We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$202
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Occidental Tamarindo(Playa Langosta)
US$173
US$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hacienda JJ(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Botella de Leche Hostel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$516
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,416 results
Traveller rating
1,099
244
42
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,099
244
42
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscapitan suizohowler monkeyscosta ricain townsuperior roomboogie boardsoutdoor showertamarindo beachwalk along the beachour honeymoonbeautiful birdsbeautiful beachsitting areaair conditioninghigh tidelounge chairssurfing lessons
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 1,416 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

This luxurious boutique hotel is a marvelous escape from the daily grind. Beautiful rooms. Cheerful, competent multilingual staff. ⭐️⭐️⭐️ star dining. Great suggestions for activities and local food purveyors. Marvelous, swimmable beach. Surfing. Boogie boards. What fun!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2017

We stayed here for 8 nights. April 2017 The first night we had ants in our room. They came and sprayed. Which made things worse, when I went to take a shower and picked up a towel a cockroach fell out. We understand this hotel does not spray the grounds as to preserve the balance of nature. but I don't like sleeping with ants, spiders, cockroaches and such. The second night after they had sprayed our room again there was two spiders on the bed coming from the ceiling and more ants.The porch had tiny little spiders all over the out door furniture so it was unusable. The staff tried to make things right by up grading our beach front room 72 to the suite upstairs room 75. This room seemed a lot better only a few ants and what looked like termites. The view was amazing. But by the 2nd night in that room we noticed a funky smell. And could not figure it out what it was until.... We were woken up by the sound of liquid coming from the ceiling. Looked outside but no rain. It turned out to be urine for the Racoons that live on the roof. Called the front deck but no one came until maid service. She cleaned up the mess and her response was " There are animals living on the roof" that's it nothing else from the front desk. We only had one more night by this time. So we informed the front desk again as we were checking out. The hotel is beautiful. Staff is very friendly. But they really need to do some up keep on building 70. I'm sorry but you should NEVER have urine coming from the ceiling..

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2017

I have visited Costa Rica 7 times now. We go to different areas but always end up at Capitan Suizo! We love the beachfront bungalows. Everyone there is genuinely happy and helpful. The pool is perfect, food wonderful and beach beautiful! A truly amazing place!

Room Tip: The bungalows are all wonderful!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Betsy404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2017

Stayed here in August for my birthday. The hotel and grounds are lovely. We stayed in a bungalow and that was nice. The bathroom was a bit dated, but the room had everything one needed. Staff were friendly.
The hotel is located about a mile and a half form the city center. A walk along the beach during the day to get there. The walk at night along the street is a little isolated, but there is a taxi stand that will drive you in if you desire.
The hotel was over $300 per night and was a bit much for what it is. With that said, it is isolated and has a private beach feel to it. The hotels nearer the city center seemed to be teaming with people, so it is nice in that regard. Would probably come back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017

We have a family of four with twin 9 year old girls. Our choice for our out of country vacation was ultimately decided by safety, experience which includes culture among other things. Ultimately we decided on Tamarindo, Costa Rica due to recommendations from friends and after researching the area. The people are wonderful! Pura Vida!! Food and water is delicious, clean and widely available with many choices and styles.
Tamarindo is a great location for beach activities. We recommend the Hotel Capitan Suizo for sure and will return again. The rooms are warm, quiet with air conditioning. The food and drinks were delicious and the service was perfect every time. I spend a lot of time traveling for business and was very impressed by the level of detail the hotel staff takes to make each person feel welcome and taken care of. The location of the hotel takes you out of the hustle of downtown Tamarindo and is nestled in the forest, steps from the ocean and sunset views. We ate on the property but also walked into town on the beach almost every night to explore new restaurants, gelato and shops. Super safe with the kids and exciting. If you are considering a place to vacation, I would with no hesitation recommend Hotel Capitan Suizo in Tamarindo. We certainly will return. Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maturoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded April 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review, for recommending us and for being so specific on our strengths. It is very helpful for all those searching and planning a trip to Costa Rica and specially for those who prefers to stay in a beachfront hotel as you well described Capitan Suizo concept. We are really glad that you and your family spent a great stay with us and in Tamarindo in general. We hope to see you coming back soon!

Greetings from Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews