We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Colina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Colina
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I deeply hated that dump.
The terrace is ridiculous, the water is dirty, there is a smell of drains in the pool near a bedroom. It's odd there four réfigirateurs on the terrace of this apartment and it's just that the smell of gutters. The bar is pitiful. I got a rum that tasted water??
No wonder the owner is stingy and trying all the time to take our monies. I noticed that there are also many insects in the rooms, there have even seen scorpions.
In short I would not recommend this place to all deadly dull

Yolande

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yolande P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    22
    2
    1
    10
See reviews for
13
22
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This hotel is just a 5 min walk from "downtown" Tamarindo. It is situated on the top of the hill and is very quiet and boasts a beautiful view of the water and all of Tamarindo. The owner, Hans is extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again! This hotel also has a full kitchen/living room, a balcony overlooking Tamarindo and the water, and has separate bedrooms all with A/C.

Room Tip: The higher numbered rooms have better views, as they are higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

It was my first Time at tamarindo with my teen daughter and this hotel was absolutly not a dream for us! No restaurant. Dark bar with no music and no people friendly. I think it's a place for very old person. No touristic information. A lots of ants in the room. No activity. I don't know what are the idea to place a lot of fridge on the terrace? Weird and very not nice! The laundry service are too much expensive! The pool was not clean! It's not a place for children and family. This hotel are not actual. Finally, i don't recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Samanthagoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We spent a week surfing at Witch's Rock and stayed up the hill at La Colina. Is it about 7 minutes walk, and well worth it. The view from the balconies at La Colina is incredible, the pool is clean and refreshing, the staff are all friendly and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. A group of 6 of us traveled together, and Hans was accommodating and worked to get us adjacent rooms. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice with great views. Penthouse especially awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Quogue, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Tons of space, clean rooms, the views are to die for and you might want to spend hours on your terrace. Very laid back staff and atmosphere and a great pool. Gorgeous natural beauty all around you. Anything you would ever ask for in terms of kitchen, etc. Probably best for couples and groups of friends since it is a 10 mins walk to the beach so you wont be meeting the single people most likely. I would return to this hotel.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank innermeetme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was our first trip to CR and we spent two weeks at La Colina. We were traveling with another couple. We rented the penthouse and one of our friends was not able to climb the stairs to the penthouse. Hans graciously offered another apartment on the first floor the very next day. We all loved La Colina. The housekeeping was amazing. The air conditioned apartments were cool and lovely when coming back from a tour or walk. It was a five minute walk to the beach and stores. We walked on the beach each morning and then stopped for coffee on the way home. The view from La Colina atop the hill is amazing and the sunsets spectacular. The large pool was also lovely for cooling after tanning. We rented our car from Adobe and their service was excellent. La Colina is a beautiful spot to relax and come home to after touring CR. It is set high on the hill above the hustle and bustle of Tamarindo. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Tamarindo.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Pacific ocean and have a great view as the hotel is on top of a hill. The mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarBarrie_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at La Colina, and it was perfect! The view is spectacular, and the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Hans is a very laid back owner, yet it is clear he take immaculate care of the place. It's about a 10 minute walk down the hill to the beach. But if you have a car, we found it was super easy to drive to the bottom of the hill and park for free by the municipal park. We would absolutely love to come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smautry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.0 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.7 km away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.8 km away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#12 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colina

Property: La Colina
Address: En Frente de Jardin Del Eden Hotel, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed on a Hill, unique sunsets, nice breeze, outstanding view 50 sqft pool, bar, tropical garden, fully equipped kitchens, tv, ac, ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Colina Tamarindo
La Colina Hotel Tamarindo
La Colina Costa Rica/Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing