We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$202
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Tamarindo(Playa Langosta)
US$160
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$312
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$300
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$267/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hacienda JJ(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Palapa(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Botella de Leche Hostel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
87
39
6
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
39
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsmall poolgreatest placewalking distance from towncosta ricaair conditioningrooms are cleanminutes walkingenjoyable stayshort walk from the beachcleaned dailyeasy accessbars and restaurantsthe main stripsmall hotelhot watergreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 142 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2018 via mobile

We enjoy this cosy little hotel. Joyce the owner welcome us nicely. She made sure we respect her room linen.
Room are cosy, bathroom is old but clean. Hot water is control manually and works fine.
The pool is small but enough to refresh after the time pass at the beach.
The price is very good.
You could buy at restaurant serve on site, breakfast with your choice of eggs, granola yogourt with fruits or waffles
Also rental beach and chairs available.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ginette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

We are so glad you chose us for your extended stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018

The owner and staff were awesome! It was exactly what wanted for my stay. A very chill vibe. I loved the courtyard/communal area. Wish I didn't have to leave! When I come back I plan on looking up the El Mono Loco hotel again!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tjhalligan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

We are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2018

The staff at El Mono Loco will make you feel like one of the family (special shout outs to Joyce and Guillermo!). My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights as our condo down the road was full of other family members. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. This budget friendly hotel has a serene courtyard where breakfast and delicious Costa Rica coffee is served every morning. Enjoy your coffee while relaxing on a rocking chair or hammock while peaceful iguanas stroll by. The staff made us feel very welcome and were extremely accommodating. Rooms are simply decorated and clean. The location is right across the road from the beach, which is less than a 1 minute stroll away. This hotel has the vibe of laid back Costa Rica, not the hectic pace of an all-inclusive. For a simple and real Costa Rica experience try the El Mono Loco

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank plu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

We are fortunate that your crowded condo gave us the opportunity to meet you; it was a pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018

We enjoyed our 3 day stay at Mono Loco.
This place is clean and under new management who clearly cares and will soon bring it to its full potential. Location is very convenient and very close to the beach.
Set in a lovely tropical garden, peaceful and quiet yet still very close to the stores and restaurants.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bohunka1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Our managers will be so happy to read your review; we think our location is so special, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

It's like an oasis in the crowded Tamarindo. Even better then it looks on the photo's! Beach across the street, downtown 2 minutes walking. Nice pool, large fridge for general use, spotless clean rooms. Breakfast not included in the price, we payed around $18 (10.000 Colones) for two persons.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sep51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Wow....what a review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews