyed the vibe here at Villa Amarilla. We love that you just came for a day and stayed a couple of days.
P.S. your friend Garth made his way down here .... thank you for the referral
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018 via mobile

The place located on the beach w a gate to walk in and in the center of the Main Street of Tamarindu. Supper friendly owners willing to help with everything.
Easy going ppl. The place fit to easy going as well. Different sizes of room. Clean. And fun place thank you !
We will see you again. (My 8y old boy paint you logo :)
Nijhuis family pachamama

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vaya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Vaya
Thank you for taking the time to review us. With kids it's hard to find time to do anything.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews