We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hacienda JJ(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Palapa(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
US$303
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Botella de Leche Hostel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$509
US$314
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Occidental Tamarindo(Playa Langosta)
US$160
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
87
39
6
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
39
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsmall poolgreatest placewalking distance from towncosta ricaair conditioningrooms are cleanminutes walkingenjoyable stayshort walk from the beachcleaned dailyeasy accessbars and restaurantsthe main stripsmall hotelhot watergreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 142 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Only positive thing to say about this place was it was close to the beach. The room itself was dirty. I killed many mosquitoes shortly after entering the room for the first time. Only reason I didn’t complain to management is they would of used poisonous bug spray inside the room to kill the bugs. The bed sheets had some stains. The toilet had visible rust. The bed frame had dust on it. There was a nail sticking out of the window frame.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Hi David

As I said in response to your review on another site, we regret we could not accommodate your request to use our restaurant to do your personal cooking. Regarding your room, we implore all guests to let us know immediately if anything is not right. You had a couple of issues that we would have happily remedied. We ask all guests at check in and during their stay to alert us to any issues; we tend to them on the spot. Your other review also criticized our curtains, our lack of comforters, the hard bed, the bars of soap in the bathroom. It is apparent that you were somewhat unhappy in our little paradise. Our goal is a positive guest experience; we happily respond to guest requests in real time to that end, but we need to know when you are here.
Kind regards
EML

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018

What a wonderful place to stay: A nice, spacy room, good style and comfortable, friendly stuff, garden, pool, hammocks, good breakfast and just 50 metres from the large beach. We were happy all the week long.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jessirongube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

We enjoyed having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2018 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at mono loco. I stayed for 11 days. Accommodations were comfortable, clean, and the staff was awesome. Great location, awesome walk on beach to town but yet very quiet. It fit my budget perfectly, breakfast was great they also have the best burger in town when available. Mono Loco definitely helped make my solo excursion possible and I felt as if I were treated like family.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank IBandJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Totally agree about the burger.....soooo delicious. We loved having you here! We hope your tan hasn't faded too much....come back soon, JG.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018

Friendly and easy going staff. Good location to the beach. A no frills room but nonetheless adequate accommodation. Reasonably priced rooms and breakfast. Nice little gem enough away from the main beach but close enough to walk to all the attractions. Would stay here again !!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johnnyvend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

It was our pleasure! Do come back...pura vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018 via mobile

We enjoy this cosy little hotel. Joyce the owner welcome us nicely. She made sure we respect her room linen.
Room are cosy, bathroom is old but clean. Hot water is control manually and works fine.
The pool is small but enough to refresh after the time pass at the beach.
The price is very good.
You could buy at restaurant serve on site, breakfast with your choice of eggs, granola yogourt with fruits or waffles
Also rental beach and chairs available.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ginette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

We are so glad you chose us for your extended stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews