We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just returned from great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just returned from great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at Capitan Suizo in Playa Tamarindo for 4 nights in mid April. The room (#32) was very spacious and clean with large balcony overlooking lush gardens and pool. The beach was just beyond the pool. The staff was large in number, friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend the hotel.
The hotel is home to orphaned howler monkeys that are taken care of by the staff, raccoons, a porcupine and, of course, iguanas. The onsite restaurant served a nice complimentary breakfast of fruits, breads, eggs, etc. and, of course, is open for lunch and dinner.
The Liberia airport was recently upgraded and is now very efficient in getting you through immigration and customs. The hotel arranged transportation to and from the Liberia airport ($85 each way) by private van – just over an hour each way.
When returning to airport, stop first at Bancredito in airport terminal, pay the $28 per person departure fee (cash or cash advance on credit card) and fill out departure card before getting in line to check in.
Excursions and other activities (such as surfing lessons) can be booked at the hotel, but I suggest also checking with Xplor tour office in Tamarindo. We did an excursion to Canyon de Vieja ($155 per person or somewhat less with more than 2 persons) which offered ziplining (8 platforms), an hour of rafting through rapids, rappelling and rock climbing and mud bath with hot springs. A buffet lunch was also included. The driver who picks you up at the hotel (7:30 am) stays with you all day and returns you to hotel about 4:00 pm. The excursion was a lot of fun and I would recommend it for those who are looking for an adventurous tour.
A more relaxing tour was the boat trip at the Palo Verde National Park ($85 per person). During the one hour boat trip, we saw numerous crocodiles, birds, howler and white-faced monkeys, bats and lizards. Lunch was included as well as stops at local pottery and wood-making workshops, the town of Santa Cruz and, basically, any other stop you might want to make along the route. Again, we left hotel at 7:30am and returned about 4:00pm.
The town of Tamarindo is a short 10 minute walk via the beach and a few minutes more by road and offers several restaurants (I enjoyed the skewers of lobster, mahi mahi and shrimp and live music at Nibbana), tourist shops, markets, etc.
Rain fell one afternoon and visitors later this spring and summer should be prepared for more rain. The hotel provides umbrellas for each room. Mosquitoes were present mid afternoon, so bring bug spray. Some other tips – bring a flashlight if you plan to walk back to hotel at night from Tamarindo and don’t bother changing money as US dollars are readily accepted.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MMfromAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    217
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
333
625
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LeRoy, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Thanks Capitan Suizo for making our family vacation a great experience. From the moment we checked into our bungalow with me my husband and 2 kids 16 and 12 we were captivated and felt like we were in a dream land. A+ for the welcoming staff, great clean room, outside shower to look up and see and hear the animals in the trees while showering, comfy beds, lots of towels, hot water, enormous breakfast, yummy smoothies, animals everywhere!, monkeys to pet, great clean beach, beach chairs, and wonderful food we did not have to go anywhere for the 4 nights we spent there! Thanks for making a special birthday cake and singing for my daughters 17th birthday- beach candlelit dinner. We will come back! Kids never missed the TV nor did we! In bed at 8:30pm and back up at 5am waking up to sounds of birds and howler monkeys!

Room Tip: A/C bungalows are a great upgrade so close to pool and beach. No TV but why would you want one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalvay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here in March for 5 nights. Overall it was good but we did have some complaints. First off in my reservation I have specified adjoining rooms and was told that was not an issue . When we arrived we were told that adjoining did not mean connecting so our rooms were next to each other but not adjoining. In their materials in the room it says if yoga re traveling with more than 3 people and would like adjoining rooms with a connecting door , to let them know. So this was a big disappointment since we all squeezed into one room to sleep. The food was not so good at the restaurant, for breakfast there was no variety--no change from day-day. Our first night there we sat down for dinner at 645 and did not receive our meal until 815pm. Rosa at the activity was very helpful. The pool was nice and the grounds were pretty. Although there was shade to be found there are no umbrellas. The iguanas and monkeys scatter about the property which makes it feel more like being in the jungle. Town is a short walk away and had some great restaurants. The beach goes from very low to very high tide. Its great to walk along the beach early in the morning. I would go back but I would hop ether would be clearer about the room specifications the next time. You can only access the internet in the lobby and they do have 2 computers you can use. Our room had A/C which was good. We never used the balcony except to dry our wet clothes--too much bird droppings and it was tiny, perhaps one on the ground floor would be more enticing to use. Some of the staff spoke no english at all and that was challenging in the dining room. We could never find the fitness center or the spa--seemed to never be open.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Hotel is about 1 km from center of Tamarindo. About 20 min walk which is not easy during hot days. Swimming pool is nice, but the kids own the pool most of the day. Would be nice if the pool were cleaned of leaves more frequently. Food (lunch & dinner) were ok. b'fast was fine. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Internet only available in the lobby.
Rooms are very roomy, but no TVs. Great terrace. A/C is extra per night.
Beach was ok, but not great. Too many people walk their dogs on beach, so you have to be careful where you step. There is also a dog and several cats that live on the property. Watch out for aggressive birds trying to steal your french fries.
There is an animal rehab on the property, which is great to watch. Baby monkeys walk and play in the morning. Racoons visit the lobby at night. there is a porcupine that is healing of minor injuries. A large lizard can be seen sunning itself.
This is not a cheap place to stay for what you get.

Room Tip: A room next/near the monkey room will allow you to see the baby monkeys being cared for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in late March. We had a ground floor room with a terrace opening into the gardens. Room was large (4 of us slept in the room), and a spacious bathroom. Loved the room and first floor location. We could be on the beach in minutes. Also, it was only a 10 minute walk to the center of town. The beach is huge. Great for walking, and you can walk to town on the beach. Excellent concierge service to schedule outings. Front office staff was very helpful in finding restaurants. The breakfast was excellent, with lots of fresh tropical fruit. The one are the hotel could improve on is on staff interaction with the guests. They were helpful, but distant. Could be more outgoing and friendly. We had a more positive experience at another Costa Rican hotel related to staff interaction. Overall, we really enjoyed the stay here, and hated to leave.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms opening to the garden is a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great location, but hotel has not been updated in some time and looks shopworn in many places. Beware that the hotel's policy does not have any TVs. This may be OK in the dry season, but leaves guests with little to do when it's raining all day. Also their claimed gym is only exisiting on a hope and a prayer. Under an outdoor canopy (ever try to work out at 90 degrees, 90 percent humidity) the sit-up bicycle pedestal was falling off and the only other work-out machine a old multi-station that had one whole side frozen.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a/c. Many of the rooms do not have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sigrid32, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Frank A
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your valuable comments about our hotel. Positive comments are very gratifying but negative ones are undoubtedly very important to us, because they help us to react, review and improve our operation procedures & plans in order to achieve our main goal: our guests’ full satisfaction. During the last years our hotel was closed for several weeks towards the end of the rainy season, so that we could carry out our yearly maintenance work. In this climate this is crucial, as buildings can otherwise deteriorate fast. We agree that our gym equipment needs upgrading and are planning to do this in the very near future.
You also mentioned that there are no TV’s and I would like to once again take the opportunity to copy the owner’s viewpoint on this item from our guest-booklet in the rooms. In the section “Short History and Philosophy for Those Interested” the owner writes about the time during the construction of the hotel in the years 1992-1995.
‘In our rented house, there was no television or air conditioning and instead of windows there were mosquito screens. Because of this, we enjoyed the balmy evenings and nights of Guanacaste and in the mornings we woke up to the singing of the birds, the howl of the monkeys, the cockcrow and roaring of the sea. Again and again we became aware of the pleasantness and richness of Costa Rican nature and how restful a natural way of living can be. It was our intention to transmit this experience to our guests. We opted for an architectural style that would allow the sea breeze to pass freely through the rooms, with sufficient ventilation and sliding doors that permitted the room to be as open to nature as possible. As we weren’t able to have a television, we had the opportunity to experience how relaxing it is not to daily consume the often negative information, but instead spend time having valuable conversations, reading interesting books, observing and enjoying nature. An extraordinarily high number of guests who were staying with us during the time of construction confirmed that they felt the same way. Therefore, the question with or without television never became a topic. We took the decision to exclude televisions and in this way it became part of our philosophy.’
Yours sincerely,
Sigrid Engel – owner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great place to be on the beach, nice swimming pool, enough sunbeds, beach towels for free. Friendly staff. Large room and bathroom, with nice terrace and two comfortable chairs. Nice breakfast and good food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingemuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.3 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
9.8 km away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 km away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 22-50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo
Hotel Capitan Suizo Costa Rica/Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing