We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,505)
Filter reviews
1,505 results
Traveller rating
1,178
252
43
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,178
252
43
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capitan suizo howler monkeys costa rica in town boogie boards superior room outdoor shower tamarindo beach walk along the beach our honeymoon beautiful birds beautiful beach sitting area air conditioning restaurant staff high tide lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 1,505 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights the rooms were very comfortable. We had a queen and our 2 adult children slept in doubles in an adjoining room. View of the pool. Howler monkeys in the trees. The grounds are well kept and plenty of staff. We ordered take out from town one rainy night and the concierge arranged for a taxi to pick up food and deliver it to us. The beach lounge chairs are very comfortable: some on the beach and others tucked under the trees for shade. Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic and reasonably priced. Only thing that could be improved is breakfast. The food is fine, just as the hotel is economical friendly they do not use pesticides, so you have to deal with bees and flies at the breakfast buffet. We rented kayaks at the hotel. Had a great time.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the stay. The pool was very pretty and relaxing. They did a good job keeping it clean. Just steps away from the pool is the beach which was nice as well. There were lounge chairs for use on the beach and by the pool as well as towels to use for both. The room was nice. FYI-there are no TVs on this property so just a heads up on that. We didn't really miss the TV as we were on a relaxing get away, but we did go into town to walk a basketball finals game one night. It is a short walk to town on the beach or on the road, or a $5 taxi ride. The sun sets early there, so if you want to come back after dinner, you should walk on the road as the beach is dark. You may want to just take a taxi back as there weren't really any sidewalks and the road is currently FULL of pot holes. There are lots of big lizards and iguanas roaming the property which I loved. There are also monkeys in the trees and the howler monkeys woke us up at about 5 am most days. There are also several cats on the property. The grounds are very pretty. The breakfast buffet was included and was OK. There were lots of bugs flies and bees around the food as it's an open air restaurant, but most things were covered. The drinks from the bar were OK. Rosa, the concierge, was very nice and helpful in arranging surf lessons and our ride back to the airport.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kara_ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2017

My daughter's wedding took place at this beautiful resort. Pre-planning communication with Diego for the months leading up to the wedding week was a wonderful experience. He processed personally all the wedding guest reservations,made sure all of our guests were informed and accommodated and kept me informed of the status of all room assignments. He also arranged transportation from the airport for our groups flying in from all over the country. What a load taken off for me. I knew the resort would be beautiful, but was overwhelmed by the beauty and location. We had a bungalow and of course were speechless when we first entered. All the guests (we filled the hotel for the wedding) were thrilled by their rooms and the hospitality above and beyond. I travel worldwide for my job and have never experienced this. Our guests surfed even the morning of the wedding right in front of the hotel. The howler monkeys kept us entertained. Rachael created a wonderful banquet/reception meal for the wedding that was uniquely tropical. The property is positioned conveniently for a wedding arbor and chairs on lawn facing ocean and tent/tables/bar and dance floor on beach under stars. One of our guests needed emergency tooth care and the hotel staff immediately arranged transportation and appointment with a local dentist that expertly took care of it. Our wedding planner Keri made the day flow seamlessly and I could truly enjoy the time spent in my bungalow with my husband, the time spent with new family and of course the memories made the day of the wedding as the 'girls' spent the day with the bride in the huge bridal suite overlooking the ocean.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay, the staff was amazing, the wedding was in such a great location on the property, we stayed in a bungalow and as a self proclaimed "hotel snob" I couldn't find a thing to complain about.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hush569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

Loved our two nights stay last week at Capitan Suizo. I don't want to stay anyplace else now. Loved the seasoned staff. Very helpful with any questions. Sonia was very friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank iopgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews